Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Weldon is still our reigning Queen of literature and truth
the Spa De Cameron is a droll, whip-smart novel with the exciting and shocking twisry turn in plot that we've all come to expect from this iconic author. i read it in four delightful hours and i felt better about all my women friends afterward, less judgmental and more as if we're all in the "spa" of life together. i was unsurprised by my affinity for this books -- fay...
Published on 25 Jan 2009 by reader

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Just because you are paranoid doesn't mean there isn't a plot against you."
A novel displaying the tact and discretion of the worst kind of chick-lit, while also telling a number of spicy and, in some cases, extremely effective stories, Fay Weldon's offering is a whole curate's breakfast. A smorgasbord of women have decamped from their families over Christmas to spend £5,000 a head to be pampered and cosseted in a remote Spa Hotel. They don't get...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Eileen Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Weldon is still our reigning Queen of literature and truth, 25 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Paperback)
the Spa De Cameron is a droll, whip-smart novel with the exciting and shocking twisry turn in plot that we've all come to expect from this iconic author. i read it in four delightful hours and i felt better about all my women friends afterward, less judgmental and more as if we're all in the "spa" of life together. i was unsurprised by my affinity for this books -- fay weldon never makes a false move. she is always immaculate, witty, warm and incisive. i adore all of her books with a white hot passion; this book is no exception. ms weldon nevertrivializes her characters, male or female. they are always flesh, blood, and spirit. if you haven't read REMEMBER ME, PUFFBALL, AUTO DA FAY or MANTRAPPED, i envy you the discovery. she makes me feel glad to be a woman and unashamed to have loved men. because men are just people, as she is fond of pointing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Just because you are paranoid doesn't mean there isn't a plot against you.", 24 Jan 2010
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Paperback)
A novel displaying the tact and discretion of the worst kind of chick-lit, while also telling a number of spicy and, in some cases, extremely effective stories, Fay Weldon's offering is a whole curate's breakfast. A smorgasbord of women have decamped from their families over Christmas to spend £5,000 a head to be pampered and cosseted in a remote Spa Hotel. They don't get their moneys-worth when staff remain unpaid and inclement weather cuts them off from the outside world and leaves them having to shift for themselves for much of the time. They take to sitting in the Jacuzzi, telling each other their life stories. Some are frankly risible - The Manicurist's Tale of the Sheikh, the Judge's tale of a sex-change, the Trophy Wife's tale of five marriages and a burning yacht, and the worst of all was The Weather Girl's Tale of deadly deceit that ruined a man's life and caused his suicide. Others, particularly the Vicar's Ex-Wife's Tale of a marriage haunted by a poltergeist compounded from the souls of dead children, while containing little of a realistic bent are oddly haunting and somehow entirely credible. When she hits her stride right from the beginning of a story, Weldon's talents can both shock and delight. Some tales are downright sad and wicked, such as the Stepmother's Tale, others have a thread of wishful poignancy, such as the Company Director's Tale about life-long sibling rivalry ending happily and solved by an appeal to the European Court of Human Rights.

There is much to dislike about this strange vision of women who are either victims or psychopaths, with very little in between. It is a mirror image of the way some genres, such as certain kinds of crime novels, depict men as those who act brutally in the cause of a greater good. I did not like this view of women and found it misogynistic in various ways. On the other hand, some of the stories displayed forgiving qualities of wit and acuity. Weldon is a one-off - often trashy and careless, but also sometimes very astute. This book felt much too long - some of the stories might have been cut to make a lighter and more entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic weldon, 28 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Paperback)
I have been reading Fay Weldon since I was a young girl, and very much enjoyed this latest installment. Its a series of life stories from a varied group of women staying at a spa over Christmas. Many of the stories herein resounded with me personally. Having read all of her books, its interesting to see both how I have matured, and how she has since her books from the 60s/70s. Whilst she is always a realist, there was also alot of warmth in this book.

Wise, thought provoking and overall very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go along for the ride and meet yourself at the Yuletide Spa, 2 Jan 2010
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Paperback)
This strange new confection by a favourite author begins with some pretty shocking deaths. You almost cannot believe what you are reading. I found that part of the book rather hurried and out of synch with the rest of the story so do persevere. I have been reading Fay Weldon all my life so I knew she would sort it all out. Then moving swiftly on to the main stage in Cumbria at the excitingly edge of your seat stay at Castle Spa the pace slows and reflection is the order of the day. Phoebe Fox the narrator is the more balanced of this mixed bunch of Yuletide guests and she directs the playing out of their stories, each of which could fill a whole book. I hope the author never runs out ideas, however should she do so she could easily revisit her inventions here. Ms Weldon's brain is still fizzing away with moral dilemmas and her clever device to display her latest scenarios in these Scheherazade type fables lands with our sympathy firmly on the side of women. Men exist as pivotal influences but are regarded with genial and non judgemental despair. You just know that they are going to be weak and fail and see everything from their own perspective. No change there!
By weird coincidence I read this book over the Christmas season, where it is set and so I followed through the days of the holiday with her motley group of Christmas escapees with even more connection. This enhanced my enjoyment no end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spa Decameron, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Kindle Edition)
If you like Fay Weldon's books you will like this as well. It's a great read. Next book please for your fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fay Weldon, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Fay Weldon has always been a favourite author of mine. Now I have a Kindel it was super to see how quickly a book can download ready for reading. Fabulous piece of equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant author, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Kindle Edition)
I don't quite know what to make of this book - if you're looking for something with a plot and a point, then it's not for you. Having said that, Fay Weldon is a brilliant author and this book is a joy to read because of the way it's written. There's no sudden 'reveal' at the end, no sub-plots going on, no thrilling conclusion and yet it still grabs you and holds your attention right to the end. The story of a group of women holed up in a Spa over Christmas and New Year, each telling their own stories, is a great idea.
I love this author - she brings her characters to life and makes them so very believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A struggle!, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Kindle Edition)
I really struggled with this book, starting it and putting it aside several times before gritting my teeth and trying to get into it and finish it. I read some of the stories, many of which were unusual and entertaining, but still had to skip quite a bit of the book to read the ending. Possibly too many characters and too man diversions to hold my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely food for thought!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Kindle Edition)
As always Fay Weldon has me in stitches with the way she writes and how she weaves her story lines. There is certainly some truth in the way she portrays relationships and once I have started one of her books I find them very hard to put down. This book definitely had me laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Spa Decameron, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Janet (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spa Decameron (Kindle Edition)
I have read a lot of Fay Weldon's books. I love her style of writing. She is one of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spa Decameron
The Spa Decameron by Fay Weldon
£4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews