Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The full Monty, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
At last, a new live album by the elusive Mr Bill Nelson and what a gem it is too. This package has the full show on both audio cd and DVD, which is a better way to bring the show to those of us who could not make it. I had read about how Bill was less than happy with the situation, the lack of rehearsal time, the haste with which the project was put together, the less than satisfactory conditions during the show etc........but none of this is even remotely apparent. This is a superb collection of career spanning tunes delivered by a first class team of musicians.

This set has 2 audio cds, the first being the song based material going right across his career, and then a second one featuring 4 instrumental tracks featuring some jawdropping guitar work, as good as any I have heard from Bill to date. The band put together for this gig is top notch and links this music to that of Robert Fripp and Gong via the presence of Theo Travis, a man who makes a distinctive and uplifting contribution to the proceedings, his solos being of a standard similar to that of Bill himself.

They tackle older songs and really get the best out of them as if they had been playing together for years. I was going to name a few tracks that really stand out, but could not pick any as the album is really a collection of highlghts, not a duff track anywhere here. All killer, no filler.

The sound of the live show on the 2 cds is nothing less than first class. It sounds like a live show and everything is really well mixed so that every performer can clearly be heard. In my opinion every live dvd ought to come with the same show on cd so that it can be listened to elsewhere away from the telly. The tapes have been remixed from the multitrack recordings by Bill Nelson and John Spence, so you know it is going to be good.

The DVD is the same as the recently deleted DVD, so in essence this is the winning package between this and the first issue. The last time I saw Bill Nelson on the telly was way back when the mighty Red Noise were on The Old Grey Whistle Test. So this is another really good show, great to see Bill out there delivering the goods, and it all serves to remind me that I missed a killer gig :-(

At 10 this is a no brainer for anyone who has even a passing interest in Bill Nelson across his Be Bop Deluxe/Red Noise/solo output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What beautiful guitars!, 6 Jun 2012
By 
J. Newland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I adored 'Live in the Air Age'; but that was way back in 1977. Where have you been Mr Nelson all these years?

This is simply magnificent; from the very start, to the all too soon to arrive: finish. Don't ignore CD2, and do let the DVD run to include these solo tracks; it is worth it.

I would start your first listen with a good look at the DVD (headphones on and LOUD). "They told me it was going to be intimate, but this is erotic" says Bill. Sums it up. Oh, and for those that like exotic, and rather unusual guitars: this is for you.

Slippy-bass, and fluid-flute combine with sexy-sax, and stonking-drums, and melodic-piano; to produce one of the best live recordings of any artist I have experienced.

Magnificent!

Bravo Bill Nelson & the Gentlemen Rocketeers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars National Treasure!, 15 Jun 2012
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Jaw dropping performance from master craftsman - killer tunes with killer licks from a back catalogue the Devil himself would envy. Maid in Heaven indeed. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite brilliant!, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
This is marvellous, if you have ever liked Bill's work with Be Bop Deluxe or subsequently you have to get this. There is no point reviewing it track by track, just buy it, absolutely superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DO YOU DREAM IN COLOUR MADE IN HEAVEN NOT WITHOUT A BOOKLET!!!, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
This usually reliable label has fallen short this time.by not suppling a booklet,however the excellent Bill Nelson rides over the horizon to save the day,with tracks from all aspects of his carreer
The first time i saw Be BOp Deluxe at the Hammersmith Odeon,The support act was Lenny Henry,whatever happend to him?

CD ONE(72,27)
"The October man"is a slighly heavy sounding tune with a solid bacbeat that just drives the peice along,a good starter,great sax solo.
"Night creatures"is a slower paced song,it is vety competantly performed song.
"God man slain"another mid paced song,with great lyrics,this band know what they are doing.the sax player sounds like Clarence Clemmons,which is no bad thing.
"Contemplation"is Bill in his ambient guitar phase,leading into a rockier section,at nine minutes long this is good stuff.
"Lady you're a strange girl"another excellent slice of Northern rock.
"Adventures in a Yorkshire Landscape"vintage Nelson from the early days,and is extremly good.
"Furniture music" A Be Bop classic,this sounds like talking heads.
"Do you dream in colour"i certainly do!
"Ships in the night" a great version of one of Be Bop Deluxes very biggest hits "Like a square peg in a round hole" as Bill would say "We are both ships in the night" great song with great lyrics.
"Lovers are mortal" so is this song.
"Maid in heaven"An excellent performance.by all concerned.
"Sister seagull"This is one of my Favourite Be Bop Tracks,features some of Nelsons best playing and lyrics.
"Wonder of the moment"this is a quiter track featuring Theo Travis on flute,sounds strangely reminiscent of Jethro Tull.
"Panic in the world"another Be Bop magic moment.extended to nearly seven minutes of great rocking music.

CD TWO(23.36)
"Beyond these clouds the sweetest dream"a short electronic track reminiscent in feel to Fleetwood Macs "Albatross" A lovely tune ,well played.
"Golden dreams of circus horses" this is amore upbeat electronic bass led piece with nice percussion,very much in the spirit of "Fourty Thousand headmen"by Traffic.
"A dream for Jan"Is a "Samba Pa Ti"Santana sound alike
"For Stuart" Another thoughtful,moving instrumental to end this highly enjoyable set.
If it wereN>T for the missing booklet this would score a cracking *****,but mistakes happen so thats why it is a four star rating.

DVD(2.01.22)

NO BOOKLET SUPPLIED SO NO MUSICIAN DETAILS EXCEPT
BILL NELSON......GUITAR,VOCALS
THEO TRAVIS.....SAXOPHONE,FLUTES

RELEASED 2012
UNION SQUARE RECORDS

CD ONE.....1.12.27
CD TWO......0.23.36
DVD......2.01.22

BEST TRACK "GOLDEN DREAMS FOR CIRCUS HORSES""THE OCTOBER MAN""ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE""MADE IN HEAVEN"PANIC IN THE WORLD""SISTER SEAGULL"
VALUE FOR MONEY **** *
PACKAGING......FOUR FOLD OUT DIGI PAK WITH THREE PLASTIC TRAYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class is permanent., 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of Bebop Deluxe in the 70s i must admit i only recently started listening to Mr Nelson again.Lo and behold this 2 Cd + Dvd pack is an excellent introduction or retrospective of anyone wishing to hear what must be one of the truly great guitarists of all time.An excellent purchase and well worth every penny.I look forward to seeing Bill (and hopefully the rocketers) live in concert very soon.If your debating your purchase then i would urge you not to.Get it bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious!!, 18 Jun 2014
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
When I read that Bill Nelson was not going to benefit from this release, I must admit that I had every intention of avoiding buying it - but, I love the songs, the voice and the sublime guitar playing of the man that, in the end, I succumbed - and I have to say that I agree pretty much with every sentiment written by all the other reviewers who have had this glorious package in their collection for the last couple of years.
As founding member of the wonderful BeBop Deluxe and as an even more astounding solo artist (although sadly, not playing live as much as he did with BeBop) he has become almost a recluse for quite a number of years - so to be able to get my hands onto this double CD / DVD package has brought back all those fantastic memories of the concerts I attended as a youngster. And has he lost it? Not a bit of it, powerful and precise from the opening notes to the finale and as for the voice - not a waver....he may look a lot older, but he's at the top of his game and the display from Bill and the band is pure joy to listen to and watch! An overview of his musical highlights are pretty much all here so that whether you are an afficianado of Bill and his various guises then there is plenty here for you - and if you are unaware of the man's capabilities, then you have a whole new world to open up and a perfect place to start backtracking from!
I cannot recommend this more highly - it's just a shame that the man himself, due to circumstances, doesn't benefit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this set. Mr. Nelson does not get a royalty payment., 1 Nov 2013
By 
Colin Sumby "seesum" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I bought this set, a really wonderful set of a great artist in fine form, only to find out from the man himself that he makes no royalty on this set at all. The company that arranged and recorded the event went bust leaving Mr. Nelson out of pocket. To compound matters, the master tapes were bought by a second company and released as you see it here. All monies generated by the sale of this item disappear into the coffers of the company without a dime making it's way to Bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Contains Real Musicians, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Bill Nelson is true one-off. You can't just learn to play like that, it has to be 'in you', and as this superb live CD/DVD set proves, boy is it in Bill Nelson.

I'm a late-comer to the party, having only dicovered his work a couple of years ago via the astonishing Be Bop Deluxe 'Futurist Manifesto' box set. Prior to that I had only been dimly aware of him from his ill-fated 'collaboration' on Gary Numan's 'Warriors' album, but I am now very keen to investigate his solo work.

But where to start?

Well, here.

Whilst this set includes sparkling renditions of some known-and-loved Be Bop Deluxe classics, it also cherry-picks material from Bill Nelson's entire solo career and makes a first rate sampler for a newcomer like me. But obviously it's much more than that...the Gentleman Rocketeers are a group of excellent musicians (especially the superb drummer) and complement Nelson's jaw-dropping guitar perfectly. A good mix of material too...some laid back grooves and ambient meanderings nicely temper the rockier moments, of which there are many...and oh, those solos...always tasteful, never too showy, masterfully delivered, they just draw you in. Wonderful.

Every Bill Nelson fan on the planet will buy this set (and rightly so) but I would thoroughly recommend it to the more causal listener too, as it provides a neat insight into what we might find if we dig a little further. And I for one cannot wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Forgotten One, 14 May 2013
By 
Doyle (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
In the 70's, Bill Nelson and Be Bop Deluxe sort of passed me by. I vaguely recall seeing them on TOTP doing Ships in the night, but at the time, I was probably recovering from an unfortunate dalliance with the Sweet AND....UH....Gary Glitter, and in the process of discovering Thin Lizzy and Led Zep. Fast forward to 1979 and Red Noise on the Old Grey Whistle test...Yeah, very interesting....very different, but bypassed again. Bill was feted as a 'musicians musician' often mentioned in the same breath as Nils Lofgren, who also ploughed his own brilliantly idiosyncratic furrow, but not until I recently downloaded the Be Bop track 'Adventures in a Yorkshire landscape and .....WOW!! The lightbulb flashed into life.
In 'Live in Concert' Bill ambles on stage through the crowd to join a classy 7 piece band onstage and for about 2 hours he ignites Be Bop classic such as Ships .... Sister Seagull and the aforementioned Adventures, as well as Red Noise Furniture music and solo classics Do you Dream in Colour? His guitar shimmers, howls, taunts teases with Grace, beauty, passion, aggression throughout. A Masterclass in superb songs, top class musicianship and a consummate and assured performance. I wonder how I've missed out for so long on this amazing player. It's a MUST BUY and at 10 for a 2CD /1DVD package its a steal!!

I didn't mention the bonus features on the second CD, 4 exquisite and beautiful instrumental tracks, including a moving tribute to the late Great and sorely missed Stuart Adamson of Big Country. Superb Stuff. Hope its still out there at a bargain Price for you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD]
Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] by Bill Nelson (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews