Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise up!
Greig Beck's second Alex Hunter book is another rip-roaring ludicrous romp.

The frenetic pace kicks off immediately and doesn't let up. Nuclear materials, black holes and the threat of World War Three combine giving our hero and his gang a dangerous job to do. Throw in some nasty bugs and some religious fanatics and you've got yourself a book.

This...
Published on 29 Nov 2011 by Ben Peyton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book bit slow at first
Good read but a bit slow in places but still good .not as good as first book but still worth reading
Published 25 days ago by kieron wallbridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise up!, 29 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Greig Beck's second Alex Hunter book is another rip-roaring ludicrous romp.

The frenetic pace kicks off immediately and doesn't let up. Nuclear materials, black holes and the threat of World War Three combine giving our hero and his gang a dangerous job to do. Throw in some nasty bugs and some religious fanatics and you've got yourself a book.

This is right up there with the excellent James Rollins for action/adventure combined with science, and I can't wait to see where Alex Hunter goes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Greig Beck!!, 5 Oct 2011
Let me just start off by saying this - I read this book in less than 4 days - I could not put it down. It was an incredibly fast paced story with exciting and realistic science as well as totally accurate geo-politics. Mr. Beck writes in a style that puts the reader in the story and immerses them in the characters and their adventure. BOTTOM LINE: BUY THIS BOOK - YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once you start, you can't put it down!, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was fast paced and with so much going on through the whole book, I found it very difficult to put the book down! Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome novel, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter 2) (Kindle Edition)
I've read "Beneath The Dark Ice" which is the first book in the Alex Hunter series, this book being the second. Like the first book I enjoyed this one vary much. It's vary well written and is action packed. In this adventure our extra-Special Forces hero switches from the ice cold of the Antarctic to the searing heat of the Iranian desert. A secret weapon is being developed beneath the sands of the desert, a weapon so powerful that it could destroy the planet. Not only that but an alien creature is picking off our hero's team.

Well written, plenty of action and vary entertaining. I am looking forward to reading the third in the series.

A note on the Kindle version. I read this on Kindle Fire HDX, and it displays beautifully. No typos or poor formatting noticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good scifi read, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter 2) (Kindle Edition)
I like scifi and it's a credible story. The key characters have a bit of tension between them which adds interest.

There's enough detail to get the idea but not too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter 2) (Kindle Edition)
I love these arcadian books don't even think I have read them in the correct order but great just the same a good author discovered by accident but so pleased I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another military techno horror from the author. This follows on fron Under the Ice but can be read stand alone. Plenty of action with its almost super hero, beautiful but deadly Special Forces lady, stalwart buddy, scientist geek and the usual cannon fodder. Nothing exceptional but a good, well written story. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book bit slow at first, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Rising (Alex Hunter 2) (Kindle Edition)
Good read but a bit slow in places but still good .not as good as first book but still worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a new James Rollins, 10 Jan 2012
This is the second book by Greig Beck, I've read, and like the previous one it was a fun a read. These sort of books are fast food for me, yes they taste good, but ultimately once I've finished I feel unsatisfied. It's not say the book is bad, it is a fun ride, that hits all the marks, you keep turning the pages as the story unfolds. just don't go in expecting a book that will stay with you after reading. Not exactly original, but a fun enough read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Rising (Alex Hunter 2)
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews