Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars63
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2011
Warning! If you have Looney Tunes Vol 2 do not buy this as it is identical to Disc 2 of the collection. Otherwise it is up to the usual good standard. However does contain some non Wile E Coyote cartoons approx 25%. Main title does not say "and friends".
22 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 January 2013
"Roadrunner & Coyote" has always been my favourite animated series. Just a few helpings of these formulaic & repetitive dollops of nostalgia are enough to put a big smile on my miserable middle-aged face - great fun for the young at heart! For the uninitiated, the series is set exclusively within a rocky desert landscape with just two players: the stick-thin Wile E. Coyote who is on a never-ending mission to capture the lightning-fast Roadrunner... An impudent flick of the tongue & a car-horn style cry of "Beep-Beep" and the Roadrunner disappears along the lonely desert highway, leaving poor old Wiley foiled with a defeated look on his face.

Whether it's falling down a deep canyon or falling foul of one of his half-baked contraptions set to trap the Roadrunner, it's always the same old story for poor Wiley. Just a thought: with all the time & effort (and presumably money) put into all those hilariously daft traps, wouldn't it be cheaper (but less fun!) to visit a swanky restaurant & order a turkey dinner with all the trimmings?

What you get here is 11 Roadrunner & Coyote shorts + 4 assorted Merrie Melodies, which gives a total running time of around 100 minutes. You must forgive my dodgy grasp of Roman numerals, but the Roadrunner & Coyote shorts would appear to be taken from the classic features from 1951/57 (MCML111 etc). Considering the age of the material, the picture & sound quality is OK. For what I paid (under £4) I would say this collection represents good value for money. Wile E. Coyote and Friends (DVD + Digital Copy)

Here is a list of the titles....

*ROADRUNNER & COYOTE TITLES:
*Beep Beep.
*Going! Going! Gosh!
*Zipping Along.
*Stop! Look! and Hasten!
*Ready, Steady, Zoom.
*Guided Muscle.
*Gee Whiz-z-z.
*There You Go-Go-Go.
*Scrambled Aches.
*Zoom and Bored.
*Whoa, Be-Gone!

*ASSORTED MERRIE MELODIES TITLES:
*Cheese Chasers.
*The Dover Boys.
*Mouse Wreckers.
*A Bear For Punishment.

*BONUS FEATURES:
*Commentaries on selected episodes.
*Alternative Audio Programmes.
*The Adventures of The Roadrunner (24 mins).
*Crash! Bang! Boom!: The wild sounds of Treg Brown (11 mins).
*The Bugs Bunny/Roadrunner Show opening sequence (2 mins).
*The Trace Race (85 secs).

*SPOKEN LANGUAGES:
*English. *French. *Italian. *Dutch. *Hungarian. *Croatian.

*SUBTITLE LANGUAGES:
*English. *French. *Italian. *Dutch. *Hungarian. *Croatian.
*Arabic. *Slovenian. *Romanian. *Bulgarian.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
I'm biased. Wile E Coyote is my all time favourite cartoon character and this DVD, together with it's companion "Road Runner and Friends", contains a good proportion of the total episodes that were made. The price is amazing for such a feast of animated cartoon history. This is just good old-fashioned slap-stick fun with no need for words. My grandchildren (boys of 4 and 6 years) are just beginning to appreciate how great this all is. I am lost in admiration for the imagination of the creators and animators of these masterpieces.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
Bought this because my 5 year old daughter was staying over - she wanted it on immediately and me, her and even her mum were crying with laughter! The next day she took it to after school club and the kids loved it so much they after school club have now bought it as well as quite a few of the mums!!! Highly recommended to anyone with little ones they will LOVE it!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
great dvd a must for all the kids and their parents on cold nights or hot summer evenings
get the set
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Yes, I know, in these so-called enlightened times there's so much non-pc stuff to find fault with here - BUT the animation and vocal talent and the crazy storytelling knocks all that into perspective. No complications, just good vs bad vs very very stupid, with lots of slapstick violence and falls from a great height inbetween. Best enjoyed in that frame of mind. First prize to Wile E Coyote for never, ever giving up on that damn Roadrunner.

Classic post-war cartoons, massively successful, many of which continued through some pretty humourless times, including the McCarthy and Cold War eras. Try this and all the other Warner Bros. animated characters, they're too good to (dis)miss.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
When i first bought this DVD,i had my children in mind, but it is so entertaining that for the first few days i became the child instead.
BRILLIANT!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Recently purchased this and the "Road Runner and friends" DVD. After watching the Road Runner one first, I decided to put on this one, but when I loaded the DVD up the title screen came up with "The best of Road Runner volume 1", is this right? All the episodes on the disc match up to those on the case, so by the look of it, WB were just trying to make more cash by packaging the same DVD into a different case...also, what's with the 4 random, non Road Runner/Coyote released episodes thrown in there? Waste.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
If you can't laugh at these then you are probably dead - although not in so many ways, shapes and sizes as the comedy genius that is Wile E Coyote...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
My son loves the Warner Bros cartoons, so when I saw this DVD was available, I had to buy it for him for Christmas. We watch this DVD all the time and my son will frequently take himself off upstairs to watch this DVD in his bedroom. He loves it. There's lots of cartoons on here that I remember from my childhood, so I'm quite happy to sit and watch it with him and have all my happy memories come back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse