Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rio Grande Mud is Remixed!
The music in this set is ofcourse classic and of excellent quality. Im not going to review each album, this is mainly to state that while Tres Hombres, Fandango, Deguello and Eliminator are the original versions with good quality remastering, unfortunately Rio Grande Mud is the tampered with 80's CD release remix with added reverb. This really ruins the album in my...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Stuart Tacey

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comes up short
These collections are always tempting, but these aren't the first five albums. This box set is a mix of their albums from the early 70s to the early 80s, leaving out their self titled first album, and skipping on Tejas and El Loco to get to their highly popular Eliminator (1983), which for most ZZ Top fans was the beginning of the end. Just for fun, I hunted amazon...
Published 24 months ago by James Ferguson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rio Grande Mud is Remixed!, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Stuart Tacey "Stuart Tacey" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
The music in this set is ofcourse classic and of excellent quality. Im not going to review each album, this is mainly to state that while Tres Hombres, Fandango, Deguello and Eliminator are the original versions with good quality remastering, unfortunately Rio Grande Mud is the tampered with 80's CD release remix with added reverb. This really ruins the album in my opinion, the drums sound weak and the vocals have a weird echo to them. Apparenestly, this was done after Eliminator was released for the 1st CD version to "update the sound" of the classic ZZ Top albums to the 80's sound of Eliminator and Afterburner. All it achieves is making a mockery of and ruining the original sound. I don't understand why they kept the inferior remix for this album and Tres Hombres, Fandango and Deguello are the true original mixes. The title of this set is misleading. Rio Grande Mud is NOT the original album as released in 1972!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent VFM, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
5 albums at this price. What's not to like? If this doesn't have you up and boogieing you're already dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comes up short, 25 Oct 2012
By 
James Ferguson (Vilnius, Lithuania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
These collections are always tempting, but these aren't the first five albums. This box set is a mix of their albums from the early 70s to the early 80s, leaving out their self titled first album, and skipping on Tejas and El Loco to get to their highly popular Eliminator (1983), which for most ZZ Top fans was the beginning of the end. Just for fun, I hunted amazon marketplace for the first five CDs, and came up with pretty much the same price. Or, you can save your money and buy their classic Live in Germany 1980, which covers the best of their early work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
I have been a fan since the 70,s and this album series on cd is an easy and compact way of upgrading my old LPS while still able to keep the original albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab value, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
What can you say about good ol fashioned rock at this price! Eliminator still "tops" for me. Maybe the others will grow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars birthday present, 22 April 2013
By 
Honeybee (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
I got this for my other half as part of his birthday present. he loved it. Very reasonable for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent vaule, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
The sounds is good, the classic original series always work wonders. These albums are an amazing piece of work from a true blues/rock band so worth buying!

I have two of the ZZ Top albums already but it worked out cheaper to get this set than the three albums on the thier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ZZ Top at their best., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
Had heard most of these CDs before and they lived up to my memories of them. A couple I hadn't heard and they were okay too.The original cover photos are a good idea but the lack of sleeve notes is an irritation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Sep 2014
By 
MR M HARRIGAN (Royston, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
Great value & a fine legacy from ZZ Top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before the big beards and beenie hats, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Original Album Series [5-Pack] (Audio CD)
I bought this set purely on the inclusion of some of the earlier cd's. In particular Fandango which is still in the Vinyl collection. Tre Hombres and Rio Grande Mud are excellant rock albums with Frank Beard showing a classy funky approach to his drumming which was largely ignored in the eighties period in favour of that awful drum sound which was so fasionable then. Deguello another Vinyl favourite is a trite subdued when played after Fandango but I still love "Cheap Sunglasses" and "Fool for your Stockings". Eliminator is radio friendly and probably signalled the end of my love for the band. For anyone wishing to hear classic ZZ Top buy this and play all the albums (except Eliminator) at full volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series [5-Pack]
Original Album Series [5-Pack] by ZZ Top (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews