Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD & CD set.
I've just got this DVD & CD and have watched it for the first time. The blurb says that Harper mesmerised the audience and I can absolutely see that - I wish I'd been there to experience it first hand, because Harper is still in good voice and his guitar skills are as good as ever. At seventy!

The song selection is varied, with a good mix of old favourites and...
Published on 15 Aug. 2012 by Dave & Gwen Grinnell

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still At The Crease
Roy is one among that generation of singer-songwriters who laboured under the tiresome conviction that they had some precious insight denied to the workaday multitudes, could peer further into the cluttered cupboard of human culture and that, as a consequence, their opinions are of especial interest. So Roy's live performances can often be an exercise in endurance where...
Published on 19 Sept. 2012 by Doublecross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD & CD set., 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I've just got this DVD & CD and have watched it for the first time. The blurb says that Harper mesmerised the audience and I can absolutely see that - I wish I'd been there to experience it first hand, because Harper is still in good voice and his guitar skills are as good as ever. At seventy!

The song selection is varied, with a good mix of old favourites and newer songs in there. Anyone who likes Roy Harper should have this. It's a bargain at a tenner!

At the end of Another Day, the camera panned to the audience and there's a middle-aged bloke there with tears streaming down his face. No shame in that. It shows the power of Harper's performance of a great song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy performing at his best!, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
What an excellent recording!
I have followed Roy's career from beginning to present. He is beyond doubt England's greatest songwriter and has written a stream of brilliant songs, ranging from cutting and incisive social comment to the most beautiful love songs. A number of both these genres are featured on here.
Roy's live performances do not always transfer easily to record. He often treats a performance as a meeting of friends in his front room full of chat and digression that some people find irritating and others find absorbing. The performance can ramble delightfully. At other times, when he is being recorded, I often think the limitations of restraining himself create a more stilted performance. He doesn't appear at ease. So it was with some trepidation that I bought this. I have all the tracks on studio albums and in live performance. I wasn't expecting a great deal. However, the performance is tight, Roy sounds relaxed and the songs are powerfully brought to life. His voice and playing are at the top of his game. I haven't stopped playing it.
Roy is someone who has never received the recognition he deserves. That is probably because he is such an individual. He has never played the show-biz game.
With the renewed interest in his music perhaps that is about to change and he will be lauded as he deserves.
This album is a collection of songs ranging across his full career. There isn't a weak performance in sight. Well done Roy. It's a joy to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy Harper at his best, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Bill Krohn "Bill Krohns Boulevard Records" (Richland, Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Not just another greatest hits show but it shows just how great a treasure Roy is to the world. &0 years old and sounding just as good as 20 years ago. If you have Once, you know the show. There's only one grade to put on any RH show - excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 2 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Fantastic in every way - I've always thought Roy Harper is at his very best sitting alone with a guitar in a live setting - and it is wonderful to hear him sounding so fresh and in such great form at 70 (ish). Some old favourites and some less well known stuff - all sung with real conviction. Although he tries hard not to, he can't resist a bit of his oddball humour too. This took me back over 45 years or so of memories - more please!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend Live in concert, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
What a trully remarkable concert. Wish I could have been there. Plays all the songs you wanted to hear with classic banter in between them....enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's still got it., 26 Feb. 2013
By 
J. Burtenshaw (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Roy's since the early 70's and I've seen him many times live. This DVD / CD shows him at his best interacting with the audience and playing some of his greatest songs. The DVD also includes an interview with Roy. I only wish the 1972 feature film, Made, with him in a starring role was available on DVD, but I believe all copies of the film was destroyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 73 not out and still scoring runs, 22 April 2015
By 
Mr. Geoffrey M. Teece "gmteece2" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
If ever testimony was needed that Roy Harper is a genius then here it is. A mesmerising concert of profound and beautiful songs in a great performance. Roy is arguably the greatest and most poetic of English songwriters. He has always been his own man and that may explain his relative lack of fame and popularity. There is a fascinating interview where he explains that the writing of a song begins and ends with a tear; that's how he knows when to write and when a song is finished. His intention has always been to achieve timelessness in his art. Certainly masterpieces like 'Another Day' and 'Twelve Hours of Sunset' and 'When an Old Cricketer Leaves the Crease' are both in their time and transcend their time. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy Live in concert, 10 July 2012
By 
Ms. G. Haigh "Just Gilly" (Lytham St annes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Roy Harper brilliant as always. Every Harper fan should have this in their collection . Once more he proves that he is a master of the guitar and a true poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present for hubbie, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
He absolutely loves it, not much more I can say about it. He's now on the look out for more Roy Harper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good if Not Exceptional...., 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
'Always like Roy Harper and this DVD/CD is good if not stunning in its content. Sound is just a bit lacking in depth on both CD and DVD but nice to have alongside other classic Harper stuff....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD]
Live In Concert At Metropolis Studios [CD+DVD] by Roy Harper (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews