Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
Short answer, yes. This album is amazing. I have both of the previous CDs and didn't think they could be topped, but they have been. There are lots of different feels to the tracks but sitting true to there original concept. If you love them this is a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
An absolutely amazing band. If you haven't heard them pick any of their albums to try. An eclectic mix of folk based music that is a delight to listen to - and I have, over and over again. Go Try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
just get better and better this band,always pushing the bounderies,and taking you by suprise !, this album is beautiful , elegant, fun , playful, a joy , make sure you get a copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
Another exciting product from the supergroup that mixes the English folk tradition with dub, India and techno, never forgetting to pass on a message.
Not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Better than the second album; but not as good as the first. They have returned a bit to the first album style which is great and it almost gets there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
The music is based on folk but performed in a highly creative, collaborative and unique style, mixing up styles and genres. Totally amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
More from the wonderful Imagined Village collaboration. I love their music and this album is better than ever, even has a reggae track!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
Like a previous reviewer I heard this playing in a record shop and bought it on impulse. I had got the first album which I thought was so so but the track 'Fisherman' that I heard in the shop sounded more muscular and I rate Eliza Carthy the primary performer, very highly. Unfortunately I have been quite disappointed in this. It seems to have a lot of the problems of the first one in being a bit directionless with many of the songs having no appreciable structure. Worse it comes over as quite lack lustre with even Eliza's fiddle playing very anaemic and Jackie Oates not allowed to stretch out. As for the instrumentals they are quite boring especially the title track which only in the interests of a truthful review could I sit through. The best tracks are the first two but even they seem to die out with a whimper. All these artists have done more radical and interesting things on their own especially thinking of Eliza Carthy's groundbreaking Red Rice - it is a true case of the whole being much less than its parts and may be the result of the group being a collective rather than having a dominating vision. Time to call it a day on this project I think.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Amazing. Probably the best of the three CDs already released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
I really enjoyed Bending the Dark - the style and originality grabbed me much more than the previous album (Empire & Love). Highlights include Winter Singing & Sick Old Man - both tracks are full of energy! If you like folk and are happy with it being blended with modern styles this is a definite must-buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)