Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars America the beautiful, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Five classic albums for the price of one; if you've yet to discover America you can hardly go wrong. Despite some periodic resurgences during a remarkably prolonged, if ultimately patchy, career, most of their best moments are represented in these early albums including the surprisingly under-appreciated third album "Hat Trick" containing such gems as "Wind Wave", "Rainbow Song" and "She's Gonna Let You Down".

Always more effective as a trio whilst Dan Peek was still on board, those glorious vocal harmonies sound as fresh as ever with Dewey Bunnell the pick of the three vocalists. But Bunnell's talents as a vocalist and guitarist always topped his ability as a lyricist, and decades later one still winces at lines such as "And cause never was the reason for the evening, Or the tropic of Sir Galahad" ("Tin Man").

And yes, Gerry Beckley's vocals are still sometimes more sugary than a two-litre bottle of cheap lemonade, but overall this is a fine collection of the best work of one of soft rock's most durable bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, great for the car, 23 Nov. 2012
By 
Abstract (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I've only ever really listened to Horse with No Name and Ventura Highway before now, but at the price I thought I'd delve into a little more of America by getting this little pack.

I've not been disappointed.

Admittedly the two tracks mentioned remain the stand-out tracks, but maybe I'm getting mellow in my old age: The rest of it is easy on the ears. The harmonies evoke Crosby Stills and Nash but with out the bite. You can let it wash over you or listen carefully and feel the West Coast beckon.

The packaging is compact and cardboard. Nothing to write home about and will I'm sure rapidly deteriorate with use. It's just each cd in a sleeve within a slim card box. But using an MP3 player reduces the need for handling it. It can sit prettily on the shelf without taking up loads of space and technology does the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was always more than a Horse with No Name, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Tagged as CSN & Neil Young soundalikes America have always suffered from this comparison. Here their first five records are now released in one pack, providing great value but not sure about the packaging and sleeves. But the music is pretty fine from their mainly acoustic debut in 72 to about 75 Hearts where you can you hear the MOR influence that diluted the initial sound. Although they spent much of the 80s & 90s in MOR land their last record with Fountains of Wayne & Ryan Adams showed all was not lost. If you don't have any America records then start here. Dan Peek passed away last year and this is a fitting tribute to the original trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great value, 24 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. I. Ringstead "Happy Chappy" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Poor cardboard packaging but otherwise great value.A good way to hear their early stuff without breaking the bank and worth investing in if a fan who doesn't already have the albums or got rid of their vinyl years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was A great band, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This is a great release, it include America's 5 first LP's, the first 3 are produced by the band and are folk/country/rock as good as it comes, reminds of CSN and hit more than miss, the last two are more commecial, and strive to deliver hits, still these are the best commercial albums by America, they did some more songs but never were as good as in these 5 LP's. Many songs, and not only A Horse with No Name (Remastered Album Version) are memorable and gets into the listener.

You can actually follow the path of the band through the covers, in the first cover they look like hippies still in the sixties, then they start looking like yuppies, in Holiday they look like southerners and are rather acting, by the time they do Hearts they look liks middle aged suburbian nouveau-richs. That was the history of the band!

This release is more recommended than buying a best of or any compilation, the songs are placed in their natural contourn and work well witing each time and cd.

I had a great evening remniscing and enjoying these cd's. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best collection so far in the "5 originals" series, 29 Jun. 2012
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Looks like this "5 originals" series is going viral with more and more bands lending their names. America, a one-hit wonder in the UK but a multi-hit megaband in just about every OTHER country of the world - yeah, another "blame Radio 1 playlist policy" case, the BBC have a lot of answer for, depriving UK listeners of some fine artists and music over the years - bring us their first 5 albums, the first 3 of which are largely self-produced and have an intriging progressive feel lacking in the last 2, produce by George Martin. America's trademark "electraccoustic" guitar work shines on the first album, and the vocal harmonising developes over the span of the albums. Discover another side of America, most people know them for "Horse with no name" and a bunch of other almost-hits in the UK, but this is a chance to get hold of their fine album tracks, sadly left out from their "Greatest Hits" compilations. George Martin's pop-style influence can clearly be heard on the last 2 albums in the set, in my view the poorest albums here - there's a lot more to music than melody and potential hit singles, something George Martin was sublimely unaware of. Had America chosen a different path who knows, their fortunes may have been very different - but they opted for George Martin and it wiped them out.

Enjoy the first 3 fine albums and tolerate the final 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America Collection, 2 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This is a great value pack of the 5 original LP's. The covers are exact copies of the
originals and as such the list of tracks is unreadable for an oldie like me. This is a minor gripe.
Its great to have the originals in this easy to use medium. Lets have more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five of America, 8 Jun. 2013
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Easily a great purchase for anyone wanting to collect the most important albums by America. This is a really great release. I really love this set of albums and this presentation is brilliant,
Five original albums each on individual discs and nicely presented in vinyl replica card sleeves and an outer card box.
If you have never heard any America then think of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young or the Eagles and you have some sort of idea what to expect. America have their own distinctive style however. There are some true gems across these albums.
If you have liked anything by America before then these albums are a safe bet and at a good price for five albums its worth investigating.
The albums themselves are all excellent and this is an ideal way to get all five at a budget price. The sound quality is very good and the whole set takes up little room in a CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated soft rock band, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I must admit I always dismissed America as a lightweight band with a couple of hit singles to their name. To some extent this is still true, but after hearing these albums I have altered my view of them. True, they do come across as that on first listening and compared to the Eagles etc. don't have that edge that nudges them into the true country-rock area. But there is no mistaking the quality of their song-writing and performance. With these albums they slowly progress through a lighter country-folk style to a more country-rock feel a little like The Byrds do from 'Tambourine Man' to 'Eight Miles High' so whatever mood you're in there's something here to suit. I always found myself singing to 'Ventura Highway' or 'A Horse With No Name' whenever it came on the radio and to discover that America were more than that was quite enlightening. A quality band with quality songs. Try them out and forget about their singles being all they were. You may be surprised as I was. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box of Harmonies, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This set of 5 America albums is great, all CD's are housed in mini LP sleeves. This brings together 5 brilliant albums for a good price and every one of them a little gem. If you like America then this set is for you, containing all the hits and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by America (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews