Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2012
I've just got this DVD & CD and have watched it for the first time. The blurb says that Harper mesmerised the audience and I can absolutely see that - I wish I'd been there to experience it first hand, because Harper is still in good voice and his guitar skills are as good as ever. At seventy!

The song selection is varied, with a good mix of old favourites and newer songs in there. Anyone who likes Roy Harper should have this. It's a bargain at a tenner!

At the end of Another Day, the camera panned to the audience and there's a middle-aged bloke there with tears streaming down his face. No shame in that. It shows the power of Harper's performance of a great song.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
Fantastic in every way - I've always thought Roy Harper is at his very best sitting alone with a guitar in a live setting - and it is wonderful to hear him sounding so fresh and in such great form at 70 (ish). Some old favourites and some less well known stuff - all sung with real conviction. Although he tries hard not to, he can't resist a bit of his oddball humour too. This took me back over 45 years or so of memories - more please!!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Not just another greatest hits show but it shows just how great a treasure Roy is to the world. &0 years old and sounding just as good as 20 years ago. If you have Once, you know the show. There's only one grade to put on any RH show - excellent.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
What an excellent recording!
I have followed Roy's career from beginning to present. He is beyond doubt England's greatest songwriter and has written a stream of brilliant songs, ranging from cutting and incisive social comment to the most beautiful love songs. A number of both these genres are featured on here.
Roy's live performances do not always transfer easily to record. He often treats a performance as a meeting of friends in his front room full of chat and digression that some people find irritating and others find absorbing. The performance can ramble delightfully. At other times, when he is being recorded, I often think the limitations of restraining himself create a more stilted performance. He doesn't appear at ease. So it was with some trepidation that I bought this. I have all the tracks on studio albums and in live performance. I wasn't expecting a great deal. However, the performance is tight, Roy sounds relaxed and the songs are powerfully brought to life. His voice and playing are at the top of his game. I haven't stopped playing it.
Roy is someone who has never received the recognition he deserves. That is probably because he is such an individual. He has never played the show-biz game.
With the renewed interest in his music perhaps that is about to change and he will be lauded as he deserves.
This album is a collection of songs ranging across his full career. There isn't a weak performance in sight. Well done Roy. It's a joy to listen to!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I've been a fan of Roy's since the early 70's and I've seen him many times live. This DVD / CD shows him at his best interacting with the audience and playing some of his greatest songs. The DVD also includes an interview with Roy. I only wish the 1972 feature film, Made, with him in a starring role was available on DVD, but I believe all copies of the film was destroyed.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
What a trully remarkable concert. Wish I could have been there. Plays all the songs you wanted to hear with classic banter in between them....enjoy!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
If ever testimony was needed that Roy Harper is a genius then here it is. A mesmerising concert of profound and beautiful songs in a great performance. Roy is arguably the greatest and most poetic of English songwriters. He has always been his own man and that may explain his relative lack of fame and popularity. There is a fascinating interview where he explains that the writing of a song begins and ends with a tear; that's how he knows when to write and when a song is finished. His intention has always been to achieve timelessness in his art. Certainly masterpieces like 'Another Day' and 'Twelve Hours of Sunset' and 'When an Old Cricketer Leaves the Crease' are both in their time and transcend their time. Genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
He absolutely loves it, not much more I can say about it. He's now on the look out for more Roy Harper
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
Roy Harper brilliant as always. Every Harper fan should have this in their collection . Once more he proves that he is a master of the guitar and a true poet.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
'Always like Roy Harper and this DVD/CD is good if not stunning in its content. Sound is just a bit lacking in depth on both CD and DVD but nice to have alongside other classic Harper stuff....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.67

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)