Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars93
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2004
This is a really comprehensive guide to grilling. It offers all the traditional aspects of North American grilling and lots of international variations too, from Cambodian Dipping Sauce to Puerto Rican Pig Powder.
It's a fascinating insight and into the secret world of BBQ-ing and packed with top tips about cooking in general.
The book has a great glossary and is a really enjoyable recipe book. Highly recommended.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
This is one of the better BBQ books out there. The main emphasis being on marinades which are so important when doing BBQs, but are usually ignored or slapped on at the last minute.

Food tastes so much better when prepared properly and it doesn't have to be hard or take too much time.

Recommended.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2008
Fantastic book, easy to understand recipes and ingredients are generally in the supermarket. I highly recommend this book, even on cold winter evenings or dinner party events.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
As an avid bbqr I would not have believed that the addition of a dry rub would have made so much difference.

If you are serious about bbq - and you would have to be to buy this book with all the rain - then this is ideal. It is wonderful and actually quite easy to follow and all the ingredients are readily available.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
i mainly wanted this book for the BBQ rubs of which there is about 20 or more.their are so many recipes that you should be able to find something you like or adapt it to your taste.lots of information in this book with regards to using gas and charcoal BBQ.overall a very good book even i learnt something new.and just remember you dont have to just make them outside you can adapt to a grill or oven.has a measurement conversion chart which is almost the same as ours so dont be put of about american sizes.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
all you need to BBQ like only the yanks can do . Simple to use and great flavours come forth. the rubbing is a key part but fresh herbs should be used. Tough to find liquid smoke in Mallorca !!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Already used some of the recipes and they were very good.

Book is very well laid out and is a good sized font. Apart from some graphics, there are no illustrations whatsoever but then sauces are not very photogenic. All the more space for the recipes.

It's not just sauces. There are bastes, marinades, injections and relishes all with that American touch. The Americans do know their stuff when it comes to barbecue.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
The recipies are fantastic and I have tried out several already but I was disapointed there were no colourful pictures to tempt me, we want more for our fire!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Great cook book arrived on time gives all the information you need for starting out B B Qing great recipes and advice well worth purchase.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
The Barbecue Bible by Steven Raichlen has been a great influence on me since I purchased it earlier this year. It's a great book for those wanting to take their BBQ/outdoor cooking skills to the next level. This has taught me that buying cheap beef burgers and sausages and then cooking them in the open grill should really be frowned upon! This covers everything: hot sauces, dry/wet rubs, seasonings, oils, vinegarettes and recepis. There is so much to cover here that I would recommend that you purchase it and study it over the winter months to get you ready and clued up for the spring/summer outdoor cooking. Needless to say you can always adapt to inside on the kitchen oven/grill. I would note that the book and author use American phrases and names for certain things such weight/measurement descriptions and ingredients but there is a glossary to be found at the back which explains the everything and so that you can tell the difference.

I bought this book 2nd hand and I cannot fault the service or condition of the it when it was delivered. Very pleased to have discovered this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)