Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic flies again
After many years of being out of print, this is a sumptuous new edition of the ORIGINAL tales about the magical car.

Written in the early sixties for his son, Ian Fleming's stories were originally published as three separate books. This anthology combines them into one thrilling adventure.

For those who only know the film, it will be a surprise to...
Published on 25 July 2008 by lionheart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars present
It was okay, it was a book for my grandsons birthday. He was very happy with it. I bought it to go with the dvd so he could compare the differance between reading and watching.
Published 23 months ago by Fizz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic flies again, 25 July 2008
After many years of being out of print, this is a sumptuous new edition of the ORIGINAL tales about the magical car.

Written in the early sixties for his son, Ian Fleming's stories were originally published as three separate books. This anthology combines them into one thrilling adventure.

For those who only know the film, it will be a surprise to discover how far the script of the film departs from Fleming's book. Roald Dahl contributed to the script (although he is said to have been unhappy with it)and it is tempting to imagine Truly Scrumptious and the child catcher are his inventions. They are certainly not Flemings.

In the original story - set in the '60's, the Pott family (including a live-and-well mother) rescue a derelict car and become emboiled in the gangster Joe The Monster's plots to steal sweets from Monsieur Bon Bon's sweet shop in Paris. There are guns and explosions, kidnappings and all sorts of mortal dangers...and the whistling sweets are in there too!

And the car does of course fly and float, with perfect timing!

Burningham's astonishing illustrations were not used when designing the film car. His green dragon of a car is a magnificent eccentric creation none the less and the whole book should be on every young boy's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and delightful, 10 Feb 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is the story of Commander Caractacus Pott, a highly eccentric inventor, and his family. When they acquire a broken-down old automobile, Commander Pott goes to work on it, and seemingly with the help of the automobile itself, he rebuilds it into a car that is more than a little bit magic. Due to the sound it makes when it starts up, the Pott children name the car Chitty Chitty Bang Bang! However, a trip in this car is like nothing you can imagine, anything can happen, and something fantastic invariably will! And so it's off to adventure and danger!
This is a charming and delightful children's story, one that you could hardly imagine was written by Ian Fleming, the author of the James Bond books! My kids love this whimsical story and yours will too. My family highly recommends this book to yours. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and the best Chitty, 22 Nov 2006
By 
Cangarwbach (Shrewsbury, UK) - See all my reviews
I have been compelled to write a review to counter the absurd remarks made by other reviewers. THIS IS THE ORIGINAL STORY!!!! Ian Fleming wrote this book as a simple story of a magical car, thieves, channel-crossing and kids. None of this Hollywood soppy mush with Childcatchers and awfully titled Truly Scrumptious, the film and subsequent productions are completely Vulgarian. So clear your head of all that popularist nonsense and enjoy a much more enjoyable (and possible slightly more plausible?) version of a classic tale from a classic author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you loved the film; you'll be surprised by the book., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most of Flemming's books, they have not a great deal in common with the film. This is probably the most poles apart book I have read that supposedly shares the same title and story as the film. A short story that is worth the read if only to compare the vast differences between the book and film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story !, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have discovered this story when we went at Beaulieu where you can see the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang ! My son loves this story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much, it is different from the film, which I also like, review by Gene age 6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Kindle Edition)
Grew up with this story so wanted to read the book. It didn't disappoint and is well worth a read. Kids would love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chitty Chitty Brill Brill, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Kindle Edition)
This was an amazing book and I was sad to stop reading it. On the kindle reading this book brought the mystery and the fun of this adventure book to life. A shock ending and a real twist to the tail of this classic children's story. I want to read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its not like the film, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Kindle Edition)
My daughter loved it and read the whole book in 3 days. You have to realise it is nothing like the film so would strongly recommend that you read the book before watching the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Story and The Film. CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG (The Reprint) A Critical Review., 5 Jun 2013
By 
Andre Lawrence (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"There are a lot of things in the film that's not in the book. In most cases, they're an improvement...[Because] these are things that must be seen."
--Christopher Lee (on the difference between the book and the film adaptation of The Lord Of The Rings.)

***
Mr. Lee's observation certainly applies to CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG.

I have owned all of Ian Fleming's other books, including a rare, forgotten travel book that he wrote in the midst of his James Bond chronicles.

If you love the film (the way I do) and you're introduced to the book YEARS later after the film, the music, the faces and the various characters have been embedded in your mind and soul, reading the book presents a bit of a challenge because there are different people and different relationships throughout the various chapters.

The book is still wonderful but the only thing that I don't like is the illustrations.

The illustration look childlike and the "Line" drawing style just is just passé considering that you have the image of the car from the film constantly playing in your mind as you read through the book. The book and the film give you so much room to experiment with that the artist had carte blanche to create. The artist didn't have to re-create the wheel, just start from where the film left off and tweak it. After 40 years of seeing and loving that car, you'd expect the artist to make some modifications and attempt to excite our imagination. Even the Potts family illustrations were mediocre.

***
But, it's the story that counts. And, what a wonderful story it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
2.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews