Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interpretive Master, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
I'm afriad I have to disagree with scriabinmahler. Mr Fergus-Thompson's interpretation of Debussy's piano works is quite extraordinary and every bit as fine as can be heard by any other pianist. He exhibits such masterly tone control so important in this music. As for technique you need to listen only to Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum,(his tempo even faster than the composer's indication, but with complete clarity and balance) to appreciate his technical prowess. As an educator, he clearly has lived and breathed this music. The fact that he recorded all of it in such short period surely confirms this. The acoustics of Henry Wood Hall and a good choice of instrument make these recordings a joy to listen to. Thoroughly recommended as a "bench mark" recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous record, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Dr. Bernardo Pinto Almeida (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
Those who love Debussy should listen to these marvelous interpretations. I am not an expert on music so that I can explain it deeply. But as a listener who cares about composers, interpreters and interpretations I should recommend it to any one who cares for those reasons and mostly for music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Mar 2014
By 
David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
A very nice wet. Well recorded and very sympathetic performance. I can highly recommend this set! Also comes with downloadable versions for Prime members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Playing, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
They musicality and deftness of touch of the pianist make this collection a joy to listen to. I have fallen in love with Debussy's music in a new way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
Absolutely wonderful! Beautifully played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
Beautiful music. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performances of Debussy's music., 20 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
There is nothing to find wrong with this set. Perhaps it has less individual character than some others, but that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are pleased with the recording, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
Debussy: Complete Piano Music. The cd arrived on time and was passed on to the person who asked me to buy it. They are pleased with the recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great piano playing, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
I spend some time listening to music and I am particularly keen on the piano music so this was just fine for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Debussy: Complete Piano Music (Audio CD)
fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Debussy: Complete Piano Music
Debussy: Complete Piano Music by Gordon Fergus-Thompson (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews