Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2012
The Nikon CLS book does a good job at covering the SB-600, SB-800, SB-900/910 and R1C1 flashes as well as some basic flash theory, colour theory and case studies.
It is easy to the read for the advanced beginner and on and will be of use to all but professional photographers.

The book starts out with a run down of the Nikon Creative Lightning System (CLS) in about ten pages including af quickstart guide. Next comes basic flash theory, about 25 pages and then on the above mentioned flashes.
The SB-600 and R1C1/SU-800 are covered in about 20 pages each, the SB-800 and SB900/910 50 pages each. LAstly there are 50 pages of tips, tricks and case studies.
The book is well illustrated with photos, diagrams and tables and very accessible to both advanced beginners and seasoned users. I own an SB-600 and SB-910 and have found the book very useful for both getting started as well as getting the basic functions covered.

The book doesn't really adress setups and lightning diagrams so it should really be seen as a technical manual more than a book designed to teach you the "art" of flash photography. The blog 'strobist 101' should do quite nicely for the "art" part.

Generally:
Recommended to anyone looking for a quick, easy-to-read, yet somewhat thorough guide to the Nikon flashes.
44 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I bought the Nikon SB 910 Speedlight and after reading the manual I was none the wiser.
The book was a great help in understanding a very complex flash system.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
A very useful and well-written, easy to read book. In trying to cover all the recent models of speedlight flashguns, it meant that quite a lot of the book was not relevant to my model, but nevertheless a very worthwhile read
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
If you are a Nikon speedlight user struggling a bit with how to use your speedlights, then, buy this book. It has proved really useful to me as I have different speedlights and this explains them all much better than the manuals. Each of the Nikon speedlights is clearly explained and how to use them in CLS mode if you have it on your camera.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 July 2014
This series of books on Nikon equipment keeps up to the very high standard that you might expect. It covers all of the Nikon lighting systems in some detail. It explains things better than the manual that comes with the equipment and gives you an added insight into other units within the system that are available. I have found it to be very useful and discovered that I had some of the settings set up incorrectly just before I attended a wedding. It is not a glossy magazine, so be prepared to sit down with the book and the light unit that you have with the intentions of learning the system properly. It will save you a lot of heartache. There is a chapter on each flashgun system so do not think that you have to read the whole book. Nevertheless the advice contained in it is well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Unfortunately although the size of the book is impressive this is due to the fact that the author repeats chapter after chapter to cover different models of flashlight. So in detail each Nikon model's controls are covered well but there is only a small amount of useful information regarding the use of flash in general. The chapter 'Case Studies and Examples' was particularly poor.I was very disappointed as I am not sure I have learnt enough to make the cost of the book worthwhile. Try elsewhere if you want advice on the use of flash and use the Nikon handbook to cover the controls of your flash.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Easy to read book with all the information you need to understand Nikon lighting systems with speedlights. very satisfied customer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Fantastic book. It's incredible at how much I've learned in such a short time and is so easy to understand. My flashguns are the SB600-SB700-SB800 and the SB900 and this book covers them all without me having to delve into the manuals when I need to know something. Well worth the money......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Delivery by Courier next day great service from Amazon UK. First glance at well written book seems to cover most subjects but gave it only a 4 star due to the fact it was lacking in illustrated set up scenes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Useful guide to use Nikon Speedlights successfully. Especially the shortcuts how-to use some settings are great.
Explanation of the use of different channels and why you can/should use them was helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)