Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great story, great acting
This is a film I will be glad to keep in my permanent collection. It reminded me, in some ways, of If these Walls Could Talk 2 - following the lives of contemporary women and their lives, laughs, struggles as they seek to become true to themselves in a world that has different expectations/sometimes hands them a raw deal.

Great performances by the three very...
Published on 21 Aug 2012 by Seaside belle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not a bad film.
Published 1 month ago by helen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great story, great acting, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Veils [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film I will be glad to keep in my permanent collection. It reminded me, in some ways, of If these Walls Could Talk 2 - following the lives of contemporary women and their lives, laughs, struggles as they seek to become true to themselves in a world that has different expectations/sometimes hands them a raw deal.

Great performances by the three very different female leads. The rest of the cast is strong, too; again, with some great contrasts between characters

The story is told - or at least parts of it are - three times. Each time from the perspective of one of the three female leads. On the whole, this device works and is a useful reminder that whilst we only experience life from our perspective there are others that are equally valid.

It also reminded me, in a very different way, of Sliding Doors - the `what if' moments are more subtle but there are instances where if someone had arrived a moment earlier/later things might have been very different. And, that, of course, is very true to life. As, I think, is the whole film. The women and the issues they face feel `real' and could apply across a variety of ages, cultures and traditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three women, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Veils [DVD] (DVD)
The story of the 3 very different, but interconnected, lives of three Middle Eastern women living in the US.

Leyla is preparing to get married, leaving best friend tomboy Nikki and life as she knew it behind. However, when she meets Jamal, an acquaintance (Amira) from school's brother, she starts doubting whether she is engaged to the right person and for the right reason.
Nikki and Amira are introduced as extremes in Leyla's life where Nikki represents the crazy, funny and popular - but self-proclaimend f***up - friend, and Amira is the geeky, religious aspiring study partner, but the two start a budding friendship when Leyla has less time for them and when they realise that they actually kind of like - and maybe even need - each other.

It's well acted and with an interesting storyline where you see the different sides to the story from changing perspectives starting with Leyla, then Amira and finally Nikki. The three stories interweave beautifully and there is not too much overlap and repetition although they are all the same events, but with a different focus. This works very well. My only main complaint is that I thought the ending was a bit abrupt or superficial considering how much else had been put into the story.

Not so much a lesbian film as a film that deals with coming of age and finding your place in the world, but well worth a view. 3.5 stars

Extras
Behind the veils
On the set
Deleted scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Veils [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this. It's got depth in the lifes of these women and the women have there own persoanl charitistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Veils [DVD] (DVD)
good film good acing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Three Veils [DVD] (DVD)
Not a bad film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Veils [DVD] (DVD)
okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 19 Feb 2013
By 
D. S. Fares - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Veils [DVD] (DVD)
The worst movie I have ever seen.
Boring movie and a waste of money
Actors terrible. Did not look natural
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Veils [DVD]
Three Veils [DVD] by Rolla Selbak (DVD - 2012)
5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews