Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Let them known men did this!"
At the risk of not so much swimming against the tide as against a tidal wave, I thought the much-despised 2010 remake of Clash of the Titans was a terrific entertainment that managed to improve on many aspects of the now much-loved but itself initially disparaged Ray Harryhausen version. For a start it's barely a remake, sharing only the title and the subject matter,...
Published on 18 Dec 2010 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorest 3D film yet
Don't waste your money on this release. While the film itself isn't bad,the 3D effect is very poor. Many scenes are obviously 2D. Not one to show off your 3d Tv's capability. One to avoid!
Published on 27 May 2011 by Scamp


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Let them known men did this!", 18 Dec 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
At the risk of not so much swimming against the tide as against a tidal wave, I thought the much-despised 2010 remake of Clash of the Titans was a terrific entertainment that managed to improve on many aspects of the now much-loved but itself initially disparaged Ray Harryhausen version. For a start it's barely a remake, sharing only the title and the subject matter, discarding the love story and family-friendly elements for an altogether grittier and bleaker view that's at least more true to the cruelty of Greek mythology even if the details aren't so well served.

If Sam Worthington's Perseus is a throwback to the typical beefcake hero of 50s peplum, the script at least is smarter than the average mythological adventure. Instead of than fulfilling a divine destiny, this version's demi-god Perseus - half man, half-god, all-Ocker - is raging against it, determined to defy the gods as a man. These gods are cruel and parasitic, dependent on the worship of men to fuel their immortality but unwilling to earn it, their arrogance sparking a war with the mortals who don't want them any more. Rather than taking a Richard Dawkins "there is no god" approach, this is more of a "the gods exist and they're a right bunch of bastards" attack, with the dawning realisation that they can ultimately kill them by denying them their prayers. The film does copout on this with the end used in the film, the Blu-ray offering an alternate but poorly executed original version that saw Liam Neeson's Zeus and Perseus still very much at loggerheads, and by losing the love story between Perseus and Andromeda it does lower the stakes somewhat. Perseus' quest is now fuelled by pride, arrogance and defiance, with an impressively bitter Mads Mikkelsen and his high-testosterone expendable Argonauts all manly men meeting manly deaths at the hands and claws and tentacles of mythological beasts.

The beasts themselves are generally a pretty impressive bunch, the CGi faring much better in the original 2D than in the clumsily converted 3D version released in cinemas. If Ralph Fiennes' Hades is better as a special effect than when overdoing the Uriah Heap routine in more human form, the impressively rendered giant scorpions, multi-tentacled Kraken and the serpent-like Medusa grab the limelight over some of the old favorites from the Harryhausen version: Jason Flemyng's Calibos has less to do this time round while Pegasus simply conveniently appears when needed without needing to be tamed in a rather lazy bit of deux ex machina. But then this is the kind of film where the human cast are mostly sidelined as well, actors like Pete Posthlethwaite, Elizabeth McGovern, Danny Huston and Polly Walker turning up for a minute or two as little more than walk-ons and most of the gods having nothing more to do than stand around a disappointingly designed Olympus whose exteriors are spectacular but whose interiors look like Las Vegas car showroom. But it keeps moving without feeling too chopped up and thankfully there's a minimum of shakeycam or MTV overediting to accompany the overdose of testosterone. Big on spectacle and short on charm, it's a very different animal to Harryhausen's film (there's even an injoke about that version's irritating mechanical owl), but as long as you're expecting that it's one of the better action adventures of recent years.

DVD buyers get short shrift yet again, with nearly all of the extras reserved for the BluRay release - 10 deleted scenes and alternate ending, 11 featurettes and additional picture-in-picture featurettes running throughout the film if you choose `Maximum Movie Mode' - which has a generally excellent transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorest 3D film yet, 27 May 2011
Don't waste your money on this release. While the film itself isn't bad,the 3D effect is very poor. Many scenes are obviously 2D. Not one to show off your 3d Tv's capability. One to avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flash, Trash, or Car Crash?, 10 Jan 2011
I've read a few reviews here saying it's the worst thing they've seen all year. I think that's a shame. This is not an Oscar-winner by any definition, granted, but it's not the low point of 2010's cinematic output either.
I accept the point that Sam Worthington isn't a good enough actor to warrant the hype, but he looks the part, and it works for me. The characters, although portrayed by decent actors, are shallow and/or predictable (a conversation on Charon's Barge reminded me of all that was crass about the Airport movies), so rather than rooting for them, you're just left trying to work out in advance which one will die in the next battle. But this isn't attempting to be educational or otherwise "worthy" in the Schindler's List vein... it's meant to be entertaining, and it manages that.
As a visual spectacle, it's worth watching, although movie effects usually translate poorly to the small screen. It's fair to say the Kraken is woefully underused, and the scorpions are average at best, but everything else passes muster, and the Pegasus is gorgeous!
Ultimately, I think this film isn't what the makers hoped it would be, but it isn't a stinker. It's always going to be compared (probably unfavourably) with the original, and rightly so, but it's still an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It"s appropriate for current times, 5 Sep 2013
By 
I took my young kids to the cinema to see the original Clash Of The Titans [DVD] [1981] in 1981,and they both enjoyed it almost as much as I did!
Would I do the same today with a 5 and 6 year old to see the 2010 version?Yes,probably.
Children have become dependant on viewing TV and films with spectacular CGI"s,car chases,plenty of action and probably brief glimpses of gore or blood-letting: their computer games and comics reflect this culture.
I think this new version has poorer acting performances in it than the original.Sam Worthington could have been carved out of a pine tree so wooden was he as the hero.

But there were good turns from Ralph Fiennes,Mads Mikkelsen and Vincent Regan in smaller roles that helped the film"s lack of credibility.
This version is about the action and the CGI"s and it succeeds in it"s aim which is to entertain todays youth.
I found it quite enjoyable too so there"s hope for me!
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They could have done so much more with this. The picture and sound quality is ok it's just the story...boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clash Of The Titans - titanic special effects, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I am a huge fan of the original Clash Of the Titans, mainly due to the stop motion effects of Ray Harryhausen of whom I am great fan, so this 2010 remake was always going to be a tough sell for me. But having put my reservations aside I found to my surprise that this was actually a pretty good film.

Stylishly shot, with some decent CGI effects, decent actors and a good script, this is a film that delivers. It's a basic sword and sandals saga, musclebound hero goes off on quest to save damsel in distress, but done with some panache and a sense of pace that keeps the film ticking along nicely. It does what it needs to and delivers 100 minutes of undemanding entertaining escapism. I really enjoyed it, 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clash of the Titans, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is OK, But if you have a Samsung 3D TV then the up scale to 3D does the same job.
Save your money and buy the 2D version and up scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hey, I thought it was a great film!, 18 Aug 2010
By 
I really don't know why so many people are slating this movie. It's a great action film. I think people are just over intellectualising films these days. Just watch it and enjoy. If you put it on then spend every second dissecting it then of course you won't enjoy it. So for one hour forty minutes, suspend disbelief and lose yourself in a world of myth, mythology and monsters. A very enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!! Terrible bitty plot and wooden hero, 31 Aug 2010
Well this film just goes to prove that the ability to have good special effects and big name actors still doesn't make a great box office hit!

Even if you are not a classical scholar and are totally ignorant of some the HUGE errors made in this classical greek myth (What was the point in sticking in some other woman, Io, from a totally unconnected greek myth in there? Come on, you wouldn't put Robin Hood and Maid Marion in a Kind Arthur story would you????) - the storyline itself is ABYSMAL!

The hero of ANY story should be going through all these trials and tribulations for the woman he loves/the city or country he loves - NOT to rescue some girl he doesn't know and doesn't marry, and a city he's just arrived at and spent 5 minutes in!?
I just couldn't "get behind" the hero, because quite frankly I couln't get what his motivation was, to start with, and he was such a moaning, whining, unlikeable character! Sam Worthington is an awful actor, wooden and dispasionate, who mumbles, grumbles and scowls his way through the whole thing without even trying to take the edge of the Australian accent.

The original 1981 film was based LARGELY on the original myth, with a few embellishments to make the story flow better, however, this latest offering seems to have been based LOOSELY on the original film with massive loopholes and silly additions that make the storyline bitty, and makes no sense at all in some places.

Even though the original film wasn't perfect, it just goes to prove that with big actors, brilliant special effects and all the modern gizmos and gadgetry available to film makers today, you can still manage to make something a whole lot worse, and insult the intelligence of the movie-goers by thinking you can get away with dreadful storylines, awful, dull scripts and wooden hero's if the CGI's is flashy enough - WRONG!

I felt sorry for all the wasted acting talent and charisma there was in that film (Mads Mikkleson for one) who will be forever tainted by this Stinker of a film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clash of the boring, 24 Aug 2010
What went wrong ? What started out as a promising remake descended into an empty tale with no tension, male bonding and a dull romance. My problem is with Perseus played by Sam Worthington easily one of the dullest and most uninspired performances for someone so heroic he seemed withdrawn and lifeless. The reluctant hero has been done before but why can't this guy speak more clearly. Gemma Arterton makes promising eye candy but has little or no chemistry with Worthington.

The rest of the cast were wasted especially Mikkelsen i cant help thinking how better this film would have been with him cast as Perseus he looked the part, bit too old i guess. What follows is essentially one set piece fighting monsters then some dull dialogue vague attempt at humour and bonding and then another set piece fighting a monster. The djinn was another interesting addition but again wasted and what about the owl one of the best things about the original. The vague reference to it early in the film is just pathetic. Obviously the makers of the film had nothing but contempt for it and it showed.

The film is just poorly put together and clearly trying to fit in all the different characters and creatures proved too much. Monsters and various characters come and go and Perseus doesn't develop a great bond with Pegasus either. The battle scene with the giant scorpions is ok but i was left not caring if Hades won or not. Disappointing remake, which abandoned the owl and Pegasus casting them aside. It wraps itself in cgi and makes a mockery of talented actors completely losing the charm and innocence of the original what a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80ebd74)

This product

Clash of the Titans (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + UV Copy) [Region Free]
Used & New from: 17.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews