Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: VinylChange
Price:£21.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
Kreator have been on a real upward trajectory artistically speaking for the last decade or so. Since 2001's superb Violent Revolution album and the establishment of their current line-up, everything that the band have put out has been of the utmost quality, keeping to a fairly strict but non-intrusive formula and just knocking out a boatload of brilliant songs.

Now in 2012, with their thirteenth full-length studio album Phantom Antichrist, the legendary German Thrash Metal band continue in the same vein that has kept the last three albums so absolutely vital and deliver more of the same formula that mixes their classic 1980s style with elements of Gothenburg style, an intermittent touch of groove and a few sections with clean vocals over arpeggiated bits in their too for variety.

Each of the albums that follow that aforementioned formula also puts enough of an individual twist on it to have its own identity though, and I guess Phantom Antichrist's twist would be that it isn't just as fast, isn't just as heavy as often and is a lot more focused on the high-end. It's a more melodic and musical take of the Enemy Of God/Hordes Of Chaos musical direction.

Despite the title track leading with speed and low end, there's a lot of time given on the album overall to slow sections, little guitar vibratos, teasing rolls or little sneaky Hi-Hat strikes. If you are all about the Thrash side of things don't worry though, it isn't as if the band abandoned Thrash, there is a heck of a lot of it in there too. The band did a clever job of balancing mixing things up with keeping what was working well.

I have nothing but praise for this album, on first listen it already gave off "Album Of The Year Candidate" feelings and still grew on me with each subsequent spin. The performance is so energetic and pounding on the heavier songs and so subtle and studied on the more musical moments, the production is absolutely top-rate, Mille's vocals are up to the same standard of the recent few albums and the lead guitar work is inspired as always. Furthermore it is a pretty perfect length and each individual song is excellent so there is nothing in the way of filler. The album is lean, varied and perfectly formed.

If this happened to be the first Kreator album that you ever heard I am sure it would leave a damn fine first impression. If you are an existing fan it is definitely more of the same flawless formula that has been working so well on one hand, and yet also a bit of a surprise at the same time, which just helps make it fresh and worthwhile.

Highlights include the superb `Death To The World,' which has some brilliant lead guitar work and a surprising mid-section, the proggy closer `Until Our Paths Cross Again' as well as the groovy and complex `The Few The Proud The Broken' and which is exemplary of a few tracks on the album that take some of the spirit of Power Metal festival-pleasing choruses but applies it to a mostly mid-tempo Thrash number.

Overall, this is a really great album from a truly consistent and focused band that know how to write good metal songs. The only thing which I could imagine anyone ever finding bad about this album would be the idea of the band repeating themselves, for example there is a riff in `Civilizations Collapse' that sounds like one in `Coma Of Souls' and one in `United In Hate' that sounds like one in `Replicas Of Life' etc but the band pull it off so well it doesn't bother me personally. If you usually find riff-recycling a massive pain then maybe the album won't seem just as flawless as I make it out to be, so that is something to take into consideration.

As long as you liked the past few Kreator albums and aren't either sick of them or shocked at something that isn't exactly as heavy as their last two albums even if it makes up for it in other areas however, then Phantom Antichrist should be a no-brainer love affair right from the get-go.

In summary; If you want some perfectly crafted German Metal, with absolutely superb lead guitar work, great drum work and the occasional moments of sing-along grandeur or softer moments brushing shoulders with pounding yet intelligent and varied Thrash, then this is certainly worth picking up.

*** If you should happen to buy the Special Edition version, you will get one card-sleeve housing two individual digipak cases. The first has the actual album and the second has the bonus DVD.

The DVD features a twenty-minute making-of documentary called `Conquerers Of The Ice.' Although it is a making-of there isn't that much in-studio footage, maybe around a total of three minutes. The bulk of the feature is three separate interviews that are cut together with studio footage between cuts. The producer Jens Borgen is interviewed at Fascination Street Studios where the album was recorded, and Mille Petrozza is interviewed on a frozen Ocean, while guitarist Sami Yli-Sirniö is interviewed in front of a Swedish castle. Topics covered include recording in Sweden, avoiding cheesiness, Osama Bin-Laden's death, the Greek economy and simultaneously tracking all members at once while recording. It isn't the most substantial documentary in the world, but it is a lot better than the one from Hordes Of Chaos.

The DVD also features a live concert from Waken Open Air Festival 2011, intercut with four tracks from Waken 2006, but done in a way that you mightn't even notice if it wasn't pointed out to you. This isn't just the live-feed slapped onto a disc however, the footage and sound have been treated, edited and tidied up and it is actually a really good feature. It may cut to the monitors a little too often and not feature all that much off of their 80s albums, but it is a damn fine live show nonetheless.

The tracklisting is:
1. Intro Choir Of The Damned
2. Hordes Of Chaos
3. War Curse
4. Endless Pain (with a riff from Coma Of Souls as an intro)
5. Pleasure To Kill
6. Destroy What Destroys You
7. Intro The Patriach
8. Violent Revolution
9. People Of The Lie
10. Europe After The Rain
11. Phobia
12. Reconquering The Throne (with a riff from Terrible Certainty as an intro)
13. Flag of Hate/Tormentor

The concert lasts 53.50 and with the improved visuals is probably actually a better DVD than their Live Kreation Revisioned Glory release. I highly recommend getting this bonus version if you can get it for cheap enough and as long as you enjoyed the Hordes Of Chaos album that makes up a lot of its track listing. ***
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Where are kreator on the grand scale of things, we have the big four which is fair enough, then we have overkill, exodus, testament, yikes, there are alot , kreator havent always released 5 star albums , but this was one shock to the system, this is flawless.
If i compare each of the big fours current albums then this pishes all over them, dont get me wrong, i like pretty much all of the big fours last releases but this kills them all.
This is awe inducing, tear inducing, shivers up my spine ripping, stunning, and then stunning some more.
This is catchy, brilliantly written and just a thrash feast of the highest order. I implore anyone who says thrash is their thing to throw this into their cd player because you will be hooked.
This is my album of the year so far,get this.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2012
Having pounded the absolute life out of my Hordes of Chaos cd I was fit to be locked up when I found out Kreator were about to release Phantom Antichrist, and having listened to it now non stop for 3 weeks I have done the proper and just thing and awarded it the 5 stars, the musicianship is unbelievably good, the song writing is a new level for Kreator with all the little melodies entwined into the bones of thrash songs, yes it really is quite brilliant, my problem is its just not Hordes of Chaos, there is no War Curse on this CD or Amok run, what i mean by that is songs that come on and you freak, im a married man with 3 kids so i mostly listen to my cds driving, it is beyond me how i havent crashed or been caught speeding or just ran over somebody for looking like a Zombie when War Curse comes on, no songs on Phantom Antichrist give me that feeling with the possible exception of Civilization collapse, it threatens to but the riffs are cut to short, I agree with all the other excellent reviews here that Phantom Antichrist is a classical CD, but the savagery is somewhat gone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 23 June 2012
As a heavy metal fan for whole of my life I have listened to all Kreator's albums. Some of them should be forgotten, some of them are a milestones in history of heavy music.

However Phantom Antichrist thrown me to the floor and I still can't stand up.

This album is one of the best things I have heard recently. I will not do a review for each track, you can do it on your own.

However I would recommend purchase of it to every headbanger out there, you won't be dissapointed.

Nothing more to say, I am going to listen to it again :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 July 2013
This isn't going to be a very long review, but I feel it needs to be written as all the current 'Phantom Antichrist' reviews award 5 stars and were mostly written very soon after its release - in the "hype period" where it is difficult to look level-headedly at the release and give it a fair score.

Firstly, I'm not really criticising the album, I think it's a good modern thrash record and a worthy part of Kreator's legacy. I would agree with the reviewers who saw this as a more melodic offering from a usually very heavy band and that caused a slight problem for me seeing as I love the heavier, more frantic, aggressive work that German thrash has produced in great quantities. The title track is probably most violent overall and thus the album can slump slightly later on even though the songwriting is still good quality.

All those "Album of the Year" cries don't sound stupid now (the album has generally had positive reviews) but it is symptomatic of fans to over-react when an esteemed band brings out a strong new album and I think some of the thrash-heads on Amazon and elsewhere have been guilty of a knee-jerk reaction to a decent but not incredible release.

Buy 'Phantom Antichrist' by all means, but don't expect anything too godly from it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2012
This month sees the release of Phantom Antichrist, the latest album from German thrash legends Kreator. It is their thirteenth studio album to date, their first on Nuclear Blast Records, and it is very possibly the best album of their career, and yes that does include Pleasure To Kill.

Back in the halcyon heyday of thrash metal in the 1980s there were two distinct epicentres of the genre; America and Germany. As a spotty oik of a teenager during those years I found myself drawn to the American movement much more so than the German. I found it more melodic and accessible than its European counterpart. The Germans had a harsher, darker sound, more akin to Venom and the blossoming Black/Death Metal scene.

The Yanks had the Big Four and the Germans conversely had the Big Three (Kreator, Sodom and Destruction) and Kreator were their Metallica, kings of the Teutonic Thrash hill. As I said I was much more in favour of the American style but no self-respecting thrasher in those days was without a copy of Pleasure To Kill, Kreator's 1987 masterpiece.

25 years down the line and Kreator show no sign of letting up or mellowing into old age. Phantom Antichrist does not possess the raw, abrasive sound of those early albums and neither should it. They were 17 years old when they recorded Endless Pain for Christ's sake, and no-one knew what a thrash album was even supposed to sound like at that time.

That's not to say their sound has softened in any way, the punishing riff refrain towards the end of the album's self-titled opener should be enough to convince anyone of that, if it hasn't ripped your face clean off in the process. It is merely that this album has a more polished, experienced feel to it. Yes, many of the songs are more melodic than say Flag of Hate, but that is in keeping with the overall vibe of the album and makes for a far more enjoyable listening experience, without sacrificing any of their trademark aggression. Mille's voice has also become more refined over the years, allowing him a broader range in which to work, and which adds greater depth to many of the songs on here.

Another new feature is the inclusion of some Nordic/Viking rhythms and styles that hark back to some of the later Bathory albums. I have to say this works really well and is best displayed on From Flood Into Fire which will no doubt become a favourite amongst the European festival crowds this year thanks in no small part to the mother of all epic choruses. Another highlight for me personally is United In Hate which opens with a little classical guitar (another Kreator trademark) before launching into an aural assault of face-melting ferocity.

There is very little wrong with this album, even the weaker tracks such as Your Heaven My Hell are still far superior to anything that the so-called Big Four have produced over the past decade and I don't make statements like that lightly. This album can genuinely stand shoulder to shoulder with anything Kreator were doing in the 80s.

Xavier Russell of Kerrang once very famously stated that Pleasure To Kill was better than Master Of Puppets. Now I don't know it that's true or not, but I can tell you one thing, Phantom Antichrist is better than Pleasure To Kill.

Make of that what you will.

Standout Tracks: From Flood Into Fire, United In Hate, Victory Will Come.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2012
'Music is the purest form of communication.' - Mille Petrozza.

The supreme exponents of Teutonic thrash unleash their thirteenth studio album upon the world. The apocalyptic cover provides the first hint of the synthesis of power and artistry that lies within. A glance at the lyrics reinforces the initial impression. A few rounds of listening suffice to remove all doubt: this is one of the finest metal records of this century.

Upon first hearing Phantom Antichrist, I was struck by the general consistency of the album: not a single track was disagreeable either lyrically or musically. This is perhaps a testament to Kreator's devotion to quality - and also a sign of how a quarter-century of relentless thrashing have made the band masters of their art. To do justice to the album, a track by track overview follows:

1) Mars Mantra: An instrumental is an excellent way to introduce an album. Even if it does not attain the sublime heights of 'Choir of the Damned', this piece successfully sets the stage for what ensues.

2) Phantom Antichrist: Kreator's title tracks are always solid: this is no exception. From the outset, it becomes evident that the lyrical quality of Mille's songs keeps rising; musically, it is frenetic from start to finish.

3) Death to the World: A quintessential Kreator song. combining the emphatic with the melodic to create a morbid masterpiece. The strident vocals that characterize the first line of the chorus, are particularly noteworthy.

4) From Flood into Fire: Initiated by a memorable riff, this song strikes me as a tribute to the fans. The development of solidarity.

5) Civilization Collapse: A lyrical and musical detonation that both radiates and reflects the zeitgeist. Ventor's drumming in this track is phenomenal.

6) United in Hate: It seems to me that the last decade of Kreator's efforts were building up to this song: a clarion call to revolt. From the melodic intro, to the incisive lyrics and the ominous chorus, the track fulfils its purpose admirably. The unleashing of solidarity.

7) The Few, the Proud, the Broken: Upon first hearing the album, this track stood out - and for good reason. With a rousing opening riff, this intense yet caustic antiwar anthem is a mighty condemnation of the degradation of man by the State: its second verse is one of the finest I've ever heard. The furor teutonicus that suffused songs like 'Warcurse' and 'Demon Prince', rages again.

8) Your Heaven, My Hell: No Kreator album would be complete without an assault on organized religion, and with its finely crafted beginning, its splendid solos and its impassioned conclusion, this one does not fail to impress. I felt some of the verses in the middle could have been improved though.

9) Victory Will Come: To compose an upbeat metal song must be quite a challenge; to create one that does not sound shallow and panglossian, is surely even more difficult. Yet that is what Mille and co. have achieved here - with some exceptional riffs as well. One of my favourites - complete with an inspiring German phrase that translates as 'The torture never stops, yet we will win.'

10) Until Our Paths Cross Again: The track I liked least on the album. This piece is quite different from what one typically expects from the band, being slow, mournful and somewhat fatalistic - almost a dirge. Nonetheless, a riff reminiscent of 'Coma of Souls' half-way through, and the poignant final verse, rescue it from mediocrity.

If the album ended on such a melancholy note, I might not have bothered to write this review. Fortunately the Japanese edition, (which is the one I strongly recommend purchasing) contains one more song:

11) Iron Destiny: This triumphal track - the amor fati of the radical spirit - polishes off the album. With an inspiring opening, a superb choral riff, a solemn statement of faith ('This is what we stand for'), it culminates explosively in the line:


If those words strike a chord deep inside - then this album is for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
I love the album so much I had to comment.

First...don't expect anything new, it follows the last few releases doggedly and don't be expecting a 80s throwback either, this album is fast, fresh and thrash all over.

Second...there are plenty of influences both new and old on show but the band have been around long enough to create their own unique style, the vocals being the most obvious reference point, and while elements may seem a bit naff don't be fooled Kreator do metal with sincerity.

The title track sets out their stall...rolling drums, galloping guitars, catchy shouting choruses and speedy solos. It doesn't let up and while the lyrics are all god, heaven, hell, evil, war, death and um...the environment, its not going to matter that much to you because you will be too busy smiling and kicking doors in...or whatever.

To sum up if you like thrash or any of the last 3 Kreator albums you have to get this it's fast, furious and highly accomplished. Be warned though don't go expecting skull crushingly heavy metal...think harmonious speed.

Apart from the title track check out `The Few, The Proud, The Broken' it's a good snapshot of the album and has the most amazing solo in the chorus...I love it and the best thing is to my ears Kreator are actually getting better and better.

I brought the standard edition so cannot comment on the DVD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I bought this recently, and it's been in my car stereo ever since! If you like this genre, get a copy as it is really superb! The production is outstanding, as is the musicianship. It isn't played at breakneck speed, (as may be expected), but that works to its credit, as it feels really controlled and together. The riffing is solid and 'catchy,' and the guitar solos and harmonies, in my view, are the best they've ever come up with. This album is up there with 'Coma of Souls.'

You really can find yourself humming the tunes on this album as you go about your daily business! It gets under your skin, in a good way; and, I think, sets the bar at a really high level.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
This album really surprised me. A very good mix of thrash metal with aggressive guitar solos but with also slower and melodic parts. The highlights for me include "Civilization Collapse", "From Flood Into Fire" and "Your Heaven, My Hell". This album shows a more mature band with better song writing skills, rather than just pure thrash metal aggression like in the eighties, but still keeping the violent edge. I'd recommend this album to any thrash or heavy metal fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Enemy Of God
Enemy Of God by Kreator (Audio CD - 2010)

Dark Roots Of Earth
Dark Roots Of Earth by Testament (Audio CD - 2012)

Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD]
Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] by Kreator (Audio CD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.