Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous score - perhaps Gabriel's First and Finest?
I'm listening to my remastered Birdy CD as I type this and after much deliberation I have to say that I am of the belief that this remains Gabriel's finest soundtrack work.
I also have (and adore) his contributions to Passion (Last Temptation of Christ) and Long Walk Home (Rabbit Proof Fence), but this CD continues to blow me away even more.
Perhaps it's the...
Published on 22 Jun 2004 by John Mounsey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A serene delight from Gabriel
Before his mega-selling album So, Peter Gabriel released the soundtrack to the movie Birdy in 1985. I haven't seen the movie so I came to the soundtrack without preconceptions. It's a highly atmospheric set of tracks, largely instrumental with occasional vocals. With titles like At Night and Quiet And Alone, it's a contemplative work, mainly keyboard led with flute and...
Published on 24 April 2010 by klaher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous score - perhaps Gabriel's First and Finest?, 22 Jun 2004
This review is from: Birdy (Audio CD)
I'm listening to my remastered Birdy CD as I type this and after much deliberation I have to say that I am of the belief that this remains Gabriel's finest soundtrack work.
I also have (and adore) his contributions to Passion (Last Temptation of Christ) and Long Walk Home (Rabbit Proof Fence), but this CD continues to blow me away even more.
Perhaps it's the fact that some of these tracks are effectively "instrumental" versions of some of Peter's finest early songs (San Jacinto was an incredible experience for me Live at the Sheffield Arena recently - epic and amazing stuff)
I think it's fair to say that not all of this CD will please everybody - we are talking about Peter Gabriel here after all. He really seems to thrive on challenging the listener - even if that means on occasion his fans (witness his most recent studio album "UP" for more on that! - a superb release, but it was a slow-burner for me ... but I got there in the end!)
Overall, Birdy is Peter's strongest soundtrack score in my humble opinion - and it's also his most varied in terms of style. At this price (especially for the remastered edition) it has to be worth a listen, doesn't it?
-John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet and Alone, 7 Jan 2007
By 
L. Hutchinson (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birdy (Audio CD)
This is the first album that showcased Gabriel's skill of not only making wonderful music, but also a film score: however, there is a difference here. This difference is that this album is not only a mixture of new material but also tracks from his two previous albums: "Peter Gabriel, Vol. 3" and "Peter Gabriel, Vol. 4", but they are now instrumental.

I have to say that I was delighted when I first listened to this album for the first time, which still continues with subsequent times I have played this album. There have been times when I have heard a number of tracks and wondered what it would be like if they were simply instrumental or some of the instruments were altered, as well as some of the production effects. Well this album does just that with further added experimentation that you would expect from Gabriel. However, please do not let the word "experimentation" put you off: Gabriel does experiment, but it is highly listenable, with his musical talent always bursting forward.

Unlike most soundtrack albums, this can be listened to as an album in its own right. It is very rewarding, it is an album that can be only described as "ambience". It is very relaxing and takes you on a journey. This may sound slightly clichéd, as most albums are journey carriers by some definition but this is just soothing and you can easily relax with it and let it take you on a mental journey. This has helped me with some self-therapy: by helping me delve into my mind. That is how powerful this album is. Please buy it. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 15 Nov 2006
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birdy (Audio CD)
This album blew me away because it is a soundtrack with a difference. Most of the tracks are based on instrumental versions of the songs from Peter Gabriel's fourth album but treated in a much more experimental way. Hugely impressive for a first soundtrack album, this is a great album, and gives hints of the genius that was to come with "Passion" a few years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriels First Film Score, 30 Nov 2004
In 1984, Alan Parker Asked gabriel whether he would be interested in writing a score for his film about friendship during the Nam war, Birdy. Gabriel quickly discovered that the film created atmosphere of Claustraphobia. he then uses this within his work. Gabriel was also interested in reworking his earlier ideas and in this album he reworks, 5 Tracks from his 1980 album 3 and 1982 album 4. The Fairlight Synthisizer features hugely in this album and creates an atmosphere not creatable from organic instruments.
Gabriel Certainly in this album shows the now how to create atmosphere, feelings and even fear within his music. this is certainly a mini project against his epic 'Passion- The score from the last temptation of Christ' - 2 Thumbs Fresh! Keep them Coming!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A serene delight from Gabriel, 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Birdy (Audio CD)
Before his mega-selling album So, Peter Gabriel released the soundtrack to the movie Birdy in 1985. I haven't seen the movie so I came to the soundtrack without preconceptions. It's a highly atmospheric set of tracks, largely instrumental with occasional vocals. With titles like At Night and Quiet And Alone, it's a contemplative work, mainly keyboard led with flute and drums, not too far away from Eno. Apparently some of it is reworkings of Peter Gabriel's older work, though I'm not familiar enough with it to detect this.

It's difficult to isolate any one track though Dressing the Wound stands out a bit, which starts out quite sparse until some wordless vocals from Gabriel come in. The whole thing is very serene, but the next track Birdy's Flight totally changes the mood with feverish percussion right through it. Most if it is classic mood music. The final track, Powerhouse at the Foot of the Mountain is very Zen, and probably the most Eno-like track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Competent, 2 Dec 2001
This review is from: Birdy Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Wildly ambient and explosive arrangements make this the best part of the film. If not for the involvement of Peter, Birdy wouldn't be nearly as beautiful as it undoubtedly was.
Drawing from past material and striking new accompaniments, this is less a soundtrack album but more an experiment in musical maturity.
Uplifting and depressing in waves, this works so well on various levels.
Listen to this in a darkened room and unleash imaginations.
"Birdy's Flight" especially is the key track here. A wonderful part of the film because of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel's first sountrack work., 13 April 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is the soundtrack to Alan Parker's 'Birdy' released in 1984. Gabriel took elements of the previous two albums & reworked them in with a few original pieces to score the touching film (probably Parker's best). Some of the tracks remain instrumental takes of the original- such as 'The Heat' (PG4's 'Rhythm of the Heat')-which is used in the surreal pharmacy scene in 'Natural Born Killers' & 'Snapshot'- which is 'Family Snapshot' reworked to fit the bird's eye perspective of the film. We also get short elements of songs like 'San Jacinto'. To be fair, this is not essential- as many PG-fans will have versions of these tracks in a more vocal form-the sleeve does carry a warning! This would be Gabriel's initial step towards composing a film score- which he did for Scorsese's 'Last Temptation of Christ' ('Passion'). Which is one of the finest scores of all time- up there with those by Phillip Glass & Ryuichi Sakamoto. But if you liked the film or would just like to appreciate an instrumental album that floats the flow of thoughts- then this is one for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional listen, 5 April 2014
By 
Mr. S Bailey (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birdy (Audio CD)
Sure, some of it may be classed as 'recycled material' but, if you're a Gabriel fan, you'll appreciate the emotion of this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel shows he can knock out a killer soundtrack, 3 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Birdy Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I bought this when it was originally released, and recently replaced my vinyl with CD. It was good to get to know it again. Also, typical of Peter Gabriel's sense of fairness to ensure that everyone knew it was re-released material and contained no vocals.
Having already got all his other stuff at the time I bought it, I was none-the-less completely overwhelmed by the intensity of the listening experience.
The interpretations on tracks like Rhythm of the Heat and Not one of us are no less valid than the originals. The new tracks are superb - dark and disturbing instrumentals like Floating Dogs and Sketchpad for Trumpet and Voice.
This is an album which demands your concentration and richly repays your efforts to get to know it.
As is usual with Peter Gabriel, his soundtracks stand alone as worthy bodies of work in their own right.
If you're already a fan, buy it immediately.
If you're reading this, you must be interested - again, buy it immediately.
Recommended without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel's first adventure in the world of soundtracks..., 14 Dec 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Birdy (Audio CD)
Birdy is Peter Gabriel's soundtrack to Alan Parker's flawed 1984 movie, Gabriel's first foray into the realm of soundtracks which he has continued since, notably with Passion (The Last Temptation of Christ, 1988) & Long Walk Home (Rabbit Proof Fence, 2002). The twelve tracks, three of which didn't make the film, are generally recycled takes of prior Gabriel works with the odd new track- all of it is instrumental. As a suite of ambience it certainly holds its own with soundtracks like Blade Runner or ambient releases like Alchemy: An Index of Possibilities, Power Spot & Ambient 4: On Land.
Earlier Gabriel tracks are recycled in an interesting manner- Gabriel and co-producer Daniel Lanois preceding the type of thing Bill Laswell did on Panthalassa (the Miles Davis remix set). So tracks familiar from PG albums 3 & 4 are here: Family Snapshot (Close Up), Not One of Us (Birdy's Flight), Wallflower (Under Lock & Key), Powerhouse at the Foot of the Mountain (the end of San Jacinto, minus the "hold the line" vocal) & an instrumental take of The Rhythm of the Heat (entitled 'The Heat'; this would also feature in the drug zone sequence in Oliver Stone's Natural Born Killers). Other highlights include Quiet & Alone, Slow Marimbas & Dressing the Wound; a wealth of brilliant musicians feature here: Jon Hassell (Brilliant Trees), Jerry Marotta (PG3), Larry Fast (PG Plays Live), John Giblin (Tilt), Manny Elias (The Hurting), The Drummers of Ekome & longtime Gabriel-associates David Rhodes & Tony Levin.
Birdy remains one of my favourite soundtracks and one that creates wonderful mood music apart from the flawed feature which it accompanied. It's almost as great as Passion (1988) & warrants listening from all ambient types & also as it was overlooked for the recent Hit/Miss-compilation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birdy - Music From The Film
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews