Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Dynasty Warrors game with a One Piece Twist
I read a few other reviews before purchasing this game and I must say I agree with the overall feeling that while this is a quality mash up it is not the true One Piece game that I was expecting.

The graphics are truly amazing in how well the stick to the shows style and I hope that if they ever create a CGI One Piece film they will do it in the same vain. The...
Published on 12 Dec. 2012 by Alexander Murray

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Falls short of what One Piece is all about
As a huge One Piece and Dynasty Warriors fan I often dreamed of a mash-up so One Piece Pirate Warriors really was a dream come true. At last, we get a One Piece game on a HD console that would be filled with everything One Piece is famous for. You would expect many playable characters since the developers produce the Dynasty Warriors series along with the adventure, charm...
Published on 30 Sept. 2012 by Shoozle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Dynasty Warrors game with a One Piece Twist, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
I read a few other reviews before purchasing this game and I must say I agree with the overall feeling that while this is a quality mash up it is not the true One Piece game that I was expecting.

The graphics are truly amazing in how well the stick to the shows style and I hope that if they ever create a CGI One Piece film they will do it in the same vain. The combat system is highly enjoyable and a great extension of the standard Dynasty Warriors style with each character feeling distinct making you change the way you play particularly with Nico Robin and Ussop.

It would be nice if all of the story Ark's were covered I know everyone feels the loss of Thriller Bark and Skypia arks but I was more dissapointed at the lack of the opening sequence covering the recruitment of Zoro and the early bond between Cobi and Luffy.

Where I greatly differ in my opinion to the other reviews is with regards to the platforming levels. I think the levels where you're playing as Luffy and using his ingenious methods of getting around are pure fun and the puzzles while simple are enjoyable. There are certain parts that will take 2 or 3 attempts to get past but the game always puts you at the start of the sequence you failed at and so avoids frustration.

The main problem with this game is that in order to do One Piece jusctice it requires more of a world roaming RPG than a pure button basher. It is the idea of being a free spirit adventuring through the wonderfull world of One Piece that trully captures the imagination. I feel that any game that wanted to capture it would need free roaming world exploration with sailing mini-games thrown in to trully live up to the show. Perhaps such a game will be more likely when the series reaches its finall conclusion.

Anyway this game is a lot of fun and has a decent amount of content to justify the price. For fans it will set you reminissing about the the story and remind you of much that you will have forgotten. For those who don't know One Piece this game is still hugely enjoyable and probably the best Dynasty Warriors game that has been produced in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am the King of the Pirates!, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
Based on the popular manga by Oda Eichiro and running in the popular magazine Shonen Jump, One Piece tells the story of one Monkey D. Luffy and his crew as they journey across the world in search of the mysterious treasure One Piece and Pirate Warriors recreates the story to an almost perfect "T". The Main Log (or story mode) goes as far as the Marineford Arc (with a 2 years later prelude) but misses out some key arcs, such as Thriller Bark and Skypedia (which I really wanted to play). The game is done in a sort of "platforming Dynasty Warriors" style way but the platforming is limited to as far as Luffy and his Gum-Gum powers. The number of characters is also rather limiting with only 13 playable but they are fun to explore and play as (such as the elusive Whitebeard). My main urks though is that the game is still very limited as some characters in Another Log mode only have one stage and some story mode levels are only playable in Story Mode, what a pain! I really wanted to play Water 7 as someone other than Luffy! But overall it is a fun little game and I completely recommend this game to OP fans all over the world. I do hope Koei consider making a sequel with lots more goodies for the fans! Just a little tip for those buying the game; beware Wapol! Seriously, how do you beat that guy anyway??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T WATCH REVIEWS OF THIS IF your a ONE PIECE FAN, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. D. Kimbowa "DK" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
If your a One Piece fan then this is definitely the game for you Im all ready in love with this game and i've played a couple of hours...it is like dynasty warrior but its not just another dynasty warrior game with a one piece make over....theres puzzles, obstacles and other stuff to do...also it tells the story like in the manga/anime

They are flaws Im not ignoring them but like i said if your a One piece fan the negatives won't effect the fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
As a fan of the One Piece franchise I was excited when I found this game on Amazon so I had to order it. Great price but really late on delivery. Was waiting about 2 weeks to 2 and a half weeks. Will hopefully buy from this company again but hope they are faster next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very true to the series!, 24 Oct. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
As an anime-turned-game, this is definitely a great buy. Unlike most, it follows the story almost exactly, (although it misses out 3 main arcs) and gameplay wise the moves retain the same feel as the series and each character plays entirely different to one another.
After extensive play, the only problems i can find with this game are;

It gets repetitive after completing the story with most of the characters.

Getting powerup coins is rather annoying after you have 50% of them.

The online multiplayer seems to be thrown in as an afterthought and lacks depth.

Overall, a must have for any one piece fan so long as your caught up in the anime, (around 520 or so) and a great game overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Piece: Pirate Warriors, 16 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game based on the one piece up to the new world, however it missed out some important arcs and i feel like it could have used a VS mode. I can't wait for Pirate Warriors 2 to be released in Europe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
Really recommend for fans of One Piece and Dynasty warriors, really cool game.

waitihng for pirate warriors 2 to be delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PIRATE KING, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
JayJay944 (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
very good game based on the anime series one piece, it takes along the storyline all the way up to the marineford arc very fun the fighting style is basically the same as dynasty warriors where you have to beat up huge groups of enemy's and then a boss will appear defeat enough enemy's and your special attack will be able to use also features online play where you can play story mode with a random person or a friend, there could of been more characters all in all a very good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
I think it could be a better game, the boss fight could be better done, but it's a good buy for the fans anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) (Video Game)
Good extras , i love the anime and manga and well the game is very funny and long if you look for some coins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3)
One Piece: Pirate Warriors (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews