Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio and Subtitles
This is the complete audio and subtitles list:

- Batman Begins (Blu-Ray)

Audio: Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1 / Dolby Digital: English 5.1; Castilian Spanish 5.1; French 5.1; German 5.1; Italian 5.1

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish and Portuguese (Portugal)

-...
Published on 16 Feb 2010 by Hugo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars major problem - a deal breaker for cinema fans - not Amazon's fault (not another review of the film itself)
major problem - a deal breaker for cinema fans - not a review of the film itself.
The problem is post-production process of editing or/and during manufacturing the master copy of this film. Most films for home viewers (DVDs, Blurays, etc) will try to preserve cinematic experience by keeping the original panoramic nature of photography - it is what you see as...
Published 23 days ago by lejeczek


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio and Subtitles, 16 Feb 2010
By 
This is the complete audio and subtitles list:

- Batman Begins (Blu-Ray)

Audio: Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1 / Dolby Digital: English 5.1; Castilian Spanish 5.1; French 5.1; German 5.1; Italian 5.1

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish and Portuguese (Portugal)

- The Dark Knight (Blu-Ray)

Audio: Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1 / Dolby Digital: English 5.1; Castilian Spanish 5.1; French 5.1; German 5.1; Italian 5.1; Brazilian Portuguese 5.1 / English 2.0 (Audio Descriptive)

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Complex Chinese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Korean, Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish and Portuguese (Portugal)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb films, Superb Discs, Good extras, 10 Dec 2009
By 
D. Laurikietis "darkknight_uk" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a pathetically devoted Batman fan, I am already predisposed to like these films (Heck, I even have time for Joel Schumacher's Batman and Robin). However, I believe Batman Begins and The Dark Knight are more than just superb examples of the superhero sub genre, they are great films full stop!

By avoiding the narrative and stylistic trappings and cliches of superhero stories Christopher Nolan has created some beautifully shot, crafted acted films that are outstanding in their own right and will stand up in future amongst the greater works of early twenty first century Hollywood cinema.

Both these films look fabulous in HD. I owned both on DVD and saw them many, many times but was most pleasantly surprised when I felt that watching them on Blu Ray made me feel like I was practically watching a whole new film. (There aren't many double dips that I can say that for!).

Batman Begins' rich, sepia toned palette is beautifully rendered on blu ray and the world of Nolan's Gotham seems that much more vivid and atmpsheric. Sure, I miss the whimsy of Tim Burton's more gothic and expressionistic world but the more naturalistic look that Noaln was going for is really done justice. Every piece of litter, dirt and grime is evident under the dirty yellow streetlights of the Gotham night and we feally get a sense of being in a crime riddled slum on the border of economic collapse (especially in the narrows sequences).

The Dark Knight's colder, harsher world of washed blues and greys creates a look that perfectly suits the crime drama aesthetic of the film and the painstaking attention to detail is all the more evident on Blu Ray (particularly in the wonderful IMAX sequences which change the aspect ratio on screen but the film's pace is so compelling you'll hardly notice).

Extras are decent enough but their lack of real substance is the reason I have rated this package as four stars and not five.

Batman Begins comes with a handful of behind the scenes featurettes that detail the making of the film from concept through casting to production design and stunts. While these are satisfactory, at least initally, they lack the substance of the extras found in the original 1989-1997 Batman anthology and there is a sense that the extras are only scratching the surface of the film's laborious and intricate production. I would have hoped for some Blu Ray exclusive extras but the extras as they are serve well enough even if they don't hold up to more than one or two viewings.

The Dark Knight's DVD release really disappointed me with its lack of substantial bonus content so I was delighted to find not only some BD exclusive extras, but some REALLY GOOD BD exclusive extras. The passable making of docs are still there. However, there is disappointingly little on the production design of either the Joker or Two Face, particularly just how they managed to show Harvey's dreadful scarring, I guess it proves that Nolan has the clout not to let us peek behind the curtain on the stuff he'd rather remain a mystery and I have to admire him for that! There are some exclusive docs on the real life origins of Batman's hight tech arsenal and a compelling exploration of the psychology of Batman / Bruce Wayne and his nutball rogues gallery.

In conclusion, these discs are formidable separately, but together they present a bargain that no Bat-fan should ignore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two of the best superhero films of recents times, 2 Jan 2009
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a very strong double pack. Christopher Nolan has done a stellar job with the reboot of this franchise.

Batman, over the years has taken a fair old flogging as a franchise. I used to love the cheesy TV show when I was a kid and was completely thrilled with Tim Burton's two Batman films which are still up there in my reckoning, the first one being particularly outstanding. Then we had the shocking efforts of Joel Schumacher on Batman & Robin and Batman Forever which upped the 'camp' to ridiculous levels . Schumacher is either on it with the likes of 'Falling Down' and 'The Lost Boys' or way off the mark. Anyway Back to Batman!

Now comes Christopher Nolan with these masterful re-imaginings. At first I was not overley impressed with Batman Begins. It didn't grab me in the least and yet almost against my will I bought the dvd version on a whim. I watched it again and was blown away. What Nolan has done with this franchise is make it so much more believable. I've rarely seen a character depicted with such drive in a film as Bruce Wayne. However, the story is told so well you absolutely know where all this energy is coming from as it pushes Bruce Wayne to become Batman and attempt to somehow redress the balance in Gotham City.

Using his trademark flashbacks Nolan superbly fills in all the backstory to the young Bruce Wayne as he is being trained by 'Ducard' (Liam Neeson) under the pretense of working for Ra'a al Ghul and shows the viewers how a pre-batman Wayne received most of his training. I love this element of the film. After being asked to execute a man and refusing, Bruce has to escape his master and the league of shadows to stay true to what he believes in and save his own life.

The disc in this pack is pretty good. Not up to the standard of the Dark Knight but it's a definite big step up from DVD. The general consensus is that this disc is a straight copy of the HD-DVD version and as such uses less bandwidth (Average around 20mbps) for the video than regular high-end Bluray releases. It's consistently around 8-12mbps a second lower than the Dark Knight's data rate which average around the high 20's to low 30's and peaks right up into the high 40's when things get busy - numbers HD-DVD could only dream about (thank god the better format won this time). Anyway, it's not a bad transfer just not as good as it could be. No doubt a remastered Bluray specific edit will show up and I'll definitely buy it. This will certainly suffice in the meantime.

Both discs have lossless Dolby TruHD soundtracks so that's good.

The Dark knight moves the story on superbly from the first film. I've posted a separate review of that film so check it out. Suffice to say I think the Dark Knight is the best superhero film I've seen by a long way (Spiderman can't compete, X-men can't compete, the Superman re-boot can't compete). It simply trounces everything with excellent pacing, Heath Ledger of course, great gadgets, story development, believability and great twists.

This is a great pack containing two of the best superhero films and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Knight, 6 Jun 2010
By 
George Henderson "GMH" (SLIGO ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two absolutely brilliant movies in one pack isn't that unique.Chris Nolan reboots the franchise with his own inimatable style.
Bale is probably the best screen Batman so far playing the two sided character with a great deal of empathy.Caine as always is excellent as butler Alfred.This pack also offers excellent extras.A big plus in my opinion is the price If your just starting your blu-ray collection your getting 2 movies made for blu-ray at a great price. I started my collection with The Dark Knight
last year paying 40 euro and Batman Begins for 25 euro now Amazon are selling both for a third of that price great movies
great picture and sound quality and a great price Let the show begin....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio track in Castilian Spanish too, 12 Dec 2008
Just to inform, those Blu Rays has too the audio track in CASTILIAN SPANISH, BRAZILIAN PORTUGUES, FRENCH, ITALIAN and GERMAN. And you can see too all the extras with subtitles in those languages.

Both films have extraodinary and fantastic extras, and specially the movie The Dark Knight is one of the best of the last decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The films are fantastic and this box set offers great value - what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2 Batman Movies That Matter, 15 Dec 2008
I loved Batman Begins, even though I am not a big fan of the older Batman movies. So, I was looking forward to the Dark Knight, though I felt it couldn't be better than the previous movie (Batman Begins).

I wouldn't compare them and say which is better or worse, but I will say that they are two impressive movies.
The Dark Knight doesn't have the mystical touch that Batman Begins has, and it seems to be just an action comic-book movie in the beginning. However, it proves to be much more than just that as all the pieces fall into place.
There is a consequent theme throughout, which might not be obvious right away.

It was a strange experience, well worth the invested time.
The cast is outstanding, and Christian Bale is incredible, as usual.
Heath Ledger gave his performance of a lifetime... truly.
Michael Caine is magical, even though he is much less prominent in the Dark Knight than he was in Batman Begins. His role in Batman Begins was superb.

All in all, this is a great package, worth 5 stars, full of extras that I haven't watched yet, but am leaving as a separate pleasure for another evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 10 Feb 2009
By 
M. P. Folan "LizardK101" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't see this in the cinema, my main reason was I hadn't seen the first Batman and so I ordered this boxset. I'd heard how brilliant the late Heath Leger was, but nothing could prepare me for the actual role he plays in this film, it definetly derserves the Awards he has recieved.

Having watched the first Batman the film was what the comic had been dark, edgy, Violent, Thoughtful, and altogether a great film adaptation of a comic.

The Dark Knight was brilliant the film was a dead carry on from the first and the start is well put together and keeps you on the edge, again this film sticks to the comic book, and the whole film is so unique, it's so dark and you actually feel you can understand the whole story, and what it will continue to be. Maggie Gylenhal is much better than Katie Holmes, and has more depth to her character, Christian Bale is brilliant as Bruce Wayne and his alter Ego. Morgan Freeman, and Michael Caine are brilliant and though it seems like they are there only as cameo parts they giv both acting and character support which though not highly needed it's welcome, and fantastic parts. An all round film, that is one of the best of 2008, and is a good example of an adaptation of a good comic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have to say i enjoy these movies a great deal! and to top that off they arrives alot earlier than expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Batman begins" and "The Dark Knight", 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman Begins / The Dark Knight - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + UV Copy) [2005] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Both excellent escapism movies, to prepare me for seeing the latest film which has just been released. Am more used to the TV series which is tongue in cheek farce.Excellent Amazon postal service, as per norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews