Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of an excellent series
These "Disaster Series" novels are most enjoyable. This one is the least successful, to my mind, but it is still a thoroughly good read.
Published 11 months ago by Tough Chops

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable.
I did enjoy the detective story and description of saloon opulence. However, I wasn't gripped by any of the main characters and that is why I can only give a three star rating.
Published 16 months ago by JanMolbyFan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of an excellent series, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Tough Chops (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
These "Disaster Series" novels are most enjoyable. This one is the least successful, to my mind, but it is still a thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
Bought for grandson to research disasters, he found it was very interesting,helped him a lot. I also read parts of it very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy the detective story and description of saloon opulence. However, I wasn't gripped by any of the main characters and that is why I can only give a three star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my cup of tea, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
Don't like the writing style, there are better thriller writers out there like Stig Larson now that's how to keep the reader hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad page turner, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
...but really quite cliched. This was my second of these so I found it a bit formulaic, and it's irritating the way the author wants to vicariously get himself into bed with a pretty woman in every book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't bother to finish this, but deleted it from my Kindle after half a chapter. I doubt if I'd persevered i'd have changed my mind. Mindless and badly written rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating period mystery, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
Albeit it a little slow to start, the story gathers momentum and the facts are skilfully interlaced with a very clever and plausible gripping tale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
Mildly entertaining but has no real literary merit. A bit like a light Agatha Christie story. Wouldn't recommend it unless you want a very light holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bit mediocre, 19 Nov 2013
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is the third of the author's "disaster mystery" series I have read, in which a real life famous amateur sleuth investigates murder against a slightly fictionalised version of a famous disaster scenario. The sleuth this time is the little known Willard Huntington Wright, who wrote under the pseudonym SS Van Dine (which makes him sound like a Dutch steamship!). He investigates murder, theft and German saboteurs aboard the famous liner, sank by German torpedo(es) in May 1915 (in reality he wasn't on the Lusitania's last voyage, though he did travel on it a few months earlier). I didn't particularly care for Van Dine, who came across as more two dimensional than Jacques Futrelle in The Titanic Murders, and the fictional Pinkerton detective Philomena Vance seemed an unlikely figure. The plot was mediocre, and the actual sinking took place in a rather matter of fact way in the last chapter. The real ship took only 18 minutes to sink (compared to the Titanic's 2 hours 40 mins - erroneously stated as 4 hours in a footnote in this novel) and there is controversy over the second explosion that sank the ship - was it a second torpedo or an internal explosion and if so caused by what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Judstar46, 30 Oct 2013
By 
J. A. Owen (worcester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series) (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad read on the same lines as an Agatha Christie novel delivery was on time I would use this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lusitania Murders (Disaster Series)
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews