Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise up!
Greig Beck's second Alex Hunter book is another rip-roaring ludicrous romp.

The frenetic pace kicks off immediately and doesn't let up. Nuclear materials, black holes and the threat of World War Three combine giving our hero and his gang a dangerous job to do. Throw in some nasty bugs and some religious fanatics and you've got yourself a book.

This...
Published on 29 Nov. 2011 by Ben Peyton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book bit slow at first
Good read but a bit slow in places but still good .not as good as first book but still worth reading
Published 7 months ago by kieron wallbridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise up!, 29 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Greig Beck's second Alex Hunter book is another rip-roaring ludicrous romp.

The frenetic pace kicks off immediately and doesn't let up. Nuclear materials, black holes and the threat of World War Three combine giving our hero and his gang a dangerous job to do. Throw in some nasty bugs and some religious fanatics and you've got yourself a book.

This is right up there with the excellent James Rollins for action/adventure combined with science, and I can't wait to see where Alex Hunter goes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Greig Beck!!, 5 Oct. 2011
Let me just start off by saying this - I read this book in less than 4 days - I could not put it down. It was an incredibly fast paced story with exciting and realistic science as well as totally accurate geo-politics. Mr. Beck writes in a style that puts the reader in the story and immerses them in the characters and their adventure. BOTTOM LINE: BUY THIS BOOK - YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DANGERS IN THE DEPTHS OF IRAN FOR ALEX HUNTER & HIS HAWCs, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"This mission had long moved past being weird, now it was starting to get damn creepy"

Four and a half DANGEROUS Stars! A fast-paced science fiction, mystery, and military adventure novel, "Dark Rising" is the 1st in the series of 4 full novels by author Greig Beck on the adventures of Captain Alex Hunter, code name "Arcadian", the special forces team leader with the unusual capabilities. Amid a backdrop of high stakes political intrigue, the plot of the novel concerns strange activities observed by satellite in Iran near the Persepolis ruins, indicating the possible presence of some sort of dangerous technology. Alex and the other high-tech equipped Hotzone All-Forces Warfare Commandos (HAWCs) are covertly sent in with Israeli support personnel to investigate. Thus begins one of the wildest rides yet for the HAWCs. While the plot may seem vaguely similar in places to the Alex Hunter Antarctica novel, Beneath the Dark Ice (Alex Hunter), it is much better and different in general and shows Beck's ability to improvise on familiar themes among the novels. Beck cleverly introduces an unusually formidable bad guy whom the reader may alternately cheer for and cheer against. Those who are reading this series for the first time may be somewhat puzzled by Alex Hunter and his extraordinary powers, but they should either 'just go with it' and enjoy the fun or read the short prequel novella "Arcadian Genesis" first to get some of the Alex Hunter/HAWC backstory. Along the way in this novel we meet: unexpected Iranian desert dangers, Adira and Zach, Takavarans and Urakhers, the ruins of Arak, some wild grisly battle scenes, an unexpected hero, and Major Hammerson, as usual, watching everything. This is another enjoyable, 'page turner' novel about "the Arcadian" and his ranger-like forces in this addictive military action series. Highly Recommended! Four and a half IMAGINATIVE Stars! (305 pages, reviewed in Kindle text and text to speech mode. Next up, This Green Hell)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome novel, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I've read "Beneath The Dark Ice" which is the first book in the Alex Hunter series, this book being the second. Like the first book I enjoyed this one vary much. It's vary well written and is action packed. In this adventure our extra-Special Forces hero switches from the ice cold of the Antarctic to the searing heat of the Iranian desert. A secret weapon is being developed beneath the sands of the desert, a weapon so powerful that it could destroy the planet. Not only that but an alien creature is picking off our hero's team.

Well written, plenty of action and vary entertaining. I am looking forward to reading the third in the series.

A note on the Kindle version. I read this on Kindle Fire HDX, and it displays beautifully. No typos or poor formatting noticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good scifi read, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I like scifi and it's a credible story. The key characters have a bit of tension between them which adds interest.

There's enough detail to get the idea but not too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I love these arcadian books don't even think I have read them in the correct order but great just the same a good author discovered by accident but so pleased I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once you start, you can't put it down!, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was fast paced and with so much going on through the whole book, I found it very difficult to put the book down! Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 3 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another military techno horror from the author. This follows on fron Under the Ice but can be read stand alone. Plenty of action with its almost super hero, beautiful but deadly Special Forces lady, stalwart buddy, scientist geek and the usual cannon fodder. Nothing exceptional but a good, well written story. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book bit slow at first, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Good read but a bit slow in places but still good .not as good as first book but still worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a new James Rollins, 10 Jan. 2012
This is the second book by Greig Beck, I've read, and like the previous one it was a fun a read. These sort of books are fast food for me, yes they taste good, but ultimately once I've finished I feel unsatisfied. It's not say the book is bad, it is a fun ride, that hits all the marks, you keep turning the pages as the story unfolds. just don't go in expecting a book that will stay with you after reading. Not exactly original, but a fun enough read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Rising (Alex Hunter Book 2)
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews