Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Battleground in the West in US WW II semi actioner
This is a new release of a film from 2007 and available from the US in Region 1 called `Rhineland'. This is the first time it has been available in Region 2. It is about a group of anti tank gunners, who are detoured to become a mining detail. The main man is Calvin Mayer (Derek Simmons) and we focus on him throughout the film. His other four companions are thrown into a...
Published 22 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When will i ever learn ?
Another low budget load of junk.How many times could i say that,this year? There is an actor called Muck and one called Heffernan in this film,but it is no Band of Brothers.The second film in a row that is so bleached it is virtually black and white,although the colour fades in and out quite a lot for no discernable reason.Despite the Germanic title,this is an American...
Published 22 months ago by amazon.co.uk are biased,tax do...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When will i ever learn ?, 29 Aug 2012
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
Another low budget load of junk.How many times could i say that,this year? There is an actor called Muck and one called Heffernan in this film,but it is no Band of Brothers.The second film in a row that is so bleached it is virtually black and white,although the colour fades in and out quite a lot for no discernable reason.Despite the Germanic title,this is an American film,with not very good actors,who you've never heard of,going through the motions.The effects are poor,the budget appears to have been miniscule and the unconvincing action scenes are filmed in the same couple of locations,just shot from different angles,in a laughable attempt to fool the viewer.(It has basically been shot in a couple of fields and barely a copse of trees).There are also quite a few worm's eye view shots,from the protagonists viewpoints in a very unsubtle effort to hide this fact.Most of the action scenes are shot with a handycam in a VAIN effort to recreate the realism of film/t.v of say Black Hawk Down,Pacific etc,but this fails miserably due to the poor effects.It looks more like a bunch of overage,semi-retired media executives on a weekend's jolly,paint-balling.In quite a few shots, the actors barely flinch while incoming mortar/artillery rounds land just feet away from them.(This is because they are obviously smokepots and they look like smokepots,with all the explosive power and shrapnel of a couple of bangers,casually tossed in their general direction.)The grenade throwing scenes are positively LAME,half-hearted efforts.(I think most of the actors had given up by this stage in the film.At this point, I was expecting some of the Yank soldiers to start bowling grenades underarm,but thankfully they don't).None of the blood/wounds look remotely real.The scene where the Yank soldiers try to save one of their dying comrades is so bad,it will have you laughing out loud.The main character in this film,a sergeant(NO Tom Berenger),uses the infamous "Grease Gun",the most inaccurate weapon in the entire second world war.(I don't think he'd have survived till 1945,using this instrument of "Spray and Pray",and if he had,surely someone in ordinance would have given him a better weapon,five years into the campaign.)The Sherman tank(Singular), looks like it's been to the "CHOP SHOP",(It looks more like a baby Sherman tank with bits lopped off it.)Although the jerry half-track(Singular),looks better,(Not so sure about the gun it's towing,which appears to be american.)By now I'd long past caring what happened to any of them,but was still wondering where the Messerschidmt on the cover had gotten to.Well it eventually turns up near the end,or should i say that you hear an aircraft,(Singular,circle and make a couple of passes overhead.You NEVER actually see the aircraft.It Never drops any ordinance or makes strafing runs,so what's it doing? You can tell by the sound of the engine,that it's obviously not a Messerschidmt 109.I believe the director captured the noise of passing civilian aircraft on some scenes he didn't want to cut,and tried to get around it by covering it up with the BLATANT FALSE ADVERTISING on the D.v.d cover).

One thing I forgot to mention with regard to the so called realistic uniforms. One of the German soldiers is wearing a camouflage helmet cover,that appears to be made from DEL BOY TROTTER's old,discarded,Faux-Leopardskin swimming trunks.

This film is definately NOT epic.Film Threat you need a new film reviewer.

Astonishingly this d.v.d. has two audio commentaries and the Director seems to think he has created a masterpiece.I listened to the first seven minutes and turned it off, in disgust.Everything he claims to have achieved with this film is clearly a joke,which he's having on us.ROBBED,I want my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Battleground in the West in US WW II semi actioner, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
This is a new release of a film from 2007 and available from the US in Region 1 called `Rhineland'. This is the first time it has been available in Region 2. It is about a group of anti tank gunners, who are detoured to become a mining detail. The main man is Calvin Mayer (Derek Simmons) and we focus on him throughout the film. His other four companions are thrown into a unit where the Lieutenant is on the edge of a break down and the Sargeant is more cynical than a disgruntled teen ager who lacks any empathy or basic humanity and seems to be more keen to undermine the men than get them to act as a fighting unit.

They are put to work doing what ever is asked of them during what was often referred to as `the last great killing ground in the west', that is the Rhineland in 1945. They get increasingly used to do jobs they were never trained for and as the stress mounts so too does the body count.

Director and writer Chris Grega has decided to go for the minimal music approach and it does work as a way to ramp up the tension during the battle scenes. There we just have the battle noise and fug to convey the panic and confusion that is concomitant with most war scenarios. And I must say it does work.

The arms, uniforms and vehicles are all pretty authentic and this did have a lot of money spent on it and on the whole has extremely good production values. The acting is all good but no Oscar nominations methinks and I did get the feeling that some of the actors took their time to get into their respective roles as it certainly improves as the film proceeds. And the Germans all speak German which I always appreciate so well done for that.

This film also deals with both the physical effects of war including loss of life and limb but more over the psychological effects or what was often called `battle fatigue'. Action fans won't be disappointed but as with most war films the cover art work is probably a bit misleading and to call this `epic' is a stretch. It is a very good effort and as such should be judged by how it was intended to be marketed and the Region 1 cover is a lot more honest. You may also think that there are a lot of `Band of Brother' moments as there seems to be a lot of plot in this film that we saw in the aforementioned TV programme, but I feel that is because of the theatre of war rather than any charge of copying. All in all a solid film that tells a small part of WW 2 and if like me you are rather a fan of war movies then this will not be an embarrassment to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Something of a rip-off, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
Well, I've just read the 3 reviews written here, and I don't agree with any of them - not in total. One thinks it's a decent effort all round, and the 1 star guy thinks it's the biggest load of junk ever. I'm going to sit in the middle and give it 2 stars, because I have seen MANY war films that are worse than this. I have also seen many (some low budget) that are infinitely better. It has been likened to Band of Brothers with similar plot scenarios, but personally I think the director was a huge fan of When Trumpets Fade, (now THERE was a war film) Buck private survives against all the odds and is awarded a sergeantcy against his wishes. An officer cracks under the strain, significant scene with dog-tags, new sgt takes over five brand new replacements. All this was to be seen in WTF, and done far better. My other null points stance has to do with the infuriating hand held camera work in the action scenes. I know, I know, it's done to simulate the chaos and madness of battle,but GOD, it does my head in!! I want to see what's happening, the small unit tactics,(if any) how the guys are deployed etc. NOT wobble wobble, flash bang, run, jump, get down, get up and nobody knows what the HELL is happening. On a more positive note,although the 1 star guy denigrates the explosions and grenade action, with some justification - the grenade bursts were, in fact,a lot more realistic than in many films, where they explode like miniature atom bombs with great gouts of flame.Not so! fragmentation grenades explode with a brief flash and puff of smoke. Believe me, I know of what I speak. Perhaps I should mention the uniforms. They looked pretty authentic for the period, but they all seemed so NEW, as though just issued by the QM that day,not worn for weeks by guys living in fields and foxholes.

To sum up, if you're a war film fan, you could do worse than watch this on a wet Sunday afternoon. I didn;t buy it (thank God) I saw it on the box. I wont watch it again, whereas I've seen WTF at least 5 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH FILM, NOTHING BUT A LOAD OF RUBBISH, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
Nice packing, great picture on the case but the film is rubbish, slow, very little action I have thrown it in the bin it is not worth watching twice, don't buy it you will be wasting your money. I am 69 years old I have loads of war and western d.v.ds. and this is the worst one I have ever seen. crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Rhineland (2007) ... Chris Grega (Director) ... VCI Ent. (2011)", 28 Jan 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
88mm Productions presents "RHINELAND" (2007) (93 min/Color) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) -- Director Chris Grega was able to put it all together with an ambitious cast and some clever writing --- This is not a Hollywood film, but a small film company with some very impressive scenes of how it was during 1945.

Grega's solid direction and top notch acting with three main characters - Derek Simmons, R. Travis Estes and Paul Wendell paints a portrait of those WWII years -- The whole cast played well and made us a believe that they were going into the bowels of hell.

This director seems destined for bigger and better things --- Just a great film portraying the misery and confusion of war.

Under the production staff of:
Chris Grega [Director/Screenplay]
Andy Byrd [producer]
Robert Nolan Clark [Associate Producer]
Robin Garrels [Producer]
James Gianoulakis [Associate Producer]
George Hickenlooper [Executive producer]
Kevin Lenhert [Associate producer]
Bridget McGuire [Associate producer]
Butch Wyrick [Associate producer]
Shawn Donoho [Original Music]
Jaryd Wolfsberger [Cinematographer]
Scott Dorough [Film Editor]

Special Bonus Features:
1. Director & Actor Commentaries -
(Director Chris Grega, Actors Derek Simmons, Paul Wendell & R. Travis Estes)
2. The Making Of Rhineland
3. Deleted Scenes
4. Photo Gallery
5. Trailer
6. Bonus Short Film: "Capdance"

the cast includes:
Derek Simmons - Calvin Mayer
Paul Wendell - Sgt. Mike Bowen
Travis Estes - Lt. Frank Westman (as R. Travis Estes)
Brock Roberts - David Sorrenson
Robert Nolan Clark - Lindry (as Robert Clark)
Christopher Macke - Pastowski
James Gianoulakis - Candechi
Mike Feraro - Kildare
Elliot Book - Brown
Daniel Probst - Capt. Dale Wittenour (as Dan Probst)
Andy Byrd - Jack Parks, Medic (as Andrew Byrd)

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 4 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 4 Stars
Overall: 4 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 93 min on DVD ~ VCI Entertainment ~ (02/01/2011)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 31 Aug 2012
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
I think ANC is being more than a little harsh on this solid indie action drama. In a way I see his point, there are a mass of crap unwatchable war films on the market and if like me you buy any `war' film you too will know what he is saying, but to put this into that category is not accurate at all.

The colour tones of this film are very bleak, this is obviously intentional by the director who was trying to capture the horror and loneliness of war as felt by our main character, not down to budget constraints. The acting is good with a few exceptions, I wouldn't imagine for a second these guys are professional actors.

I thought the weaponary, battle scenes, attention to detail was spot on. Don't really have any opinion on the artwork, it's looks cool on my shelf, so that's good.

Against Saving Private Ryan or any other major studio product this would struggle, but as a standalone indie film with bags of heart I thought it was top notch. Would recommend to any war film buff, if you can live with the fact it's an indie film shot for probably thousands rather than even hundreds of thousands I think you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rineland, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
Shockingly a very bad film poor acting poor fight scenes everythink dont i repeat dont waste your money you will regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
Sorry been so long since I've watched it,I have forgotten what it's like,which for me,as I like a wary film,means I didn't think much of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly what I expected., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
The production of this film has a lot to be desired. The script was a little naff, I wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I suffered so you don't have to, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: Rhineland 1945 DVD (DVD)
Wooden acting, paintball style shootouts, 1 tank and DVD cover that should fall foul of advertising standards. Please use this hour and a bit to do something more useful with your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rhineland 1945 DVD
Rhineland 1945 DVD by Chris Grega (DVD - 2012)
4.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews