Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality interpretation from a young Russian, 10 July 2002
By 
Andrew Rowe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
To begin with, I should congratulate Nikolai Lugansky on recording these works. Many 'great' 20th century pianists have refused to record the complete Chopin Etudes. Chopin Etudes are technically challenging, so being able to get one's hands around the notes is tricky, but clear articulation, elegance of phrasing and line and emphasising the poetry of the works are all hard to obtain. Thankfully, Lugansky achieves all of these things. In most cases, he brings clarity and control but also emotion and maturity to each study. Each one is controlled with freshness and individuality. The C-sharp minor study from opus 10 is particularly well handled in terms of dynamics and precision. Lugansky uses rubati in the majority of the works, but I was particularly impressed by the rubato used in the well-known 'Black-key' Study (Op.10, No.5). Lugansky also proves that these fiendishly difficult pieces are no match for his technical capacity, playing some of the studies at break-neck speed, accurately and with musicality. The Opus 10 F major study is handled at high speed with both exactness and clear articulation. Most of the G-sharp study in Op.15 (Double-thirds) is held together well, although occasionally at the expense of clarity (in the right hand).
The recording engineers at Erato have successfully captured the Steinway sound, with the assistance of a sympathetic acoustic. I heartily recommend this recording, and look forward to seeing any future Lugansky recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and Provocative, 1 Sep 2001
By 
thom-john@home.com (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Yet another fine recording by Lugansky, with remarkable control, appropriate use of rubato, and astonishing tone (I'll bet he's not using a Steinway -- sounds more like the warmth of a Bechstein to me). It is baffling that responses to this fine young pianist seem to be so polarized (except for the fact that "everyone is a critic" -- but we all have a little of that characteristic!). His Chopin is not the consistently "hard and driven" that all too often is heard from Competition winners these days. Perhaps his sensitivity (with appropriate power when called for) is a sound that many people are not expecting. Then, let him continue to follow his own path, and may he make many more recordings as good as this one -- and probably even better with continuing maturity! John Turner (aka olddocjt) Mail: olddocjt@yahoo.com thom-john@home.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recording and set of performances to compare with the very best, 18 May 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This disc, very well recorded in 1999, has garnered many appreciative reviews from a wide range of critical opinion.
Lugansky has a level of technical accomplishment that makes the technical challenged of this music less of a problem than might apply for others. In particular, he is blessed with an unusually wide hand-span that may be a further help, such as in in his Rachmaninov playing. This allows him to achieve greater clarity by not having to use the sustaining pedal to help cover wide gaps.

Lugansky thus brings great technical proficiency to his interpretations that are notably lyrical in style. In this respect he is far closer to Perahia in approach than to Ashkenazy for example who is more percussive in his dramatic style. Both Perahia and Lugansky see these works in a warmer light that the somewhat cooler Rubinstein and the much cooler Pollini. Comparisons such as these are not intended to be anything other than pointers to an approach of course. All these pianists offer pianism of supreme quality and collectors of multiple versions will be aware of this.

However, for those interested in a single 'only' purchase I would suggest that either Perahia or Lugansky offer an unusual level of satisfaction by blending a high degree of technical wizardry with a warmly lyrical concept musically. I would not wish to be without either, but pushed to a final choice, I might well opt for this disc by Lugansky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars distractions in the sound, hiss, noise,, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is not about the performance, which I like very much, it is about
the noisy background that no one else has mentioned in their reviews.

There is a lot of distractions in the sound, (hiss?) It sounds like an old vinyl, and it
is present for the whole duration of this cd.

Does anyone else have this, or could it be a flaw on the disc itself ?
I just bought it, brand New.
strange....

Please comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin : Etudes (MP3 Download)
Having just started using cloud for music I've been looking at cheap ways to download albums. For the price I was most impressed with the quality of this Chopin, and also with the playing of the artist. Not all the low price downloads are of such high quality so always listen to them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triple X - excellent, exquisite, exhilarating, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Each generation seems to produce one exceptionally brilliant interpreter of the works of a particular composer. In my heart, Lugansky fulfils that requirement for Chopin. His playing of the Etudes has enthused and enriched my spirit. A thousand thanks for such an extraordinarily beautiful experience. Bravissimo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good rendering of the etudes., 9 Feb 2004
I have heard most of the etudes in at least two renderings, and some three, and I would say that in most cases the better rendering is the one on this album. Luganski also tends to play faster than in the other versions that I have heard. I needn't review the etudes themselves because everyone interested in them will already know that they are highly mentally stimulating and sensitive, (in at least most cases), pieces. At times, Chopin's virtuosity is so great that he materialises it in a sense of humour; it is not surprising that Chopin probably had a good sense of humour because most great artists, scientists, and philosophers did. This is perhaps the best and most up to date recording of the etudes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it !!!, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Adorable, beautiful, magnificent. Words cannot express how fantastic this recording is. Lugansky is a Master of Masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical music, 10 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this having read a book and wanted to hear it.

Condition was excellent and although seller stated book was creased, it was fine.

Would buy again from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chopin : Etudes
Chopin : Etudes by Nikolai Lugansky
Buy MP3 Album£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews