Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A THREESOME OF DELIGHTS.....TERJE ON THE VERGE!!!
In 1975 things were pretty different than they are nowECM was fledgling catterpillar about to bloom into a beautiful butterfly, i was attending a concert at the Royal Festival Hall,by a then unknown Norwegian, Terje Rypdal . at the time "Melody Maker" stated that his new album was like "Tubular bells" ,no pressure there then,
however it turned out that Rypdals album...
Published on 29 Jun. 2012 by Finbar the looney

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars <the original...
You no doubt have the single CD, maybe even the double LP with "Rolling Stone". This latter is a useful Rypdal chunk. But oh my the Unfinished highballs (?!) is really a big band detour we didn't need. It's like a early shot at the crime scene "big band" album I wish we had to warn us off. Completist will swoon (and I am almost that completist) but beware if...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by Partial Mind


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A THREESOME OF DELIGHTS.....TERJE ON THE VERGE!!!, 29 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] (Audio CD)
In 1975 things were pretty different than they are nowECM was fledgling catterpillar about to bloom into a beautiful butterfly, i was attending a concert at the Royal Festival Hall,by a then unknown Norwegian, Terje Rypdal . at the time "Melody Maker" stated that his new album was like "Tubular bells" ,no pressure there then,
however it turned out that Rypdals album "Odyssey" was much more than a "Tubular bells"clone,after the concert i went to the consessions counter and bought a pristine,vinyl pressing of the afforementioned "Odyssey"
album.
CD ONE(41.06)
"Darkness falls"is a short track ,with echoes of Miles Davis' electric period,stunning guitars,very atmospheric.
"Midnite"a ssuperb sixteen minute track thate xplores the very edges of experimental , electronic Jazz,although thos is almost progressive rock,with its drum passages and guitar solos,in some ways i am put in mind of "Yeti" by Amon Duul2 ,but the guitar playing is full scale Rypdal.
"Adagio"another long mysterious track,full of evocotive sound effects.
"Better off without you"is sevehn minutes of beautifully atmospheric and mellow.
CD TWO (46.15)
"Over birkerot"this is a strident,almost rock piece that seems to develope well,it reminds me of "Eight miles high"by The Byrds.
"Fare well"anambient almost ghost like quality transfixes the ;istener on this eleven minute track.
"Ballade"almost Germanic in quality,thisis very much in the style of Kenny Wheeler
"Rolling stone" a long ,twenty four minute tour de force,described in the booklet as "nearly a hit in Germany and Italy"well,it takes all sorts!!!"
CD THREE (67.56)
"Unfinished highballs"starts the third Cd off,it is only three minutes in length,and has that slightly other worldly quality to it,
"The golden eye" a quality fouteen minute,a grand time is guarunteed for all!
"Scarlet Mistress"another excursion into the maestro at work,there is a fine example of experimental big band jazz.
"Dawn"the band carries off another twelve minute trak with typical aplomb,this is one of my favourite tracks.
"Dine and dance to the music of the waves"yet another long piece,where the band get to explore more musical interplay,which leads straight into,the upbeat
"Talking back" a slightly militaristic groove going on here,very funky,great solos abound on this track
"Bright lights -big city"finishes of the record

This was recorded when Rypdal was on the verge of a major breakthrough,it is an extraordinarily confident piece of Jazz history.Packaged in a box with three individual card sleeves for each CD,with an extensive booklet.

CD 1 41.06
CD 2 46.15
CD 3 67.56

BEST TRACK.....DAWN

ORIGINALLY RELEASED IN 1975
RE RELEASED IN 2012

ECM

TERJE RYPDAL.....ELECTRIC GUITAR,SOPRANO SAXOPHONE ,SYNTHESIXER
TORBJORN SUNDE.....TROMBONE
BRYNJULF BRIX.....ORGAN,SYNTHESIZER,ELECTRIC PINO
SVIENUNG HOVENSJA.....BASS GUITAR
SVEIN CHRISTIANSEN.....DRUMS

ULF ADAKER......TRUMPET,FLUGELHORN
BERTIL LOVGREN.....TRUMPET,FLUGELHORN
AMERICO BELLOTTO......TRUMPET,FLUGELHORN
HAKEN NQUIST......FRENCH HORN,TRUMPET
IVAR OLSEN......FRENCH HORN
CLAUS ROSENDAHL......A LTO SAXOPHONE,CLARINET
ULF ANDERSSON.....TENOR SAXOPHONE,FLUTE,FLUTE,ALTO FLUTE,PICCOLO
LENNART ABERG......SOPRANO SAXOPHONE FLUTE
ERIK NILSSON.....BASS CLARINET,FLUTE
DVEN LARSON......BASS TROMBONE,TUBA
TORGNY NILSON.....TROMBONE
BENGT HALLBERG....CELESTE,HARPSCHORD,MELLOTRON
GEORG RIEDEL.....DOUBLE BASS
STEFAB BROLAND.....DOUBLE BASS
EGIL JOHANSEN.....DRUMS,PERCUSSION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive rock music improvisation, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Martin Archer "Huckleberry" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] (Audio CD)
Rypdal's early work for ECM, and in particular this album plus What Comes After, provide a definitive template for how good improvised rock music can be when played by the right people. For me this album has everything - power, texture, excitement, and moments of great beauty and solemnity. The rather unexpected integration of a baleful trombone into this ensemble is a delight.

You're a guitar fan searching fruitlessly for more Mahavishnu like intensity? Make this your next stop.

But the real surpise in this re-issue is the quality of the bonus Unfinished Highballs suite, with it's complex George Russell influenced big band charts. This would have made a valid release in its own right at the time. It is beautifully composed, arranged, played and recorded, although maybe it's the engineering disater near the end (a sax solo is inexplicably and horribly distorted for a brief while)that has kept us from hearing it until now.

Rypdal fans will be buying this anyway to get Rolling Stone, but this extra disc really makes the release essential.

Come on though ECM, you should have retained the original iconic artwork!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixture!, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] (Audio CD)
My buying this box set is rather like meeting an old and trusted friend who I had lost contact with. Such familarity and shared experiences - really exciting. However then you meet the friend's new partner ... and it does not quite work - and you feel a loss. the first two 'Odyssey' CD's are marvellous. they are as fresh and radical as ever. The third CD is intereesting, but does not copntain the old creativity. I certianly would not have got a copy if it were not a part of the package. Try to listen through before purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] (Audio CD)
I never thought it would happen! The long awaited complete release of the Odyssey double album with bonus concert. Wonderful stuff which belies its 35 years. Thank you ECM albeit belatedly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars <the original..., 13 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] (Audio CD)
You no doubt have the single CD, maybe even the double LP with "Rolling Stone". This latter is a useful Rypdal chunk. But oh my the Unfinished highballs (?!) is really a big band detour we didn't need. It's like a early shot at the crime scene "big band" album I wish we had to warn us off. Completist will swoon (and I am almost that completist) but beware if riff'n'glacial roll is why you love Rypdal.Buy Hapless Child instead and go straight to the summit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TERJE RYPDAL ; IMPORTANT RE-RELEASE, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] (Audio CD)
I FIRST HEARD THIS NORWEGIAN GUITARIST WHEN I DISCOVERED ECM RECORDS THEMSELVES SOMETIME IN THE EARLY 1980s;
I REMEMBER BUYING THIS RECORD OUT OF CURIOSITY AND ALTHOUGH IT TOOK A FEW LISTENS TO UNDERSTAND THE MUSIC,IT WAS APPARENT THAT
I HAD NEVER HEARD ANYBODY WHO PLAYED GUITAR LIKE HIM , AND THE SAME HOLDS TRUE NOW SOME 30 YEARS LATER.RYPDAL IS A SUPERB LEAD PLAYER WHOSE MUSIC GENUINELY EVOKES IMAGES OF HIS NATIVE LAND AND THIS PARTICULAR RECORDING HAS AN AMAZING SCOPE MUSICALLY,CONSIDERING IT WAS COMPOSED BY SOMEONE WHO WOULD ONLY HAVE BEEN IN HIS LATE 20s AT THE TIME IT WAS RELEASED.

RYPDAL'S SKILLS AS A PLAYER AND MULTI-FACETED COMPOSER ARE OBVIOUS ; THE MUSIC COMBINES ROCK,JAZZ AND NEO-CLASSICAL ELEMENTS UNIQUELY AND SUCCESSFULLY ;
THIS RECORDING STANDS THE TEST OF TIME AND WAS DEFINITELY WAY AHEAD OF ITS TIME WHEN RELEASED IN THE MID 1970S;THE EXTRA DISC INCLUDED IN THIS RE-RELEASE
IS DIFFERENT AGAIN AND SOUNDS IN PLACES LIKE A COMBINATION OF MILES DAVIS WITH 1970s FILM MUSIC IN THE STYLE OF LALO SCHIFRIN,ETC; THE ORIGINALITY AND MUSICIANSHIP OF THE ODYSSEY BAND IS STAGGERING AND OF ALL THE RECORDINGS OF RYPDAL THAT I HAVE HEARD SINCE,THIS REMAINS ONE OF THE BEST.

ALL IN ALL A MOST WELCOME RETROSPECTIVE RELEASE AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heavenly 'Odyssey', 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] (Audio CD)
I once owned 'Odyssey' on vinyl... This re-issue on CD was something I was looking for a long long time. Musically, a masterpiece...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD]
Odyssey: In Studio & In Concert [3CD] by Terje Rypdal (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews