Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, really, it's his best
Okay, so I'm in a minority, but this is my favourite Gabriel album. Consequently, I couldn't resist responding to the woefully inadequate negative reviews on here. A friend played me this album the week it came out and the following week I bought my own copy, together with the first album. It received enthusiastic reviews then, which is impressive considering the hostile...
Published on 22 Sep 2010 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2: Scratch
`2', also known as `Scratch', is probably one of Gabriel's weakest albums, yet it still has some overlooked gems nestled in here. Produced by Robert Fripp, this album sounds more dated than many others in PG's back catalogue and each track sounds quite samey. This has quite a low key feel to it overall. `On the Air', `D.I.Y.' and `Flotsam and Jetsam' are stand out...
Published on 14 Mar 2009 by Spider Monkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, really, it's his best, 22 Sep 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 2 (Audio CD)
Okay, so I'm in a minority, but this is my favourite Gabriel album. Consequently, I couldn't resist responding to the woefully inadequate negative reviews on here. A friend played me this album the week it came out and the following week I bought my own copy, together with the first album. It received enthusiastic reviews then, which is impressive considering the hostile nature of music journalists to anything that didn't come out of the New Wave. What it didn't have the benefit of was a major promotional campaign, something which was afforded to the ludicrously overrated 'So' a decade later. Gabriel's US distributor did little to support it because there was no obvious hit single. Indeed, it's his only album not to spawn a hit (I think 'DIY' sold about fifty copies and Gabriel himself probably bought fifty-one of them).

PG2 is, however, Gabriel's warmest album, perhaps because it isn't as over-produced as some of the others, yet that isn't to say that it sounds at all shoddy. To the reviewer who suggests that all the tracks sound the same, have you really listened to this? There are a couple of lean, fit rock tracks in the radio ham homage 'On The Air' and 'Perspective'; there's the feisty, acoustic 'DIY'; 'A Wonderful Day...' uses a lilting rhythm in its use of a trip to the shops as a metaphor for something bigger; 'White Shadow' is a spine-tingling lament for the eradication of cultures; 'Exposure' is like nothing else on the album, an electronic trip with a cosmic sheen; 'Flotsam and Jetsam' is like John Lennon in a blue funk; 'Animal Magic' is a jaunty dig at soldiering; and 'Home Sweet Home' is a devastating, bluesy song (check the story in the lyric). Only the mawkish 'Indigo' is at all under par.

Peter Gabriel's second album has always stood up as a fine work and deserves better than a careless dismissal. (So there)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars burning the bridges, 16 Aug 2002
By 
Jean-Marc Lantz (Bettembourg , Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Gabriel II (Audio CD)
I recently listened to this album for the first time in maybe 15 years and remembered how, at the time, I was desperately "playing the field" in the (ex-)Genesis solo-recordings for an inkling of the atmosphere that had changed my life when I heard Genesis' "Selling England..." several months previously. Genesis themselves had become boring by then, but, Boy !, this wasn't it either ! The man who had come to characterize a whole era was having none of it anymore, and hardly anything on this record even closely resembled prog-rock at its best (or worst). It took a lot of work to accept what Gabriel was doing at the time, and though he later claimed that he would love to re-record his first two albums in the style he adopted from his 3rd LP onwards (sound & production do seem a little dated at times), there is still a lot to discover here. Gabriel's quirkiness is to the fore in D.I.Y. and A Wonderful Day..., Animal Magic seems to anticipate the Falklands War, Flotsam...sounds like Lennon, Indigo is a wonderful follow-up to Here comes the Flood from the first album, Mother of Violence is sinister in its beauty, and Exposure is downright weird thanks to maestro Bob Fripp, whose own solo-album "Exposure" is needed as a companion-piece to this, if only for its inclusion of Gabriel's superior version of Flood.
At a time when Genesis were singing about Little Nemo and Cowboy Big Jim, Gabriel gained in relevance. If his social criticism in Home Sweet Home is a tad stereotyped I dare anyone not to collapse in tears towards the end where his vocal acrobatics compete with the saxophone in one of his best performances ever. With his 2nd album Gabriel left his past behind, proving, among other, more important things, that there are other ways with a piano ballad than the Collins way.This led on to greater things before he himself stopped experimenting and became boring with "so". So, cherish this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2: Scratch, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`2', also known as `Scratch', is probably one of Gabriel's weakest albums, yet it still has some overlooked gems nestled in here. Produced by Robert Fripp, this album sounds more dated than many others in PG's back catalogue and each track sounds quite samey. This has quite a low key feel to it overall. `On the Air', `D.I.Y.' and `Flotsam and Jetsam' are stand out tracks, but looking down the track listing it is easy to see how few of these songs feature on greatest hits or live albums. This was more of a transition album for PG, from the independence he achieved and showcased on `1' to the more experimental and innovative music on `3', this album was the limbo in between. Despite being a huge fan of PG this album always leave me disappointed and although I come back to it at various points, it never really moves or impresses me. Saying that, his other work is so outstanding that it is easy to forgive one bad album and if you love PG or if you're a completist, this is still worth a listen to see another side of this multi faceted artist.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strangely under-rated second LP, 5 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 2 (Audio CD)
I have nearly all of PG's albums, having followed him from Genesis circa Foxtrot onwards.One thing that most fans and critics seem to agree on is that this is his least impressive album. I remember being a bit disappointed on the first few listens, especially after the huge/overblown (take your pick) production and instrumentation of "PG 1".
However, in all honesty, this is the album that I go back and listen to most; and find has some of his strongest actual compositions, along with a very satisfying range of tone and texture,thanks to Robert Fripp's highly-focused production and an excellent engineering job, not to mention some wonderful, understated playing, especially keyboards.
I remember hearing Fripp in an interview about the making of this album.Interestingly, he was conscious of the obvious time and effort that went into polishing the first album to within an inch of its life, and deliberately limited the amount of time that PG had to think about the recording (presumably writing as well). This was to capture the spontaneity and urgency of the artist at work - also a nod to the New Wave anti-virtuoso ethos of the times,no doubt.
Whatever the intention, it worked to my ears at least; and although by no means an unqualified success, with a track like "Exposure" falling into the..er.."interesting" category as an apparent Frippesque experiment in soundscape-ism, there are more than enough top quality tracks here to highly recommend the album as a somewhat neglected "grower" of an LP, but definitely worth repeated listens to appreciate the subtleties and downright beauty of its best tracks, like White Shadow,Indigo,Home Sweet Home and Mother of Violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb, 27 Jun 2009
By 
Martin Wagner "pinterandmartin" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 2 (Audio CD)
I find it hard to understand why this album is so underrated. It shows the full range of Gabriel's brilliance, from his superb and heartbreaking rendition of Home Sweet Home to the lyrical mastery of Mother of Violence, and experimentation with the great Robert Fripp. Without doubt in my mind, his most satisfying album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pays Repeated Listens, 12 Nov 2014
By 
Peter's second studio album, sometimes known unofficially as Scratch.

Contains great songs like On THe Air and D.I.Y.

However there are many tracks that are not so instantly memorable on first listen, which has rather unfairly given this album the reputation of being his weakest.

It's a slow grower but after several listens it's revealed to be one of his best albums, thanks in part to the sterling production work and guitar playing from Robert Fripp of King Crimson, especially on the seminal track Exposure.

Very, very highly recommended, but if you're new to Gabriel get So, Us or the double CD Hit first, then this and all the rest!

Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "This Models Out Of Date", 10 Jan 2012
As a dedicated Peter Gabriel fan it upsets me to rate this 3 stars because the rest of the mans work is so much better than what is found here. What I love about his music is the fact that it's original, clever and timeless.

Timeless this ain't. A lot of it is good. Some of it's great but on the whole the album lacks the consistency and lasting quality of the others. The production sounds dodgy, the lyrics are sometimes cheesy and some of the music is just a bit boring.

On The Air is very good. It's unusually upbeat for Peter Gabriel and features some brilliant singing. Incidentally, it's also the only song in which "Mozo", the main character of a short story told by lining up a few of PGs songs, is named. Google it if you want to know more. DIY continues the happy feeling with the same quality of lyrics and music and more great singing.

Mother of Violence is a highlight of the album. The mood shifts to a sadder approach with some real poetry for lyrics. The music is softer but superb. These first three songs all reflect the high standards you can expect from Mr Gabriel. Unfortunately, One Way World is pretty one dimensional. The music never really takes of at all and the singing is completely uninteresting. Indigo is a little better but still feels flat, deflated.

Animal Magic is alright. There's a lot more action in this song and the words are interesting and funny but feel a little rushed and at some points he can barely fit all the words in.

Exposure is my favourite. It's a very simple approach with very repetitive lyrics but the interest is all in the vocals. Peter Gabriels voices changes from menacing, to sad, to angry. It's almost trance inducing and far superior to the version that appeared on the album of the same title by Mr Robert Fripp who is an irritating, pretentious plonker.

The last three songs are fairly boring. I tend to finish the album at Exposure. Perspective saves it from being too dire but the music tends to be miserable and tedious. It wouldn't suprise me if Phil Collins announced he had written the last three tracks because they feel just as whingey and contrived as some of the very worst rubbish Mr Collins was guilty of.

Overall, not the worst album in history but certainly the worst in Peter Gabriels history. The album cover is brilliant but it doesn't have much else going for it. The music is weaker than the previous album (and the next one) and the production doesn't sound right. I don't know if Peter Gabriel was simply a victim of "Second Album Syndrome" but this just doesn't feel like a Gabriel album. Car and Melt were hugely better than this. In fact, any other album by Gabriel is worth hearing. This album sounds very much like a product of it's time. The production, the lyrics, the music itself. It's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition, the best gets better, by The Master (PG), 13 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This edition of PG2 is a much improved version over previous editions.
Much clearer voice and instruments, solid bass and heavenly balance.
This CD is a Must Have of one of the best, if not the best album, of The Master, Peter!
Better than previous SACD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Dennis Jakobsen (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant!! When Peter Gabriel realised his 2. solo album in 1978, i thoght it was another masterpiece, and it still is!! Fantastisc musicianship and lyrics. Now, so many years after, it is still sounding fresh and even better than the original vinyl. LOVE IT!! If you don't owe it allready....Buy It now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All of the reviews I saw state this is In some way an inferior album, but really it is just a different expression of his music so if you like his music it's worth having but it is different to his other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Gabriel 2
Peter Gabriel 2 by Peter Gabriel
Buy MP3 Album£6.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews