Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2012
Never mind the slightly misleading title, soak up the ridiculously low price, marvel at the tidy packaging (with poster), and enjoy one of the best reggae compilations outside of the major sources - ie trojan, greensleeves etc. The first thing apparent is the lack of filler, all quality material, but not all dub. Plenty, though, along with a good measure of roots and some digital tracks -the whole compiled with skill and consideration. "Dub of a woman" and "Flat foot hustlin'" amongst many highlights. As inferred, the whole package is bereft of the usual excess of weaker material, so dont delay in buying this before someone notices the obvious pricing error!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
this album is a steal at the price...there are no weak tracks thrown in to make up the numbers I was delighted when I recieved my copy and played it for the first time...I would not be surprised to see this for 25 notes in any specialist record store. don't think twice just get a copy before the price goes up
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You can't argue with 40 tracks for £5-£6. Anyone who possesses a number of dub compilations will find some of the usual stalwarts turning up, such as King Tubby's "A Better Version" and Tommy McCook's "Better Collie Dub". However, there are some dubs here that are new to me and they are stormers - especially King Tubby's "Dub of a Woman" and "A Truthful Dub". I am a little puzzled that in a collection entitled "Dub" about 25% of the tracks aren't. So, we have Cornell Campbell's (admittedly fine version of) "My Country", Gregory Isaacs' "Rock On / RockAway" & "No speech, No Language"etc. The compiler's rationale may be that the non-dub tracks are included because there are dubs based on them also included. I would suggest making this more obvious by consecutive sequencing of the source tracks and the dubs based on them. With such a bewildering variety of dubs or 'versions' it isn't always easy to work out what is based on what.

Still very much worth having, though....
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Looking for good dub compilations can be excruciating. But this two CD compilation has a lot on offer. Usual suspects out of King Tubby, and a range of the seventies masters of the art of dub. And the delightful weird such as Dennis Alcapone's Cassius Clay- a ska driven piece of gold. It is value for the brass spent getting it sent by fat pigeon from England to downtown inner west Sydney. Cheap as chips. Great soundtrack/mission statement for those hot summer days when all you can do is sit on the couch, count your medications and drink tea. Oh well, time to crank up the sound system, annoy the neighbours, bass boom birds out of the sky and enjoy fat sounds! More colly vicar!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
This arrived in a splendidly packaged double CD case with a free poster. Clearly some love has gone into presentation. Not all of the tracks are actually dub but for the price who really cares. Ok there are some old favourites from King Tubby but these didnt grate as the CD has a lovely flow. Really its a steal for the price - 2 CD's and 40 tracks. If you collect compilations and you're waiting for the next Trojan release this will keep your days filled and your soul happy.9 out of 10.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
I bought this because it was cheap and I was curious.There are a lot better compilations around, Run It Red on the old Blood and Fire label is still for me the best compilation around. For me the tracks chosen are just don't have that heavy bass sound I love about dub. The Dub: Bass Culture (three of them) were better compilations as are the The Essential ones on the Metro label. There are some good tracks on here, just not heavy enough.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Some good tracks and some duds too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Dub is the ultimate in chill out if you've had a hectic day at work. It will probably get played more and louder as the winter evenings lengthen. A good introduction to the genre
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
This is a great dub compilation. Some of the tracks are a little less dubbed and seem more standard reggae however.
Nothing wrong with that but maybe not as good in the dub sense as say, frontline dub ,40 heavyweight dub sounds. On virgin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Very nice and enjoyable compilation of dub songs. Even for someone like me -not being a real addict to the genre- this is a varied and fresh dub album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.