Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peanuts review of OWL micro+ wireless Electricity monitor
Beautifully made unit, both the transmitter and receiver. The huge display readout can be read from across the room and the display unit is fully portable so you can take it anywhere in the house or garden. You could monitor the freezer or tumble dryer etc in your shed or garage for example or take it to bed and keep an eye on night time electric consumption of fridges...
Published 7 months ago by no name

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars basic
fairly reasonable value for money, don't expect to get the same product that you would pay twice the price for,
Published 1 month ago by Ian Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peanuts review of OWL micro+ wireless Electricity monitor, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Beautifully made unit, both the transmitter and receiver. The huge display readout can be read from across the room and the display unit is fully portable so you can take it anywhere in the house or garden. You could monitor the freezer or tumble dryer etc in your shed or garage for example or take it to bed and keep an eye on night time electric consumption of fridges and freezers etc.!

The OWL Wireless Electricity Monitor is rather let down by the confusing setting up and programming instructions both in the box and on the website.

There are two booklets supplied with the unit and depending on which you read first you could end up inadvertently erasing your display program that you have entered and having to reprogram the display unit twice .

I would recommend that you follow the 'Safety and Connection guide' first in order to get your transmitter and display receiver paired wirelessly.

Once you have wirelessly paired the units refer to the 'Setting up your OWL ' in order to set up the display unit.

If you have a simple electricial supply with one meter you just need to program 'Tarrif 1' and set the other two tarrifs to 'OFF' Tarrif 2 and 3 are for monitoring off-peak tarrifs etc if you have night storage heaters for example.

Once the display is programmed you have a choice of 3 display modes COST, ENERGY, and CO2e which can be cycled by a single press of the Mode button.
In 'Energy 'mode you can toggle between real time current consumption and accumlative which will give you the total KWH units you have consumed since starting the OWL. When I compared the OWL to the KWH unit reading on my electric meter after 5 days I found the Owl was spot on.!

You can carry your OWL around the house and turn various electrical appliance on and off and get a near instant display of how many watts or Kilowatts the appliance is using, ( takes about 4-5 seconds for the OWL to update) . Its a good way of checking to see which items are costing the most to run or checking for faulty appliances too as we found our electric water heater temperature sensor was faulty !

In conclusion I would thoroughly recommend the OWL wireless electricity monitor for identifying high energy using appliances and monitoring electric consumption in real time. The only negative aspect is the less than clear instructions and lengthly and complicated setting up and programming proceedure. If you are fazed by setting up your Sky+ or DVD units ,you are going to find this hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
I have had asimilar unit previously, I particularly like on the OWL the way you may record a particular event. In our case how much the Kiln uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Owl electricity monitor, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Very good item very pleased with the puchase. Will have years of use with this item. Recomend to any one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb little gizmo, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Used it to check the power consumption of various things around the house, computer, hifi, cooker etc.....

Then switched to monitor my solar PV generation and it just sits in the kitchen looking cute and showing me whats happening with how much free power I'm getting.

It's not something you really absolutely need but if you don't have it you won't really know what's going on with the above examples that I mentioned so for me it is essential and you should get yourself one also.

Great product. No problems with recption in my house. I even went away from the house outside about 20m and hid behind a tree and it still worked!

Sort of Apple like design which is nice but topples over easy so needs a flat surface and not to be bumped into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Works great. Easy to setup, displays information really clearly. Transmitter has quite a good range. Highly recommend for any household!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OWL electricity monitor, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
This arrived quickly after ordering. Took a couple of attempts to get it working. I have electric Total Heating system and thought this would monitor both this and domestic heating. My heating storage is switched on and off throughout the day by a radio signal sent out by Scottish Hydro so I couldn't set times for off peak heating. Fitting to go around wire not wide enough to take two of my cables anyway. Monitor seems to be collecting usage data but, because it was installed late on the day it arrived, that has skewed the average use. In time this will balance out though. I did expect to be able to see the amount being used at a specific time, but maybe my interpretation is wrong though. Having said all this though I think I might buy a further monitor that I can use to monitor the amount being spent on off peak heating.. This is definitely a great little device if you only have one electric meter in your home and you want to be able to keep costs down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Arrived as requested. Allows us to monitor our electricity useage so we can take advantage of our PV cell generated electricity Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful gadget that will pay for itself, 23 Oct 2013
By 
J. Coole (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Easy to set up if you follow the instructions, although some may feel this is a little long winded. I realised after purchase that the device that is attached to the power cable needs to be installed on the electric meter itself; this then feeds information back via wireless to the readout display. I was concerned this would be an issue as the meter at our flat is outside and downstairs. This has not been an issue however and the receiver works in all rooms of our 2 bed flat.

The device itself appears to be accurate and will show how much any electrical device uses and you will soon realise where you can make easy savings! Just a small example would be that my TV, sky box and surround sound setup that is normally left in standby could save around 6-7 per quarter if it is turned off overnight. I am already starting to notice lights and other bits and pieces that do not need to be left on!

Great for those that are into gadgets but also a genuinely useful tool to help you save money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use energy monitor., 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Does exactly we expected. we now have a clear idea of how much energy we are using. Would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome gadget, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OWL micro+ Wireless Electricity Monitor - NEW GENERATION! (DIY & Tools)
Easy to install, instructions are easy to follow and guide is well described.

What i dislike:
* monitor display don't have option to be hang on wall
* monitor display don't have back-light and if its placed on dark place will hard to be seen, a light need to go over display to be seen. [sunlight or any other source]
* monitor display can be placed on angle when sitting somewhere, but only in vertical position, which limit its view angle if you place it at some lower position
* monitor display don't have sound alarm
* lag of temperature room monitor

The above listed are minor issues,[or missing features which we are aware before purchase it]
but they don't affect the joy from the tool.

What i like:
* New model from 2012 [others OWL similar tools are from 2010]
* 2 years warranty [others older OWL just 1]
* build-in quality
* more accurate than prevision models, +/-3%
* clean and stylish design. compact and light.
* has all kind of features that you can need to monitor and figure what's going on related to electricity where is installed
* has bar monitor display, visual indicator [older OWL don't have]
* has 2 user configurable alarms, one: when monitor current power usage for pick power usage. other when reach max total power consumption for a day. + when current power consumption[in real time] it will start blinking when reach the configured trigger point for max usage, and when become lower again will stop blinking, but will shows addiction "max" blinking text above the current power value, therefor you can figure that there was a power pick, and you can check its value when you press Up/Down, it will be auto stored for your review.
* strong wifi signal with no issues even when it goes throw walls or other metal subjects.
* power cord less for both monitor display and transmitter
* detailed history info for about anything that's monitored

With this tool you can monitor everything that you need,
to figure how much it consume and how much will cost you.
Very very handy and informative.

Tested many electric units allready,
how they work on idle, with half load, on full load.
include notebooks, desktop PCs, air-conditions, and many many other different.
Results from the monitor is very accurate.
Note that it measures with step of 16.5W
so if you measure something with lower power consumption it may not react,
depend of what level of this step is in.

Monitor display is easy to be viewed even from different angles, if you have light on it,
even from long distance 3-4 meters.[and maybe more]

Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d26aa14)

This product

Only search this product's reviews