Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mark ward-hammered
one of the best books I have read since tony cascarino's many moons ago.it's gritty and mind opening.the book should also give credit for Ward as he knows he has done wrong but does not ask for sympathy but you can understand his grievances.Quality book and MUST be read
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by steve waine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent football book
Not the conventional footballers autobiography-much better than say Rio Ferdinands or Alan Shearers but nowhere near as good as Tony Adams or Roy Keanes.
Published 11 months ago by LD


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mark ward-hammered, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hammered (Paperback)
one of the best books I have read since tony cascarino's many moons ago.it's gritty and mind opening.the book should also give credit for Ward as he knows he has done wrong but does not ask for sympathy but you can understand his grievances.Quality book and MUST be read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compulsive Tale, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered (Paperback)
I suppose it shouldn't come as a surprise that someone with an addictive/compulsive personality should write a really compelling book - especially when the subject matter is the very eventful life of former footballer Mark Ward. He was a busy, industrious player (400 plus career matches as a pro) so when he finds himself banged-up for 4 years, he can't just sit still and bide his time. Instead he bangs out his life story, and it's a real page turner, embracing nice memories of the emergence of the Premiership, and all the old footballing characters from the 80s and 90s. There are two in particular that stand out for the author as beacons of inspiration and decency in shaping his early career - John Lyall and Howard Kendall (who repays all the tributes in the foreword). But when his career path takes him away from their strong influence, things start to unravel, and this quickly becomes a salutary tale for any young footballer (or anyone really). The author readily admits that he is often let down by his own judgement and decision-making, and when this is fuelled by too much booze then enmities and problems start lining up like a huge defensive wall that stops him getting to where he thinks he should be.
Ultimately this is an (apparently) honest and sobering tale, with a post-script chapter stressing how much of a struggle post-prison life still is despite the success and coverage of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammered by Mark Ward., 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Lovely little footballer when he was in his prime. A lot of the stuff was understandable but a lot was glorified. I do not believe that when Ward was first taken to HMP Liverpool (Walton) that he arrived in handcuffs. I think it was in the first chapter that he mentioned this. After I retired from the Merseyside Police I drove the vans conveying prisoners from courts to prison and only extremely violent prisoners, or prisoners with a high escape risk, were handcuffed in transit. Ward wasn't in this catagory. He also played down his part in the drugs dealing. Why doesn't he admit he was a drugs dealer instead of trying to blame someone else. The judge obviously didn't believe him and he was a really emminent judge. Enjoyable book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Well written and very difficult to put down!
Mark's story is an amazing tale even without his prison experience, he showed so much determination in not crumbling when released by Everton at a young age.

This book is a must read for any sports fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual football read., 1 July 2012
By 
Mr. B. A. French "bazzafrench" (Hampton Hill, Middx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
I highly enjoyable read. Brutally honest and admits the mistakes he makes. One of the better football autobiographies I've read of late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good luck Mark, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Great read , hope all's good from here on in and that you get the opportunity to do all the things you say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest insight to a life of highs and lows. Great footballer., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
I remember watching Mark Ward play for West Ham United. Gave his all. This is not a " look at me, my life's great" kind of book. Just an honest account of a man who went from great heights to great lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Great book, must read for all football fans.
A great insight in many ways.
More interesting than the normal lists of achievements
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hammered (Mark ward), 10 May 2014
By 
Ian (cheshire uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Very honest account of his life as a professional footballer and his time in prison hope he gets back into football in some capacity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hammered, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered - I Played Football for West Ham, Man City and Everton…Then the Police Came Calling and My Life Fell Apart (Kindle Edition)
Good book by a great footballer who's.. been at the top and bottom of the football league and came out a better person .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews