Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see movie!
This is one those cases where everything works very well together. A cast that is really good. Good romantic story and good direction.
Matthew is good and secure in his role as Adam. So as Casper ( acting/directing and writing the movie) .
About Allison Lane , she shines since the beginning with her very funny Candy
And what to say about Michael Medico, he...
Published on 29 July 2012 by M. Bordalho

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not brilliant either
I approach every gay-themed film I watch with exactly the same open mind. Some are wonderful, some are okay and some just waste precious minutes from my life that I will never see again. This films falls into the middle category; it was okay. For a start, I wholeheartedly agree with the other reviewer who mentioned Casper Andreas' acting ability. I use the word ability,...
Published on 18 Sept. 2012 by txacoli


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not brilliant either, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
txacoli (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
I approach every gay-themed film I watch with exactly the same open mind. Some are wonderful, some are okay and some just waste precious minutes from my life that I will never see again. This films falls into the middle category; it was okay. For a start, I wholeheartedly agree with the other reviewer who mentioned Casper Andreas' acting ability. I use the word ability, but it's more a delusional belief he has that he can emote. He can't! This film is hammy and badly acted in parts (mainly the bits that he is in, although there are others - Alex Mapa anyone??), completely over the top in others and ultimately for my taste, doesn't deliver everything that all the positive reviews have made of it.

That said, Michael Medico is the cutest thing on screen and acts the others right out of the park. Here is a guy who deserves to carry his own film. The relationship between his character (John) and Adam is rather touching, although he has to carry Matthew Ludwinski through his scenes at times. In fairness, Ludwinski is a relative newcomer to the big screen and there is promise there. He doesn't do too bad a job and is, at least watchable.

The film is a rather disjointed affair. Nick's descent into drug abuse just seems to come out of nowhere and was badly edited into the film and the romance between John and Adam is a little twee at times. The storyline had the capacity to be more scathing about the worst of Hollywood's excesses, but misses many of the opportunities it had. Despite this, I wasn't unhappy that I'd watched it, but it did leave me wanting just that little bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see movie!, 29 July 2012
By 
M. Bordalho "mbordal" (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
This is one those cases where everything works very well together. A cast that is really good. Good romantic story and good direction.
Matthew is good and secure in his role as Adam. So as Casper ( acting/directing and writing the movie) .
About Allison Lane , she shines since the beginning with her very funny Candy
And what to say about Michael Medico, he is just adorable!
Really a great movie.

And about the dvd, also have as plus, a short-film from Casper Andreas " Mormor's visit" ( Grandma's visit) with a cute story (swedish speaking ,subtitled in English).
Just buy it , you will really enjoy it as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best gay themed movies ever, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
C. W. Marshall "christof" (clapham, london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
Romantic, sexy, beautifully shot, unashamedly gay and with oh my Lord Matthew Ludwinski in it...perfect. Can only be described as one of the best US made gay themed movies ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No "Chemistry" like this, since....., 12 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
....."Brokeback Mountain." ......(*Alternate title for this review: "I Hear the Crabcakes are Excellent").

(( 3.5 STARS ACTUALLY AWARDED ))

In its first near two-thirds running time, "Going Down in Blah-Blah Land," is the typical "Hollywood meat grinder" story about all those young newbies, scrambling for a foothold, after arriving in the world's film capital. Ah, BUT, then come the very best parts, where we start to see...(well, you'll find that out, below).

NOW TO OUR CAST: And saving the best for last, here's a glimpse at the major characters...beginning with:

- *Allison Lane, as the ditzy B(Girl)FF of the male Lead. Named "Candy", she is the supportive and often funny--yet sometimes tiresome--friend from back home. (Good for Allison...she gets more screen time than anyone other than our main star).

- Next, in a major (time-wise) supporting role, we have the Director, himself: Casper Andreas, playing a "user" of a guy, who we'll later see as the true scuzzball he becomes. (This viewer thinks Andreas would do well, in future, spending all his time BEHIND the camera....for I'm starting to picture him as he appears in his last scene---or is that just effective acting?).

- AND FINALLY: Let's speak to that "CHEMISTRY" mentioned above. RARELY, in an American produced Gay film, have we seen such an emotionally deep relationship between two men. It was obviously developed by main actor, Matthew Ludwinski (as our gorgeous "Adam") and his co-lead, Michael Medico (as sweet, but closeted "John") during their shooting time with one another. Their "few" scenes together will keep you RIVETED. (And that's the shame of this movie: 56 and one-half minutes into it before we even see them one on one--except for a "prologue" of sorts). NEVERTHELESS, you tell me if the likes of this film relationship has been seen, coming out of the US, since the days of "Brokeback Mountain"!

Oh, I had my doubts, well into this movie......but Matthew Ludwinski held me to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie - with a storyline!, 13 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. C. Mcintosh (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this movie. Cast work extremely well together and you really feel for the main character Adam. Given how much crap there is calling themselves gay movies which are just soft porn with a thin storyline, this breaks the mould.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you like happy endings?, 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Tom(C) (Upstate, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
Don't take this seriously and it will be an enjoyable, rewarding movie in the end though our boy must face a few tribulations nothing too harsh happens to him and I'm sure people who like happy endings will appreciate this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The usual boring stuff, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
I actually don't exactly know how to review this film cause it's so similar to the stream of low quality low budget gay films that I'ss just pass. The content has been written about here, so that may suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexual freedom for the sake of love....., 20 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
Andy Zeffer's book Going Down in La-La Land is extremely well written, and provides a detailed look at the truth behind some of Hollywood's curtains. The movie successfully portrays this, without deviating much from the sincerity contained within the book. More specifically you cannot help but sympathise with the characters, most of whom seem to want nothing more than an opportunity. Matthew Ludwinski who plays Matthew tries like many who have gone before him to make a career of acting, and suffers the indignity of being abused by those that seek to exploit the many who seek fame. The truth is that many will fail to make the grade, and many more will fall between the gaps, preyed upon by both the commercial business interests in film and business in general. Knowing that many have to sustain their livelihoods whilst pursuing their Hollywood dreams, allows many an employer to abuse their staff, knowing that there is always someone to replace them. Then there is the seedy world of porn, which provides an alternative to the many that can't find a break. The question is which business is more seedy, the one that exploits young men and women commercially, or the porn industry that sustains them (albeit for awhile).

What I particularly enjoyed about the portrayal of young Matthew as a budding porn "star" was his sincerity and believability as a character. Far from being coerced into porn he actively makes a choice, albeit influenced by someone he cares for. Such is the power of wanting to be loved and accepted. Many exploit this, whilst others recognise it as a driving force for their own redemption. Just as easily as they are drawn into this world which is constantly looking for new, fresh sexuality, they break from it.

Its a heartless reality, but some are able to rise above it. "Going down in la la land", has it moments. Some of which are a little far fetched, such as the closeted actor abandoning all for love. All in all however, it is sincere, well intentioned and very well written. The acting is really good, and the production rather slick when compared to many others of the same theme. Generally a well positioned movie, with some beautiful moments.

The comedy whilst an aside, is extremely well crafted and fitting of such an intense subject. All in all I liked this movie a great deal, and look forward to seeing more of the director Casper Andreas (who also stars in the film). I particularly enjoyed some of his other films such as: Between Love & Goodbye [DVD] and Big Gay Musical [DVD]. Although I would give his: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] and A Four Letter Word [DVD] [2007] a skip.

"Going down in la la land," is one of his better movies, and I am sure many would appreciate it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casper's Newest and Best, 22 July 2012
By 
Barry Stone - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great nights entertainment and a great film by any standards. Casper Andreas wrote directed and had a major role in the film. The man is getting so good. The script is spot on and fun. The actors were top notch and it is so gratifying to see good acting in independent gay cinema. Matthew Ludwinski as Adam the main character is splendidly endearing, confused, optimistic and outstandingly beautiful to look at as well. He is a thoroughly convincing character. All the cast played the individual roles so well. Yes their was individuality in every character so Casper must be congratulated again for the work that went into the script. I watched it with a friend who is an actor and has also lived in LA and he laughed and commented all the way through. He was knocked out and wanted to see it again. One should not forget that they know how to use a camera as well. There is nothing to criticise here so do have a look. See it at a festival or get a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome film, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Down In La La Land [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, great cast, cool story line and yes the lead actor does get his kit off! It's a great Gay comedy/drama, seriously buy it you won't regret it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Down In La La Land [DVD]
Going Down In La La Land [DVD] by Casper Andreas (DVD - 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews