Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Can you learn enough about the ME 262?
I borrowed the hard copy from a local library, but didn't get the chance to finish it before leaving on holiday. So I purchased the Kindle copy, at only 2.99 a real bargain. Very good book, part of a series on world war two "war machines". For me, one of the most fascinating parts was extract from American high level interrogation of Goring, where the Americans seem...
Published 8 months ago by Byzantium

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stormbird a damp squib!
One of the few Luftwaffe books I have found in electronic form. The cover suggests it may be like an Osprey book. I like to put books on my iphone. Really convenient!
From other reviews I thought this book would have rare and new pictures and new information.
Not so.
Unless you are really obsessive about technical drawings there is very little new in this...
Published 21 months ago by Dr. JBW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stormbird a damp squib!, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
One of the few Luftwaffe books I have found in electronic form. The cover suggests it may be like an Osprey book. I like to put books on my iphone. Really convenient!
From other reviews I thought this book would have rare and new pictures and new information.
Not so.
Unless you are really obsessive about technical drawings there is very little new in this book. The photo's are all well known and the interviews with personalities are well known.
People advise against spending 69p on an unsatisfactory app. I would advise against spending a couple of pounds plus on this electronic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor don't bother, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
Inaccurate photo description, poor and inaccurate history, nothing new that you can't already find on the Internet, useless! Etc. Etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
Rather disjointed but interesting history of the 262 and another example of how history might have been changed. Useful if you like aviation history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Skimpy but niche-interest, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
Download from Kindle as swift as usual. Not much here that is not generally known and presentation is pretty grey, but then good period pictures were hardly a surviving speciality of this period in German military history.

Incidentally, found much the same problem when looking for good stuff on FW 190, either good on airframe/poor on engines, or vice versa.

Certainly, coverage of Spitfire/Hurricane/Mustang opponents from Germany is limited compared to UK-USA contemporaries...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Paul Brundrett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
If you are looking for a book on the Me 262 this would be a good one.
It has a good levee of detail without becoming bogged down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can you learn enough about the ME 262?, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
I borrowed the hard copy from a local library, but didn't get the chance to finish it before leaving on holiday. So I purchased the Kindle copy, at only 2.99 a real bargain. Very good book, part of a series on world war two "war machines". For me, one of the most fascinating parts was extract from American high level interrogation of Goring, where the Americans seem obsessed with getting Goring to admit it was the American air force that did the most damage, their pilots and aircraft the best, etc.
My father served in the RAF, Spitfires, and he left me with some fond recollections of American pilots, he liked them, but the more one reads about the American leadership attitude to the war in europe and their part in it, the more "turned off" one becomes.
But, back to the book, thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
Once more an offering from the author that would be very difficult to better.The level of detail into specific technical information as well as the more general again completes a story that would be hard to add to. Extremely interesting and I can only hope that the series will grow to include other related subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
I read the book and found it ok but it lacked the ability to hold me to it I don't know why but I expected some new info in the book but there wasn't I should have already realised this so not the book or authors fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good technical read, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy more of the "nuts and bolts" issues of a sublect, without the minutiae of detail which such phraseology can sometimes imply, then this might be for you. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating Primary Sources, 2 May 2012
This review is from: Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending (Kindle Edition)
This is a great addition to a really interesting series. A good collection of unusual sources which are intended to provide the knowledgeable reader with some interesting titbits. The inclusion of the complete pilots manual is really neat as are the pilot debriefs. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me.262 - Stormbird Ascending
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews