Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Unsentimental erotic drama..."
Polish screenwriter, producer and director Malgorzata Szumowska`s fourth feature film which she co-wrote with Danish French-based psychoanalyst, journalist and screenwriter Tine Byrckel and co-produced, is somewhat based on stories from real-life prostitutes which the director met as part of her research. It premiered in the Special Presentations section at the 36th...
Published 23 months ago by Sindri

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No more than high average
Fairly predictable after the first fifteen minutes The words"Engaging, personal, uncomfortalable haunting and terrifyingly real
are something of an excess.
Published 16 months ago by charles dales


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Unsentimental erotic drama...", 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elles [DVD] (DVD)
Polish screenwriter, producer and director Malgorzata Szumowska`s fourth feature film which she co-wrote with Danish French-based psychoanalyst, journalist and screenwriter Tine Byrckel and co-produced, is somewhat based on stories from real-life prostitutes which the director met as part of her research. It premiered in the Special Presentations section at the 36th Toronto International Film Festival in 2011, was screened in the Spotlight section at the 11th Tribeca Film Festival in 2012, in the Panorama section at the 62nd Berlin International Film Festival in 2012 and is a Poland-France-Germany co-production which was shot in Paris, France and Cologne, Germany and produced by Danish-French producer Marianne Slot. It tells the story about a journalist for the worldwide fashion magazine Elle named Anne who lives in Paris, France with her husband named Patrick and their two adolescent sons named Florent and Stephane. Anne is doing an article about female student prostitution and is enlightened when she meets a French woman named Charlotte and a Polish woman named Alicja who explicitly tells her about their experiences with their clients.

Finely and intimately directed by Polish filmmaker Malgorzata Szumowska, this quietly paced fictional tale which is narrated from the viewpoints of a driven reporter and two young call girls, draws a somewhat engaging portrayal of a middle-aged woman who after getting to know and becoming intrigued by a lifestyle that is very foreign to that of her own, begins to care more about the theme of her article than her own family. While notable for its at times atmospheric, bleak and mostly interior milieu depictions, fine production design by production designer Pauline Bourdon and cinematography by Polish cinematographer Michal Englert, this character-driven and dialog-driven independent film depicts a dense study of character and contains a good score by Polish composer Pawel Mykietin.

This at times graphic and as intended dispassionate and unattractive story about young women who supports their high-class lifestyles by pleasing the repulsive sexual fantasies of mostly married male clients who are old enough to be their fathers and how their stories and perceptions of their chosen profession affects an outsider`s view on them and her own way of life, is impelled and reinforced by its fragmented narrative structure, subtle character development, multiple viewpoints, evasive characters and the credible acting performances by French actress Juliette Binoche, Polish actress Joanna Kulig, French actress Anaïs Demoustier and French screenwriter, director and actor Louis-Do de Lencquesaing. This unsentimental erotic drama where the suspense is centered on whether or not the protagonist`s fascination and empathy for the sex workers will seduce and instigate her to risk losing her family, commendably attempts to create new perspectives on a theme that has been thoroughly examined in many other fictional and non-fictional feature films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In no way glorifying prostitution, 10 Oct 2013
By 
WHITLAM (leafy Clapham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elles [DVD] (DVD)
The two interviewees of the frustrated housewife journalist played by Binoche appear to enjoy their escort role. We see them with various partners, in fairly steamy , confusingly erotic, scenes. Binoche clearly finds both girls fascinating and highly intelligent . Neither can really accept Binoche's opening assumption, that the girls' role must of necessity be degrading. Binoche gets increasingly captivated by their lives and sick of her own. But there are two significant glimpses of the girls which show their role in its degrading glory. Their relationships with their real boyfriends and mother, are also shown as casualties of their life choices. As an English speaker I found the drama fully engaging, the language an interesting study of interview technique. The acting is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elles [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent and explicit film , showing a womens take on prostitution . Binoche is of course brilliant as the journalist who interviews 2 student escort girls and then finds her attitude to her own sex put under the spot light . This film is neither bleak nor titilating and all the acting seems extremely natural . One of my favourite films of the year .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No more than high average, 14 May 2013
By 
charles dales (Lincoln England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elles [DVD] (DVD)
Fairly predictable after the first fifteen minutes The words"Engaging, personal, uncomfortalable haunting and terrifyingly real
are something of an excess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How The Two Meet, 17 Sep 2012
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Juliette Binoche (The English Patient [1996] [Blu-ray], Three Colours Blue [DVD] [1993]) stars as Anne, an investigative journalist on the hunt for finding the truth about things. In her latest exposé she is looking into prostitution within students, and finds two girls quite happy to tell her what goes on (Charlotte (Anaïs Demoustier) and Alicja (Joanna Kulig)). She finds out shocking things she wouldn't expect in her life - and how the girls manage it, and still keep going to university at the same time. Anne discovers her life isn't as straight forward either, and she's lacking something.

It's quite an interesting film, though it is quite difficult to get into, as it's slow, and it's development does take a long time. Both Anaïs and Joanna are both good actors, and of course Juliette gives us a stirling performance. Some people may ask though, what separates this from porn and just a film though, and yes, that is a good question, as there are some scenes you'd normally get on a porn movie, though I don't think you could really get excited over this movie as it's not done glamorously and even at times it's quite cringe worthy.

The sound on this was excellent, with a good mix and sounds coming from all angles, the dialogue is well mixed too. The picture is good, clear and well coloured.

Altogether this is an interesting film, but I don't think I'd actually buy it as it has no come back features to it, once you've seen it, you've seen it. There's no fascinating moment where you think I really need to see that again, simply because it's slow and the progression can be minimal.

Watch out for François Civil, I can see him being a star in a few years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like J. Binoche you will enjoy her in this., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elles [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film, Juliette Binoche is as terrific as ever. The story is a slow evolving one which draws you in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Middle Class Hypocrisy Writ Large, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Elles (DVD)
Very well done, poignant and at times virtually unwatchable film about a horrible subject, interwoven with the lies and fakery of french middle class life. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very french, no discernible narrative structure (beginning-middle-end), 7 April 2013
This review is from: Elles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The story sort of plops out in front of you like crap from a camels arse - messy, unplanned and not particularly dignified. I think the individual characters were pretty good in places, but the aimlessness of it all just destroyed all that. I didn't set out to hate this film and despite my quip at it being 'very french' I am a fan of the genre. I just didn't enjoy this film and I think that 3 stars represents a fair assessment for something that I just didn't get.

Maybe, it's my western brain wanting there to be a discernible narrative to join all those loose unrelated events together; maybe I'm too uptight to let go of the idea that the protagonist is supposed to take you on a journey (emotional, physical, metaphorical), an idea that seams to have escaped this film's attention; or maybe I didn't like it because there's better out there, Q, Ken Park, and dare I say it, Exterminating Angels, to name just a few.

Watch it by all means, but rent it, netflix it, or watch it on tv, or wait until it's under £7 on amazon as it I'm sure there'll be a few second hand copies flying about in the not too distant future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elles, 23 July 2014
By 
Mr. Brian Peter Hammond (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elles [DVD] (DVD)
Have not watched it all yet but it seems very good so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 31 Aug 2014
This review is from: Elles (DVD)
Watchable, but nothing to get too excited about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elles [DVD]
Elles [DVD] by Malgorzata Szumowska (DVD - 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews