Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longevity and class
In an age of even more disposable "pop stars" playing ever more homogeneous music,
we need this band. Paid their dues, play their instruments adeptly,a wide range of
styles and a massive source of songs. Saw them live recently and they were absolutely
satisfying throughout. Recommended thoroughly.
Published on 12 Jan. 2013 by Cream1968

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
some good songs some a bit dated ...........title track wonderful
Published 6 days ago by TrojanWarPath


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longevity and class, 12 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
In an age of even more disposable "pop stars" playing ever more homogeneous music,
we need this band. Paid their dues, play their instruments adeptly,a wide range of
styles and a massive source of songs. Saw them live recently and they were absolutely
satisfying throughout. Recommended thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
Yes if your a folkie, then you should have this already, if not, then do go and get it. Play to your heart content as this is a timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairports Collection, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
Good compilation for fans of the group if you want your favourite tracks together on one disc. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet on the Ledge, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you dont know the musicof Fairports this is the album to get yoy up to speed. Classics like a Sailors Life will amaze any folk rolk fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
A good introduction to fairport or a quick way to get some classics if you don't want to reproduce your vinyl collection on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldies, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
I recalled this group from my youth and was surprised that this CD was still available. So glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a convention, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
I spent my teen years listening to this type of music. It has brought back many memories from my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fairport Sampler, 23 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
It says something about this band that they have been around for 45 years according to the sleeve notes. You can't describe this album as a greatest hits collection but it does give an insight to the diverse range of what Fairport Convention was about. Some of the tracks are particularly good and timeless, 'Meet on the ledge' and 'Si Tu Dois Partir' for example, serious fans and followers of this band will have most if not all of the tracks but this might stimulate interest from new or potential followers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I now want more Fairport, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for a quick round up of the best known Sandy Denny tracks and yet I was quickly won over by the excellence of their post Denny material too. Highly recommended and obviously hugely influential and enjoyable music from a great band. If you listen to a lot of later music from artists working in an 'English' idiom it is now obvious to me where they got a lot of their stylings from. Now I'm ready to go out to my local record shop and buy the full length albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good collection of a very influential folk/rock band, 10 July 2014
By 
Mr. Christopher Harris "Chris in Brum" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is a good collection of a very influential folk/rock band. It gives a good insight into the developments of this genre at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection
Fairport Convention - Meet On The Ledge: The Collection by Fairport Convention (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews