Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great film, badly cut. (5 stars for the original)
This is a real guy film.
Once again, Willis is back in is his role of the uncompromising, street wise, no nonsense New York cop, John McClane. But this time, McClane is partnered up with an unwitting, Samuel L Jackson. Yes, OK it is starting to smell like another Lethal Weapon movie, but wait, there’s more.
Along comes Jeremy Irons, who for me, and I am a...
Published on 27 Oct 2003 by el_zomba

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still a great movie, Still cut to bits.
Even after 15 years it's still a great movie, But sadly this edition is still the UK cut version. Vault, Lift and chain scenes are still heavily edited and some bad language is dubbed with the lesser offensive words.

One other thing is they removed all mention of 20th Century Fox, No logo on the dvd menus or at the start of the movie, they even removed it from...
Published on 29 April 2010 by Zeoranger


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard with a Vengence is in HD in the UK, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Lee J. Ridgard (Chesterfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This product is region B encoded as it has been released in Australia so this is defiantly an import which is likely the reason for the price being a little steep.
However who knows how long it could be until Buena Vista decide to release this film on BD as they on the UK distribution rights not 20th Century Fox so it might be worth paying this price just to get your hands on it sooner rather than later.
In my opinion this is the second best in the Quad-Trilogy well worth the purchase.

Synopsis:

Bruce Willis returns as detective John McClane (Bruce Willis), who as always, is in the wrong place at the wrong time. In this adrenalin charged, action-packed thriller, things aren't going well for John McClane: his marriage is breaking up, he's been suspended from the force and now the brother of Hans Gruber, the German terrorist he threw off a building a few years back, is threatening to blow up a school if McClane doesn't run around the city solving his demeaning and dangerous puzzles. With the help of Zeus (Samuel L. Jackson), a Harlem electrician, McClane discovers Gruber's plot to distract the NYPD while he clears the federal bank of billions of dollars of gold.

Here are the special features contained within this Blu-ray release I believe they are exactly the same as the ones on two disc special edition DVD version.

* Commentary by Director John McTiernan, Writer Jonathan Hensleigh and Film Executive Tom Sherak
* Personal Scene Selection
* Trailers: Die Hard, Die Hard 2: Die Harder, Die Hard 4 and Alien vs Predator
* Alternate ending with optional commentary by Jonathan Hensleigh
* HBO First Look
* CBS: A Night To Die For
* Featurette
* Bruce Willis Interview
* Villains with a Vengeance
* Visual Effects Breakdowns
* Side by Side Comparisons
* Storyboard Sequence
* Easter Egg: Gag Reel
* Trailers
* TV Spots

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definite improvement over the DVD, 2 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like all the Die Hard Films, and was so desperate to get DH3 on Bluray that I ordered it from Australia here, only took 8 days to arrive so very pleased.

It works fine on my PS3, so no problems with region coding (i.e. it is region B).

As for the Bluray transfer itself.....

First off, audio is offered on DTS HD which sounds pretty good. There is more sound coming from the rear speakers than on the DVD version and voices are clear, with some nice subwoofer bass being used where appropriate.

The video transfer is far better than the DVD (which was awful), but there is still a lot of grain in the picture, although colours are brighter and sharper. Overall I am not 'massively' impressed by the picture quality, it certainly won't blow you away and is not what I would call a 'bluray experience', it is more like a good DVD picture than a Bluray. Having said that it is a huge improvement on the DVD, and given the age of the film is not too shabby.

So, to sum up this bluray is an improvement over the DVD and Die Hard 3 is a great film, but don't expect the hi-def experience you get with more modern films on Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very big thanks for the great quality of box and blu-ray, 11 July 2014
Hi!
A Very big thanks for the great quality of box and blu-ray. See you in next orders. :)
Vladimir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film but could not get in to it as it kept freezing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brief review of DVD, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bruce Willis looks a bit older in this one, but still puts on a good show.

There is plenty of action and swearing as you would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too long, I started eating rice cakes with Tipperary blue cheese from Lidl and there were 9/11 refrences and Jeremy's bad accent, 4 May 2014
Die Hard is rubbish, be honest but it can be entertaining rubbish all the same. I don't mind Brooce Willis as I do most Hollywood actors. Sam Jackson is an Oreo cookie who does what his white masters tell him, at least in this he wasn't doing his usual OTT black thug - I'm playing up to a racial stereotype - thing like he does in Tarantino's rubbish films. This film is too long by about 30 minutes. I fast forwarded a bit at the end because I was getting bored with it. Some of the action sequences are ok but nothing amazing. Jeremy Irons' accent is totally rubbish and kind of wastes him as he can be a good actor. Willis' commander seemed a real wimp and unbelievable. The film had CONSTANT BACKGROUND MUSIC which is the sign of a bad director who tries to distract you at how poor the dialogue is and that muzack is TOO LOUD. I like the Blondie one who said nothing and looked like she would give you a good spanking, played by Colleen something. The film is ok but too long. It's a pity that the Oreo cookie was in it and not Eddie Murphy or Mike Tyson. I would not pay more than 1 for this film, including postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic film good value for money its one of those films you want to watch over and over
and I do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely thrilling. A lot better the 4.0 and in a completely different class compare to " a good day to die hard"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this pre-owned DVD to complete the set of Die Hard Films. Just as enjoyable as the others - action-packed, fast moving great entertainment and re-watchable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray is UNCUT, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die Hard 3: Die Hard with a Vengeance [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
First off there are different reviews on here saying Die Hard with a Vengeance is still cut on UK Blu-ray - it is not. I've had the uncut Region 1 DVD for years and now having compared it to the UK Blu-ray I can confirm it is uncut: there's more profanity put back in, more blood in the elevator shoot-out and knife scene. If there were any cuts remaining I sure couldn't spot them. Great film, great transfer, great sound.
NB: I watched the film as part of the Die Hard Legacy Boxset - I can't account for the stand alone release but logic dictates they would match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Die Hard 3: Die Hard with a Vengeance [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews