Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money.
This is an excellent budget box set release, featuring some of Woody's very best films.

The set comprises 10 slimline DVD cases, each with two discs inside. The front and back of each case features the covers to the films included, with the blurbs and technical detail of the discs printed on the inside sleeves. Some of the films feature alternate covers to...
Published on 29 Aug. 2012 by swingingelectriceels

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it if you can get it cheaply
This one features some real classics, but not everything; some are certainly sorely missing. None of his 1960s work is here - chronologically, it kicks off with 1971's 'Bananas' (a fine farce) - and it also misses his post-2004 work, ending chronologically with 'Melinda and Melinda'. Inbetween, we miss 'Deconstructing Harry', 'Bullets Over Broadway', 'Husbands and Wives',...
Published 17 months ago by A. Sajip


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money., 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
This is an excellent budget box set release, featuring some of Woody's very best films.

The set comprises 10 slimline DVD cases, each with two discs inside. The front and back of each case features the covers to the films included, with the blurbs and technical detail of the discs printed on the inside sleeves. Some of the films feature alternate covers to their individual releases.

The slimline cases are all housed in a cardboard slipcase, which is not too flimsy, but not overly sturdy, either. The film titles on the side of each DVD case are printed in a uniform, easy-to-read, black text on a white background. The width of the set is tantamount to five regular size DVD cases.

Overall, the only minor problem that I have with the set is that the films are collated in alphabetical, rather than chronolgical, order.

-----------------------

Subtitle info:

Alice: French, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired).

Annie Hall: Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Another Woman: Dutch, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Bananas: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Broadway Danny Rose: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired).

Crimes and Misdemeanors: French, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired).

Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex: Dutch, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish, Polish, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Hannah and Her Sisters: Italian, French, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese, Polish, Greek, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Interiors: Dutch, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, English (for the hearing impaired).

Love and Death: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, English, German (for the hearing impaired).

Manhattan: Dutch, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish, Polish, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Melinda and Melinda: English (for the hearing impaired).

Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy: Dutch, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Greek, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Purple Rose of Cairo: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired).

Radio Days: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, English (for the hearing impaired).

September: French, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired).

Shadows and Fog: French, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired).

Sleeper: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).

Stardust Memories: Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish, English (for the hearing impaired).

Zelig: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, English (for the hearing impaired), German (for the hearing impaired).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it if you can get it cheaply, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
A. Sajip (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
This one features some real classics, but not everything; some are certainly sorely missing. None of his 1960s work is here - chronologically, it kicks off with 1971's 'Bananas' (a fine farce) - and it also misses his post-2004 work, ending chronologically with 'Melinda and Melinda'. Inbetween, we miss 'Deconstructing Harry', 'Bullets Over Broadway', 'Husbands and Wives', 'Mighty Aphrodite', 'Manhattan Murder Mystery', and 'Play It Again, Sam' - and those are just the good ones that were omitted.

To have the films ordered chronologically would be far more satisfying; one could track his substantial development as a filmmaker, from the hit-and-miss gagfests to his sublime farces ('Sleeper', 'Love and Death', 'Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex...' etc.), moving into his mature period ('Annie Hall', 'Manhattan'), and then into his serious, Bergman-esque period ('Husbands and Wives', 'Crimes and Misdemeanours'). Instead, the films are arranged alphabetically, making the progression seem surprisingly arbitrary.

Still, one must consider the box's purpose - it's just a 'collection', and probably intended as a convenient box of movies for people who are already fans. I managed to get it in Fopp for £10 - that's right, £10 - about a year ago, and I'd recommend it if you could get it for under £25.

Of course, if you're just getting into him, you could do much worse than buying this. Overall, despite its flaws, the quality of the films - many of which are among the greatest films ever made by anyone - recommends this item to you.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody is fantastic (as usual), 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
I had never seen the early Woody Allen movies and this collection is a treat for anyone who needs to catch up or just want a recap. In these movies you can really feel the same sense of humour as in his books (eg: side effects) that were written around the same time. Just ridiculously funny.
As some people have mentioned, movie titles are not always written on the DVDs (but they are on the cases that each hold 2 DVDs) and there are no bonus scenes since Woody Allen doesn't do bonus scenes; but at this price and for such a great collection just don't open all the boxes at the same time to not mix the DVDs and you'll be sorted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No frills, no extras - who needs 'em?, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Julie D (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
A great box set with a vast array of films from different points in Allen's career as a film maker, if you like Woody this set will keep you entertained for many hours. I knock off one star only because perhaps some key movies are not included in this set but if you are more a fan of the 'later, unfunny films' you will find the set will bring you much pleasure. I was disappointed to find Allen's paean to Django Reinhardt was omitted as I particularly like that film; the name of the film escapes me - Sean Penn played the lead - but if you're reading this you may well be able to fill in the gap. Still, there's plenty here to keep Woody fans quiet for hours.

For me, the serious stuff is generally by far the best. Some of Allen's 'early funny films' are in one regard what you might expect the films of a former stand up comedian to be. Joke after joke ricochets out almost as though Woody is certain he can make us laugh and somehow wants to fulfil our desire to laugh. The plots at times seem more or less a framework on which to hang more jokes. It's not that the jokes are bad - they're not - but personally I feel much more relaxed as Allen gradually hits his stride and the humour becomes more situation based, more observational. The films then become more layered and multi-dimensional.

I can't say I have a favourite film as there are many in this set I've enjoyed but for me wonderful stuff happens when Woody combines music / vaudeville / jazz themes with his films so a great film for me was 'Radio Days'. Many of these film box sets include plenty of extras and lavish booklets, etc which of course as film fans we end up paying for. If it helps keep the cost of very large box sets like this acceptable, I'm quite happy to forego the padding. I bought a cheap biography of Allen after I bought this box set but haven't got around to reading it yet - if you want extras, you'll need to get creative and get together your own. This set does include trailers - which I do find of interest - but that's your lot.

Other than that, all human life is here. Allen frequently confronts the knotty issue of how life tends to become less neat and even more perplexing the older one gets - not that simple a theme to explore and still have the film remain cohesive. Just one theme among many. Despite Allen often choosing New York as a backdrop for his pictures, the themes are universal. These films - particularly the later ones - seem to inhabit more a European sensibility which perhaps reflects his Jewish identity much more strongly than his American one.

Something else that stood out for me was Allen's frequent selection of women characters in the later films to carry the intent of the movies. I find Woody very pleasingly pro women. I think from the films it's evident that he likes them and even, at times, understands them. If women in his films are shabbily treated by the men around them, the viewer is left in no doubt about the injustice of their suffering. I don't believe Allen sets out in any of his films to contribute to the gender debate but he is artistically so aware, and so much concerned with the slipstream into which all humanity flows, this ends up being a natural by-product. So - to date I've not read a single word about what Woody's films are supposed to be about in the eyes of the experts but the raw material alone has made me draw many possible conclusions and in short, these films have made me think a lot. For this kind of price a very fair exchange indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of some of Woody Allen's best films, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
Although this is not a comprehensive collection, it does include a very good number of Woody Allen's films including some of this classics, and will sit well in any DVD collection - also very good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of Woody's early films as director and writer, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
Great collection of Woody's early films as director and writer, even if it does miss out What's up Tiger Lily and Take the Money and Run (and the multi-director New York Stories). 20 films, from 1971's Bananas to 1980 to 1991's Shadows and Fog and Melinda and Melinda from 2004 (not sure why that was included other than to make up the numbers). Serious films like September, Interiors and Another Woman rub shoulders with the early "funny" films like Bananas and Sleeper, my favourites (Love and Death, Manhattan, Annie Hall, Stardust Memories, Purple Rose of Cairo, Hannah and her Sisters and Radio Days) still seem fresh to me, even though I've seen them so many times before, and those I hadn't seen since they first came to my local cinema (like Crimes and Misdemeanors, Shadows and Fog or Alice) are like meeting old friends. With the brilliant cinematography of Gordon Willis on classics like Manhattan, A Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy and Zelig, there is something for everyone and I, for one, am looking forward to a boxset of the next 20. And will someone please put together a collection of films where Woody performs for another director - I want people to see The Front and Play it Again Sam and re-evaluate the underrated Woddy Allen, actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars repackage of existing disks, 15 Sept. 2012
By 
Richard Bevan (Worcester, Worcs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
This box set is good value for money but don't expect any remastering or any extras. Wood Allen is not a fan of DVD extras anyway, so nothing unexpected there. The disks though are somewhat inconsistent with languages and subtitles since they literally are the same disks are issued individually over the years.
One annoying thing about this is that many of the disks don't have the name of the film printed on them. This is probably ok with individual dvd's but not in a box set since then some detective work will be needed to find out what DVD you've got in your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
MISS MELANIE J DAVIS (Newbury, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
very good value for money. most of Woody's best films. This collection spans his work over many years. I would recommend this to any Woody fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic and prolific film maker, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
A snip at approx two quid per film! Woody is a fantastic and prolific film maker who has directed an incredible 47 films over the last 46 years. His work is constantly challenging and experimental yet always consistent in its quality. These are 20 of his earliest films. I am currently reading Conversations with Woody Allen by Eric Lax which I would recommend as well. An illuminating insight into one of cinema's most talented and original visionaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
Truman (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
I've just got my second-hand set and paid just £1 per film - a bargain! Even bought new the set is amazing value. I agree with the point raised elsewhere that simply using the same discs as previously released is quite lazy (does it really cost that much to change the discs so they're all the same?) but even for the discs with no names printed on them it's quite easy to tell which film is which - there are 2 discs in each slim case and these correspond with the pictures on the outside of the case. Unless you mix them up yourself you should be fine! Overall, I can't recommend this boxset enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971)
The Woody Allen Collection [DVD] (1971) by Woody Allen (DVD - 2012)
£25.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews