Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie Does It Again.
well,as a huge KYLIE fan from the start,i already have 3 greatest hits compilations,but it was worth getting this too.not only for my collection,but also for the dvd,containing the videos for ALL THE LOVERS and GET OUTTA MY WAY. my only gripe is...WHERE DO I GET A DENIM JACKET WITH THE BADGES ON THAT IS FEATURED ON THE COVER???!!! :)
Published 7 days ago by Mr. R. Oxley

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 25 years...for THIS?
Kylie Minogue is celebrating 25 years of hits so it's no surprise to see a retrospective collection in the shops...but this must be one of the worst compilation efforts in recent memory.

Like Madonna, Kylie has now amassed so many top singles that anything less than a double CD is an insult both to her and prospective buyers. EMI have managed to squeeze 21...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by M. D. Smart


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 25 years...for THIS?, 4 Jun 2012
By 
M. D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
Kylie Minogue is celebrating 25 years of hits so it's no surprise to see a retrospective collection in the shops...but this must be one of the worst compilation efforts in recent memory.

Like Madonna, Kylie has now amassed so many top singles that anything less than a double CD is an insult both to her and prospective buyers. EMI have managed to squeeze 21 songs onto this CD but there are at least a dozen huge tracks missing - her deConstruction era is virtually ignored, represented solely by Confide In Me, and where are early smashes such as Hand On Your Heart and fan favourites like Shocked and What Do I Have To Do?? It really is a poor showing - and what's worse, no new songs whatsoever, bizarrely not even her current single Timebomb. This half-hearted effort has made me wonder if perhaps she is planning on leaving EMI for a new label; it has the feel of a release cobbled together in five minutes with little thought or respect merely to fulfill the contract of a departing artist.

If you want a Kylie compilation, you'd be far better off looking for a second hand copy of the Ultimate Kylie collection and downloading the singles from X and Aphrodite to add to it. There are some great pop tunes here but Kylie's 25th Anniversary surely deserved better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars there's BETTER Greatest out there....., 4 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Best of Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
Just RAN to get this but upon reading the track listing I thought "nah", I've already got 'Ultimate Kylie' and 'Kylie 2000-2010 so pretty much have it covered, I thought with the release of 'Time Bomb' it may have been included - DAMN! Nice to see 'Get outta my way' on the track list though as its my fave kylie track yet....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor DVD, 7 Jun 2012
By 
Ryan Davie (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, 1 star. Don't get me wrong, the CD itself is pretty much perfect and had I bought just the CD it would have garnered a 5 star review. However, I bought the CD/DVD combo and it is the DVD I am basing this 1 star review on.

I have two words for you - Aspect Ratio.

Who encoded this piece of crap? I understand that it is a Region 0 disc, so to expect a 576 x 720 picture is probably going too far and that the 480 x 640 ratio fits better on foreign systems. However, the idiot behind this disc has encoded the videos a 480 x 720 resolution. This means all the videos are squashed vertically (or stretched horizontally, depending on your thinking), ruining the look of them.

As if this wasn't bad enough, the producers, in their infinite wisdom, decided to make the DVD 4x3 (it's 2012 people!!) instead of widescreen. This is fine for the older videos (even if they are squashed), but it means the newer, widescreen ones are letterboxed, bringing their resolution down to approx 330 lines. Now, as anyone who has 'zoomed in' on their TV will know, this makes the picture quality drop massively. Zooming in on a 330 line picture on a big screen TV makes these videos look hideous! What they should have done, instead of making the newer videos '4x3 letterbox' is encode the DVD in widescreen and make the older videos '16x9 pillarbox', then they'd all look lovely.

So, in closing; Poor quality, low resolution, badly encoded and in an incorrect aspect ratio.

Save your money and just buy the CD and download her videos off youtube for free in the correct ratio and at the correct resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really add anything..., 5 Oct 2012
By 
Matti (Borås, Sweden) - See all my reviews
It was very difficult to decide on a star rating for this product - On the one hand, it contains some truly classic Kylie tracks, and the packaging is just GREAT.
BUT, the tracklisting is a mess, it seems like they just picked song titles out of a hat. A lot of seminal Kylie tracks are missing, such as Finer Feelings, Breathe, What Do I Have to Do, Shocked, Hand on Your Heart and more, and the inclusion of Give Me Just A Little More Time and Celebration is frankly baffling.
Also, the single she released around the same time, Timbomb, is NOT on this CD.

I was also extremely disappointed by the quality of the DVD. The screen ratios are completely wrong on some songs, and the picture quality ranges from nearly unwatchable to acceptable. For some reason, even (comparatively) recent videos such as Spinning Around and In Your Eyes are extremely pixely.

If you're looking for a best of Kylie, I would recommend tracking down the Ultimate Kylie compilation. Though obviously Wow, In My Arms, All the Lovers and Get Outta My Way were not available when Ultimate Kylie was first released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Regrettably missing videos, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Could anyone explain the reason of missing 'Your Disco Needs You'? As well I know, there were two versions of that video at least. Is it any chance that we will ever finally get them on DVD? Any ideas?

On the other side, I found another positive discovery bearing in mind the video consistency. When I bought 'Ultimate Kylie' dated of 2004 I thought erroneously, that 'Red Blooded Woman' was originally recorded in 4×3 format. In fact 'The Best Of Kylie Minogue' comprises this footage filmed in 16×9 aspect ratio. I looked thoroughly and it turned out that the older DVD I mentioned above contains just snapped picture of original 16×9 video (left-hand and right-hand picture parts of 16×9 have been cut) in order to pretend real 4×3 picture. Shame! I don't like such behaviour. Let every video be ever published in whole original format, no matter what kind it is. Faking procedures ought to be forbidden by law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One more?, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Best of Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
I was wodering... how many greatest hits is she gonna release? Isn't enought? Sorry but, we are tired of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMI Parlophone battles to understand how to market this artist, 11 Jun 2012
sadly another missed opportunity!

Been a Kylie fan for as far back as i remember and such have collected some really nice rare cd sets, but has this compilation (in part) not being done before? there are many many greatest hits albums from her (read EMI), can anyone also remember the pre Aphrodite (live) japanese edition 14 track set? , ultimate kyle, kylie greatest hits etc, sadly the music company misses the marketing skill to market her (profitably).

How about a release of super popular hits tied in with b side singles tied in with fresh hits like "timebomb'? i have on average around 45 releases of songs and b sides per album she released under the EMI years (i am sure most fans do). thats a lot to work with- how about a release of them?

We have heard all of whats available on this cd and have loyally bought all of it, dont waste your hard earned cash on this repeat edition cd unless you want to pay for really expensive piece of cd artwork. its funny most people see kylie stuck in her past and being nostalgic about her music- do you blame them when her music company battles to release her new music?

Again a mega fan of hers but i doubt the music company wants to hear from me, they want to find new fans with her old music... what a great recipe for success!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie Does It Again., 4 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. Oxley "Steps Fan 4 Ever!!" (Crook,Co Durham,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
well,as a huge KYLIE fan from the start,i already have 3 greatest hits compilations,but it was worth getting this too.not only for my collection,but also for the dvd,containing the videos for ALL THE LOVERS and GET OUTTA MY WAY. my only gripe is...WHERE DO I GET A DENIM JACKET WITH THE BADGES ON THAT IS FEATURED ON THE COVER???!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whats to say you love her or hate her!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whats to say you love her or hate her!
A Good selection of her hits to sing along too - and one thing about a Kylie track - its infectous and fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 25 April 2014
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of Kylie Minogue but I like most of her hit singles so bought this album and loved it! Excellent quality of sound and all the hits plus some that I wanted to have.

Super party album too, should be in all CD collections!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Kylie Minogue
The Best of Kylie Minogue by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews