Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 7 August 2013
Bought this to try and improve wireless coverage in my 3-storey townhouse, and as a replacement for my Sky Fibre Hub, and it works like a charm.

Wireless coverage is significantly extended versus before, even extending down to end of 30' garden and into the garage with 2 bars out of 4 on my phone (with router at front of house, so 2 internal and 1 external wall to get through).

As for Sky Fibre, I installed the semi-official 'Merlin' firmware due to Sky's insistence on using proprietary handshake protocols (meaning your average router won't be able to connect), and it connected first time plus it was probably the easiest router I've ever set-up. Literally minutes to set up, although another 40 minute wait ensued before finally connecting (due the scummy way Sky handle their fibre connection, not the router's fault!).

If you have Sky Fibre yourself, do a quick Google first as you'll need to 'sniff out' your login details using Wireshark if you are planning to get rid of your stock Sky router (the process is easy enough and there are plenty of detailed guides available on forums).
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 26 March 2013
After initial difficulty caused by this being on sub-net 192.168.1.1 which means it is totally inaccessible from my existing 192.168.0.xxx devices and computers. After some googling, I finally resorted to putting a spare network card into a spare PC and setting it to 192.168.1 allowing me to change the address to the 192.168.0 subnet. This is a stupid problem with many devices with fixed initial IP address on the 'wrong' subnet (that is not specially of ASUS's making). After that, setup of the ASUS RT-N56U as an access point was pretty simple and the router works well with good range and speed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2012
had the black night for a few months now...only useing the bog standard firmware...may try merlins or tomato custom firmware next though...as a virgin media customer i was plagued with terrible wifi from the supposed super hub...superdud fits it better...black night is very easy to set up...ten minutes...can be used as a media player through usb...also can plug printer into it and was detected almost immediatley....qos settings are easy set up....i was like a kid in a sweet shop whilst in the settings...there is so many uses...i was amazed....cant recomend this highly enough!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 18 September 2012
If your on the 100Mb Virgin Media Service, and not getting full speed. It probley down to your old router.
Put your VM Superhub into modem mode, and plug this unit into the superhub, and watch your VM service fly.
Getting 103Mb on the 100Mb service, cant wait till my service goes to 120Mb. Easy to setup, took all of 10mins.

After using for a few days now, this has to be the BEST router I have used on a Home network. I have used Linksys, Netgear, Zyxel, and Belkin, and none come close to the speed and features.

Great for Gaming on PC and Console.

I have added a 32GB USB memory stick, so this gives me a small shared network area.

If your in two minds what router to get, this will be the one to go for.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 19 October 2014
Make no mistake, this is a very powerful piece of kit! Not only in terms of digital 'horsepower' but in how easy it is to set up.

For the power user (of which I would like to think I am one) there are a plethora of options in terms of security as well as the mode in which the router is to operate (standard router mode, repeater mode, access point mode or media bridge). I am currently using it in 'access point' mode to distribute wireless throughout the property.

The wireless strength is impressive and can easily deal with solid (somewhat bunker like) walls. There is the option of 5ghz broadcasting for newer wireless devices that support that standard.

Although it is not cheap you get what you pay for!

Do bear in mind there is a newer version supporting the AC wireless standard, although only newer devices will support this.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 25 January 2015
I will admit that I did not run this with the Asus software except for about 10 minutes first time I switched it on. I basically bought this to replace my EE router and give me enhanced security and functionality. Moreover, I bought this specific model because of it's compatibility with dd-wrt (open source router firmware). Hence, the first thing I did when I unboxed this was to switch it on, wipe it, and install alternative firmware. As a result, I cannot comment on it's plain vanilla "standard" operation as I'm using totally different software to run it. For those who are interested, flashing the dd-wrt firmware was pretty straightforward although you do need to exercise due care and caution - and also find the right version of the firmware that actually works.

All that I can really comment on for standard usage therefore is;
* Build quality is good. Does not feel like a cheap plastic job. Is reassuringly heavy, solid build, good materials, and looks extremely sleek and "hi tech".
* Antenna and therefore wifi coverage are excellent. I used to lose wifi halfway down the garden or around the corner of the house, but I can now sit at the bottom of the garden with my phone/laptop and still get a good connection. Speed is also excellent, especially if your client device (phone/laptop/etc) is capable of supporting the higher speeds it offers. Obviously if they don't then this is a bit pointless ;)
* The brief look I had at the range of features that the stock firmware offered seemed pretty good, but as already mentioned, I wanted a lot more from the router so didn't explore these at all.

All in all, you can expect to be able to unbox this, set it up really quickly, and do your initial configuration just as quickly, so you should be up and running in no time at all. The biggest challenge you are likely to have is remembering the password for your broadband connection!

I would recommend that you do one of the following (based on your technical knowledge/skills);
1) Log onto your existing router's web interface and write down all of the settings. If you have a standard ISP setup, then you probably just need the details from the main "basic setup" page or equivalent.
2) Alternatively, you can reconfigure your existing router to an address like "192.168.1.2" and turn off DHCP on that router. Plug in the ASUS and you can then access both the old and new router at the same time until you get all the ASUS configured as you want it.

Generally there are only a very few settings you need to worry about for the broadband side of things; username/password, connection type, things like that. So you should be fine.

Would definitely recommend to all!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 June 2014
As above it really is a very good product that works very well. However there are things you need to know. The instructions given are completely accurate in regards to the router itself however it fails to mention that when used with a fibre connection there are issues.

First make sure you get all of your user details and passwords from your ISP print them off as you will need them. Most providers have a connections page which list everything out for you. Plusnet's support on this is extreemly good giving you a table with all of your own settings rather than generic.

When you disconnect your old router from the fibre modem you need to log into the modem and turn of the PPoe connection then unplug the enthernet cable leaving your modem on. Then connect your router up and then turning the PPoe back on (assuming you use this connection) it may take sometime to connect properly. Only when you have done this run the installation software or connect via wifi and configure the router.

If you just unplug the modem and plug the router in then try and install it will fail repeatedly (believe me I know from experience) If you are note able to access the modem itself the next option is to turn it off unplug it and leave it disconnected for at least 10 minutes preferably 15 then connect it all togther and plug both modem and router in and leave again for a further 10 - 15 minutes this will allow the modem to do its thing and when you then run the installation software it works. Please note it may take some time for it to recognise your user name and passwork (about 5 minutes for me) just keep asking it to retry.

Most important: Your username and password for acccess may be different to your web logon for your account !!!!!

Enjoy a fine piece of technology which has lots of options.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 November 2013
My house has solid brick walls throughout and very thick solid wood floors. Previously with the BT HH4 my wireless printers would take ages to print or refuse to work, streaming HD media on the TVs would judder and my iPhone would regularly lose connection in the bedrooms and garden.

With the Asus Router there are no such problems, my iPhone is getting 2 bars where the HH4 was out of range and speeds of between 30 and 60Mbps depending on my location in the house/ garden despite the area being flooded with wireless signals from neighbouring properties. The HH4 never gave speeds of more than 35Mbps even at close range.

Another reviewer said the Quick start wizard didn't work with BT infinity but I had no problems.
Just followed the instructions as follows:
1. Plug the Assus router into the mains and turn on
2. Use the bundled Network cable to connect your computer to a LAN port on the router
3. When the LAN LED starts to blink use the network cable that came with your BT modem to connect it to the WAN port on the Asus router.
4. Open your web browser and follow the instructions

The quickstart wizard then asked me to enter the Routers 6 digit pin from its label, it then automatically detected my BT infinity and asked for a username and password.

As with any Non BT router the BT Infinity username you need to enter is bthomehub@btbroadband.com
A password is not needed for BT infinity but the Assus router does not support blank passwords so you can type anything into the password field e.g. "password", "Blank" or just a single letter.

When changing settings such as admin password and wireless key which most people will want to do, I found this router to have one of the best laid out interfaces I have seen by far. Everything is easy to find and straightforward.

When on its stand It is a fair bit taller than the BT HH4 especially with the 20cm antennas but I put this down to it being designed to work well rather than designed to fit through a letterbox.

The USB2 ports are ok for connecting a hard drive to but the transfer speed is a bit slow when you are used to USB3 however Asus make an app called AiCloud for iPhone and Android which lets you access the hard drive via a built in VPN from anywhere which is a useful feature to me.

No dropouts or lost connections after 3 weeks use so I would definitely recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 1 September 2013
Sorry Amazon, but I didn't buy this from you as I needed it quite urgently and my local PC World had one. Had I have had sufficient time, you would have got my custom.

So for others thinking of investing, do not hesitate. I had a Netgear 3700 on the end of an 80 Meg plusnet fibre line, and it was struggling to give me a decent signal in the ever increasing jungle of Wi-Fi broadcasts in my neighbourhood. Also, I always had problems with the WiFi receiver in my Samsung 11.6 netbook. All other devices seemed OK though, apart from not connecting straight away.

So I bought this bad boy and was immediately struck by the fantastic solid build quality, and the 3 antenna which gives me so much signal now.

One useful tip here guys. It would not see my internet connection when I ran the setup wizard despite trying all sorts (I am a very experienced and qualified computer technical architect, so not a hobbiest I must point out). So I figured I should update the firmware. So my tip is to download the latest firmware from the Asus web site before you decommission your old router. Luckily, I have a 3G mobile internet WiFi hotspot which I used. So I applied the latest firmware, and up came the internet connection straight away.

So the router itself has loads of features. My main interest was the quality of service (QoS) and parental controls. I have a 15 year old son who lives in the internet (think Lawnmower Man), and has a nasty Xbox addiction. So it is very important that he does not hog all the bvandwidth , and also, that the connection to his devices terminates at a defined time at night. Without this, he would not sleep, which means nobody else would either. So it meets those requirements, and was fairly easy to configure.

The only one gripe I could probably highlight is the lack of parental controls equivalent to netgears online parental controls where you can filter out certain categories such as porn, etc. With this feature, people wouldn't need any other router other than this one.

To the signal: The netgear was struggling to compete in the busy channels lately, and I struggled to get barely any signal on the 2.4Ghz range upstairs. The 5Ghz gave nothing upstairs (1920's chunky house). With the Asus though, I get maximum signal all over the house no matter where I am. In fact, I can now decommission the secondary router in my study which I used in a weak area as it is not needed now. I appoligse to my neighbours about their signals. They must be getting drowned out by mine now. Furthermore, any connection issues I was previously getting have totally disappeared now.

So buy it. This is the best router I have ever bought. And believe me, I have had my fair share of them.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Until a couple of years ago Asus was a brand that I didn't know, but then the purchase of a very decent Asus laptop showed me what quality equipment they can produce. Because of that I bought the `Black Knight' Asus RT-N66U router last autumn when I upgraded to a FTTC connection for internet; that proved to be a decent buy, offering good, stable service and lots of extras.

I've since had the chance to try this router too which is the slightly cheaper sibling, with a few differences but essentially it's very similar. As you'll see from the specification list this model offers slightly lower performance on paper, but in practice there's little between them apart from the Wi-Fi range in my experience. The five aerials are internal on this model and I've found that the range isn't as good as the dearer model which has externally mounted aerials at the back, but having said that it would still suffice in a smaller house or if you don't need to cover a very wide area.

One thing to note is that although this router is capable of using both the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz frequencies, in practice it doesn't use both unless it's necessary. Only if you're streaming HD video or other intensive tasks will the 5Ghz be used as simple web browsing is capably handled by the lower band. Setting up was really straightforward and it didn't take long before it was up and running - nothing too complicated here! I particularly like the fact that the 4 Gigabit LAN ports on the unit act as a Gigabit switch so you can connect up various equipment with this router acting as a way for them to share the connection. Also very good are the two USB 3.0 ports it has - I've set mine up with an external hard drive so that the files on it can be shared across the network.

In my mind the choice of this router or its sibling (RT-N66U) depends on whether you need the wider coverage offered by the dearer model as otherwise the differences between them are minimal. To be honest, you won't make a bad choice whichever you choose.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 117 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.