Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compulsive Tale
I suppose it shouldn't come as a surprise that someone with an addictive/compulsive personality should write a really compelling book - especially when the subject matter is the very eventful life of former footballer Mark Ward. He was a busy, industrious player (400 plus career matches as a pro) so when he finds himself banged-up for 4 years, he can't just sit still and...
Published on 19 Nov. 2012 by Roger Risborough

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but...
An interesting read especially if you are a fan of one of the teams Ward played for.
The confirmation of the drinking culture that was so widespread in football is still shocking for top class performers in any sport. (and makes me wonder how much has changed with British players now).
Ward comes across as a highly determined character which has enabled him to...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by John G


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compulsive Tale, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered (Paperback)
I suppose it shouldn't come as a surprise that someone with an addictive/compulsive personality should write a really compelling book - especially when the subject matter is the very eventful life of former footballer Mark Ward. He was a busy, industrious player (400 plus career matches as a pro) so when he finds himself banged-up for 4 years, he can't just sit still and bide his time. Instead he bangs out his life story, and it's a real page turner, embracing nice memories of the emergence of the Premiership, and all the old footballing characters from the 80s and 90s. There are two in particular that stand out for the author as beacons of inspiration and decency in shaping his early career - John Lyall and Howard Kendall (who repays all the tributes in the foreword). But when his career path takes him away from their strong influence, things start to unravel, and this quickly becomes a salutary tale for any young footballer (or anyone really). The author readily admits that he is often let down by his own judgement and decision-making, and when this is fuelled by too much booze then enmities and problems start lining up like a huge defensive wall that stops him getting to where he thinks he should be.
Ultimately this is an (apparently) honest and sobering tale, with a post-script chapter stressing how much of a struggle post-prison life still is despite the success and coverage of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammered by Mark Ward., 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Lovely little footballer when he was in his prime. A lot of the stuff was understandable but a lot was glorified. I do not believe that when Ward was first taken to HMP Liverpool (Walton) that he arrived in handcuffs. I think it was in the first chapter that he mentioned this. After I retired from the Merseyside Police I drove the vans conveying prisoners from courts to prison and only extremely violent prisoners, or prisoners with a high escape risk, were handcuffed in transit. Ward wasn't in this catagory. He also played down his part in the drugs dealing. Why doesn't he admit he was a drugs dealer instead of trying to blame someone else. The judge obviously didn't believe him and he was a really emminent judge. Enjoyable book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mark ward-hammered, 18 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Hammered (Paperback)
one of the best books I have read since tony cascarino's many moons ago.it's gritty and mind opening.the book should also give credit for Ward as he knows he has done wrong but does not ask for sympathy but you can understand his grievances.Quality book and MUST be read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Well written and very difficult to put down!
Mark's story is an amazing tale even without his prison experience, he showed so much determination in not crumbling when released by Everton at a young age.

This book is a must read for any sports fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual football read., 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
I highly enjoyable read. Brutally honest and admits the mistakes he makes. One of the better football autobiographies I've read of late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but..., 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered (Paperback)
An interesting read especially if you are a fan of one of the teams Ward played for.
The confirmation of the drinking culture that was so widespread in football is still shocking for top class performers in any sport. (and makes me wonder how much has changed with British players now).
Ward comes across as a highly determined character which has enabled him to survive his downfall and change of fortunes. At times his feelings that his length of sentence was unjustified seems to contradict his acceptance and responsibility for what he did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: Hammered (Paperback)
Mark Ward was an exciting player at West Ham and since he left I've followed his career on the back pages and then on the front pages.

He's had an incredible life and he's written a 'warts and all' autobiography. He's been a bad lad, but he seems to have put that behind him now and I wish him all the best.

Thanks Mark for the great memories at the Boleyn and I'm glad you've turned your life around.

Jeremy Nicholas - Stadium Announcer at West Ham United and author of Mr Moon Has Left the Stadium
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good luck Mark, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Great read , hope all's good from here on in and that you get the opportunity to do all the things you say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered (Paperback)
Good read, shows the side of football we supporters know nothing about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest insight to a life of highs and lows. Great footballer., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
I remember watching Mark Ward play for West Ham United. Gave his all. This is not a " look at me, my life's great" kind of book. Just an honest account of a man who went from great heights to great lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews