Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars67
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.24
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2013
My favourite book this year, even bought one for a friend. Read so many books in my time i can usually write the rest of the script by the time I get halfway through. Not this story. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Good characterisation and some interesting insights into European history in the 1930s. Plenty of drama, detection and romance.Lots about Ireland a very good preparation for my Irish holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
This was a fantastic book ,very well written. The whole book was an amazing insight into Ireland in the 1930's .the story line kept you turning the pages ,un able to put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
An entertaining tale set in the pre-war years. It sheds light on the complexities of Irish attitudes towards Nazi Germany and the British, their former masters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
Dense, complex and engaging plot, Well written. Very informative about Ireland in the 1930s - I assume the historical rooting is overall pretty accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Michael Russell has a great way of expressing himself and keep you turning pages. as usual very hard to put this book down and you want to race to finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Didn't expect this. A very well written thriller where the historical references are accurate and the time and place evocative. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I enjoyed this book having lived in Ireland in the 1960s. The plot was good and I can relate to the part the Catholic church played in the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Excellent detective novel set in a,church dominated, Nazi influenced post civil war Dublin and Danzig. Can't wait to read his second book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
A real page turner. Could personally relate to the locations in Ireland referred to in the book. Must visit Danzig /Gadansk sometime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.