Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scandanavian capers!
Headhunters is a truly epic piece of work through it's brisk beginning to ludicrous middle on to the twisty, thrilling and sombre climax, it really is a film to cherish.

This Scandinavian flamboyant thriller has one of the slickest production values i have seen for some time considering it's modest budget. The editing and camera-work is astonishing bringing to...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. A. J. Richards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heartless assassin stuff
Overall this is an enjoyable little film. It suffers from not making it clear that the central character of the burglar is quick thinking and imaginative. The chase scenes are fairly exciting but at some point it becomes unbelievable. It is heartless assassin stuff.

Where the King of this genre is The Day Of The Jackal [DVD] [2003], as well as the connection...
Published 18 months ago by W. Rodick


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scandanavian capers!, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
Headhunters is a truly epic piece of work through it's brisk beginning to ludicrous middle on to the twisty, thrilling and sombre climax, it really is a film to cherish.

This Scandinavian flamboyant thriller has one of the slickest production values i have seen for some time considering it's modest budget. The editing and camera-work is astonishing bringing to life even the most inanimate of objects..such as milk cartons!
The plotting of Headhunters is not as intricate or head spinning as it leads you to suspect, in fact come the middle third the narrative s there feverishly to help move things along as does the patience and virtue of the film's non-showy cast. In particular our anti-hero Roger Brown(even the name has a sense of irony and caricature)is one of the most well written and compelling of antagonists for some while and his values and worth all come to the fore front for the audience to either sympathize or frustrate in equal measure it might seem. Any ethical questions that arise are swiftly answered by surprising and often hilarious results. If the film has a tone, theme, message to it(it doesn't need one) it is that ones self can be awoken by the most drastic and sensational of circumstances..you really will never know what is round the corner...like Roger Brown says sometimes you just got to gamble!
Headhunters perhaps has one too many coincidences and 'would that really happen' moments perhaps but can be overlooked by the sheer audacity of it all. It will not be every ones cup of tea with its grisly scenes and laconic, parsimonious and dark humour but it has just enough convention to keep even the less attentive entertained.
Headhunters is the type of film that does not come around too often but when it does we all need to sit up and take note before Hollywood remakes it. An absolute joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Implausible but superb, 28 April 2012
By 
JOHN GREEN (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at the cinema yesterday. I've not read the book on which it's based, but it certainly has a cleverly plotted and literate screenplay, with great flashes of black humour, and is highly recommended.

I think that what makes the film stand out from the glut of Scandinavian thrillers is the way in which the film reverses our sympathies. We start out loathing the main character, Roger Brown (played by Aksel Hennie), who is an absolute sleazeball - smug, greedy, manipulative and unfaithful to his gorgeous, but much taller, wife (his size seems to give him the sense of insecurity that drives him, and is mentioned at both the beginning and end of the film) - YET we end up rooting for him against his adversary, Clas Greve (played by Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, who also recently appeared in 'Blackthorn' as the young Butch Cassidy). And the reason why the film is able to change the way we feel about Brown is the way in which he is made to atone for his sleazy previous life through a succession of extreme, and often far-fetched, indignities suffered at the hands of Greve. And he is the ultimate survivor, who, once he realises what is going on, is able to put himself one step ahead of his tormentor. We reckon that anyone who can come out the other side of what he is subjected to deserves to come out on top. Yes, he is a sleazeball, but at least he's not as evil as Greve.

What also makes the film satisfying is that the minor characters are so well drawn, including Brown's two women, and, most notably, his partner-in-crime Ove Kjikerud (played by Eivind Sander) who is reluctant to give up his weekend with his Russian hooker to help perpetrate the crime that will inevitably, and literally in Brown's case, land them in the brown stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller., 10 May 2012
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
Roger Brown loves to live the high life. He has expensive tastes, a beautiful wife but all of this costs a lot of money and that is one thing Roger does not have a great deal of. He is keeping his head above the water and lives in fear of the future. His beautiful wife wants to start a family, Roger doesn't and is afraid he will lose her thus he lives the life of a high roller. The man is slick and from the beginning of the film he is cast as a rather horrible, vain character. In the end the viewer will perhaps have a different opinion. His job pays well but in order to spend big he must resort to stealing valuable pieces of art and replace them with forgeries.

So it comes to the moment when he crosses the wrong man. This man is Clas Greve, ex special forces member who also specializes in nano technology. He owns an extremely valuable piece of art which Roger views as being an early retirement package. And so the chase is on and Roger's life gets turned upside down rather quickly by a man who is just as smart and certainly more deadly. There is one scene in particular where Roger finds himself literally in the s***!

Thrills, spills, mixed well with some black humour and a dollop of action all combine to make it stylishly Scandinavian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very very good, 29 Aug 2012
Were do i start with headhunters,id never heard of the film or the writer of the film before, i only bought on the very positive reviews i had read.
i love foreign films(generelly horror though), so subtitles i dont mind at all.
i absolutly loved every minute of this film from start to finish,when it actually finished i wanted more!!!
the acting, the characters especially the lead were top draw,the story twisting and turning in all directions was breathtaking.
foreign movie making at its finest, i would go as far as saying this is in my top 5 films of all time,the only non horror lol
go buy this film and enjoy every second of it,,you wont regret it,even if you dont watch foreign films give it a go!
5/5 a must own and watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 13 July 2012
By 
N. Offer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
What a movie should be about, a good exciting plot, great acting and no special effects needed. Thats why foreign cinema is often superior, reasonably cheap productions done with limited resources but have great direction and production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can predict a Hollywood remake on this one!, 29 July 2012
By 
Dra Ana Neves (Lisboa,Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
My boyfriend is Norwegian and in one of our trips to Norway I discovered Jo NesbÝ's writing and got completely addicted, so when I got my hands on the film I was absolutely thrilled to see it.
It's an amazing book and the movie doesn't disappoint at all, obviously there are some missing items but nevertheless it makes you cling on to the screen from the beginning until the very end which is quite unpredictable ;)
Totally recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised - good one, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, lots of suspense right up to the end, some black humour ... definitely a good one to watch. Added bonus was finding that the dvd also had a spoken English option, though I was not expecting this from the product description. Was geared to read the subtitles and was pleasantly surprised. OK the dub-over is as another reviewer mentions, somewhat clumsy, but hey, no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Norwegian thriller, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There is definately something about Scandinavian movies and tv at the moment and Headhunters is another great thriller about a corprorate headhunter who is also an art thief replacing valuable works of art with forgeries so he can keep to his rich lifestyle but crosses paths with a literal headhunter, an ex army special forces tracker who specializes in hunting people litterally. A terrific cast and an absolutely gripping thriller from the producers of the excellent Millenium trilogy. If you are a fan of those you should enjoy this too though i would reccommend for anyone who likes a fine thriller. If you are one of those people that are allergic to subtitles you can watch a dubbed english language version and a Hollywood remake is on the way. The Scandinavians have done it again and created another excellent cracker of a thriller that puts a lot of Hollywood thrillers to shame. Tense, well acted and terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 23 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
This is easily my favourite film of 2012 so far, simply a brilliant dark twisted thriller a la Fargo, just get it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Film of 2012, so far, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] (DVD)
I'd thoroughly recommend this film. Clever, witty, and genuinely suspenseful, with sold characters and a plot that, well, stretches credibility a bit but gets away with it. My only complaint was that I wished I'd watched the original with subtitles as the overdubbed English version I sat through seemed a bit clumsy. If you like intelligent thrillers with intelligent actors putting a plot through its paces then this is for you. It's not Wallender po faced suicidal Scandinavian crime, and I was laughing out loud at some of the outlandish scenes, but I never felt it was totally taking the p. In a way, the humour reminded me a bit of Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, this being a Norwegian version. For me, this is up there with the French version of Tell No One Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] which, if you haven't seen it, you damn well should. Get this now before the Hollywood version comes out which will, no doubt, fall short of this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD]
Jo Nesbo's Headhunters [DVD] by Morten Tyldum (DVD - 2012)
£3.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews