Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Sherman called war hell, Sun Tzu called war art.Pack for both "
Anyone who read the first adrenaline fuelled instalment of the Chandler trilogy Flee will have been eagerly anticipating the next book in the series . And here it is-released mere weeks after the first of the series-as if the authors are fuelled by the same momentum as the heady plot ofFlee (Chandler Series).
Spree starts from the jump off point of Flee and like...
Published 23 months ago by russell clarke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my sort of book
This was a new author for me to try. I found the plot too improbable.i found is was glance reading to just find out how it ended
Published 17 months ago by Barbara Schultz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Sherman called war hell, Sun Tzu called war art.Pack for both ", 15 Nov 2012
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Anyone who read the first adrenaline fuelled instalment of the Chandler trilogy Flee will have been eagerly anticipating the next book in the series . And here it is-released mere weeks after the first of the series-as if the authors are fuelled by the same momentum as the heady plot ofFlee (Chandler Series).
Spree starts from the jump off point of Flee and like it's predecessor barely pauses for a breath, though it must be said it does not carry quite the breakneck pace of the first of the series. Chandlers sister Fleming is taken to a black -ops site for torture & interrogation after the failed plot to blow up London and it is up to the already bruised & battered "Hydra Project " assassin Chandler to rescue her. But as ever third sister the psychopathic Hammett is on the case too, dragging along a boat load of nefarious goons and with her own less than noble intentions. So Chandler must co-opt some help in order to save Fleming and prevent further mayhem.
The story is told through various different characters perspective including many new ones to this series, although many will be familiar to readers of the authors other works. Only Chandlers chapters are told from a first person perspective and she is still the major player here, although far more time is given to other participant's .
Spree is every bit as preposterous as Flee-no great surprise there it must be said -but is a far chunkier volume with more character development and interaction and a touch more depth. Flee was all about the action , the sheer visceral thrill of the ride .Spree takes a few detours and even has , for this reader ,an unwelcome touch of romantic interest which leads to the inevitable cringe-worthy sex scene. I can do without those in any book thank you very much.
Overall Spree is great fun- on a par with its predecessor and sets things up nicely with a nice juicy twist for the third book Three appropriately enough -which if this is anything to go by will be out any week now. Tccchh...you wait ages for an entertaining book about a female kick- arse agent and three come along all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph form Konrath, 18 May 2013
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I loved the Jack Daniels series and was very much looking forward to reading this book. I was not disappointed. From the first page this book had me hooked and wanting to keep reading. The suspense started in the first sentence and continued to build up to explosive tensions throughout th ebook. It is a roller coaster ride and I barely had time to draw breath. My one disappointment is that I seem to have started with the second book in the series and apparently this one starts where the other left off. It sounds like these books should be read in order. However it did not detract from my enjoyment of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast pace. Action. Injuries. Constant Danger. Body Count. Another Day in the Life of Chandler., 11 Nov 2012
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I once encountered a story where the central character broke the Fourth Wall to lambast both the author for putting them in a painfully dangerous situation and the reader for making them re-live it. If such a portion of Reality does exist then Chandler must be seriously annoyed with Konrath and Voss Peterson, because `Spree' takes up where `Flee' ended with only a couple of hours gap.
OK, as before just let Logic alone, best in a quiet darkened room...
This the second episode of a trilogy starts with Chandler trying to rescue her identical sister Fleming from the grips of `Shadowy folk', more hails of bullets, chases and improbable escapades aided by Jack Daniels and the magnificently repulsive Harry McGlade, the first of several interventions by characters out of other novels. The trail leads to a black-ops prison in Wisconsin and the first of the sardonic running gags ie `In Wisconsin?' The fact that Fleming is crippled by old injuries and without weapons does not stop her from making a lethal and spectacular escape, while Chandler leaves her own trail of destruction. Meanwhile unhinged Hammett has collected her own deadly team and is on the trail of Fleming only to capture her for vital information.
And so we are into a similar world as in Flee with conspiracies, murky dealings at the highest levels of government all the major players who survived the previous novel are back. There are some poignant interludes and Chandler's own personal demons and dilemmas are layered into the tale in quite a believable manner. The conclusion has a nice couple of twists and turns which I am not daring to reveal as they would be real spoilers. And despite numerous injuries and punishingly exhausting chases/escapes also time for sex (and more surprisingly sleep too!)
Obviously Konarth and Voss Peterson had as much fun writing this book as I did in reading it (you just have to suspend dis-belief) because aside from the over-the-top action, more characters from other books start to turn up, some walk-on others quite pivotal; Lund from `Pushed Too Far' by Voss Peterson provides the honest guy and love interest for Chandler, who in turn takes a comically described dislike to Val Ryker from the same book for being Lund's ex-. Tequila of `Shot of Tequila' by J A Konarth is also has a major role as part of the Fleming/Chandler team. For me, being a reader of Marvel/DC TPB it was similar to reading a series where another hero enters and you think `I must get some books where they feature'.
I read this book straight after Flee and enjoyed the whole experience; this lives up to the gloriously excessive standard of the first too, you just got to love the hot air balloon chase and Chandler's high-wire fight with Hammett (it's a high voltage wire by the way).
Truly entertaining, I must keep a look-out for `Three'. NIce bonus bt the way at the end of the book a couple of pages where the authors interview each other ans a comprehensive list of others books they have written and in which ones characters in 'Spree' figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spree (Codename: Chandler) (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable fast paced plot with lots of twists and turns. Makes you want to keep turning the pages to see what will happen next.
would defo recommend and look forward to more titles by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars non stop, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Spree (Codename: Chandler) (Kindle Edition)
Picked this up cheap and thought it sounded good, all I can say is that its brilliant non stop from start to finish and what a great character highly recommend this book cant wait to read rest of series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great thriller, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spree (Codename: Chandler) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this second book in the series as a good thriller with agreat set of heroes. It is unusual that they are all female but they blend together excellently.I wasn't so happy with the male lead I found him to be a bit too glossdy,however the second male lead is my type of guy (maybe like me he is older.I recommend this book and look forward to the third in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPREE - The next chapter after Flee, 11 May 2013
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an all action novel written by two authors in a joint effort but weaved together seamlessly for a roller coaster ride.

According to the authors the idea was to have a female government agent in over her head facing all sorts of different problems to overcome in order to succeed in her mission.

A great novel that leads into the next - "Three" - the next in the Chandler series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely fast paced, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spree (Codename: Chandler) (Kindle Edition)
I did not know what to expect but boy what a rollercoaster it sped along at a cracking pace could not put it down. Will certainly be downloading further books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wow book!, 12 May 2013
This review is from: Spree (Codename: Chandler) (Kindle Edition)
This book was really gripping and exciting and I look forward to the next one which I have now got. A real find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my sort of book, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spree (Codename: Chandler) (Kindle Edition)
This was a new author for me to try. I found the plot too improbable.i found is was glance reading to just find out how it ended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spree (Codename: Chandler)
Spree (Codename: Chandler) by Ann Voss Peterson
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews