Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice
This is a nice variation of a classic but the games pieces are a pathetic - what happened to the daleks and other features of the Dr Who series?. Perhaps the games manufacturers should re-think.
Published 24 months ago by Ted

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the most half-baked effort imaginable.
I bought this as a gift for my partner who is a big Doctor Who fan, and I felt embarrassed once we started playing. Were the playing pieces a TARDIS, a Dalek, a Cyberman...? No. Were the houses little colony ships ? No. Did the money even have pictures of different Doctors on them? No. Do we have a time scoop or E-space instead of jail? Hell no. How about a "psychic...
Published 21 months ago by Danny Darko


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the most half-baked effort imaginable., 2 April 2013
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
I bought this as a gift for my partner who is a big Doctor Who fan, and I felt embarrassed once we started playing. Were the playing pieces a TARDIS, a Dalek, a Cyberman...? No. Were the houses little colony ships ? No. Did the money even have pictures of different Doctors on them? No. Do we have a time scoop or E-space instead of jail? Hell no. How about a "psychic paper" instead of a "get out of jail free" card? No? Okay...

The way the designers have substituted places on the board, "chance" cards and such is bafflingly random, and in many cases they haven't bothered to change them at all. The whole thing feels like it was thrown together in a few hours by someone who skim-read the Doctor Who page on Wikipedia.

After the semi-decent Star Wars Monopoly set, this is a massive disappointment for Doctor Who fans. It would be more fun to play classic Monopoly and use your imagination; at least you wouldn't have to keep reminding yourselves which episode corresponds to which property.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 April 2013
By 
Paula Huggins (Singapore, Singapore) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
We were disappointed with so many elements of this game. It felt like an opportunity missed and that this was simply an exercise to make money out of the franchise. How do you "improve" an episode by putting a hotel on it? The tokens were disappointing too: would it have been too much to ask for a tardis? K9? Surely Free Parking should have had a tardis and not the usual car?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 30 Dec 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
This is a nice variation of a classic but the games pieces are a pathetic - what happened to the daleks and other features of the Dr Who series?. Perhaps the games manufacturers should re-think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing., 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
I was very Dissapointed. I was looking forward to seeing the playing characters. Maybe a darlek or a tardis? No.there are just cheap bits of thin metal that are indistinguishable from each other. According to the instructions, one is a flute, one an umbrella, and another piece that looks the same as those is the sonic screwdriver. You will need a lot of imagination to link this game with Dr Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Exteremely poor - DO NOT BUY, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. P. Giffney "Crescent" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
For anyone who likes Dr Who - do not buy.
That simple - this was a huge opportunity wasted - and as others have stated, its been cobbled together to make money, not honour the great series with anything of remotely linked aspects apart from some simple episodic references. Playing pieces were naff, money standard monopoly - make your own - or even just don't bother...
A pity - a HUGE opportunity wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Casual watchers may love it - i however, do not., 23 Oct 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
Monopoly + classic Doctor Who is a match made in heaven, right?
not really.

i don't like how they used names of episodes instead of places to buy; it could have been a lot better had it been made like the Star Wars Attack of the Clones set where the places to buy are actually locations within the story. to me it just looks like they're trying to get people into the classic DVD range by making them remember the names of old episodes.

also, CAN'T THESE PEOPLE DO THEIR RESEARCH??? one of the tiles near the end is labelled with the episode 'Arc of Infinity', yet the picture is quite clearly from the episode 'The Three Doctors'. it seems to me they just Googled 'Omega' and picked the best looking picture, regardless of which episode it actually came from.

i think they should have themed the houses and hotels (which they have done in previous sets) and i think the playing pieces are a bit unsatisfactory as well. i'd much rather play as a Dalek or an Ice Warrior than a stick of celery, even if it is from The Doctor's lapel.

despite this, it is still Monopoly and is very fun to actually play.

each colour is dedicated to a certain enemy as detailed below:
brown - Ice Warriors
light blue - Autons
Pink - Sontarans
orange - Silurians
red - The Master
yellow - Cybermen
green - Daleks
dark blue - Omega and Borusa

each tile in the colour is then dedicated to its own episode, with a picture of it underneath.

conclusion - if you're a die-hard fan then you may be disappointed with this. however, it is still a fun set and would keep you playing for hours, just like any Monopoly game would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
Liked by my grandson age 7 but I felt expensive and insufficiently 'Dr Who', very similar to the original game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It okay, could be better, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
My son loves it, my opinion is that they have made half an effort. The playing pieces are tiny, the houses could have been tardis instead. For what it cost they called have made it a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
Game arrived on time and in excellent condition the only thing to dissapoint was the game pieces ... would have been nice to have a dalek or k9 as a game piece ... other than that was very pleased :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dr who 50th anniversary monopoly game, 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition (Toy)
This is not the best monopoly game I have ever seen, more effort could have been given to the parts for the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Monopoly 50th Anniversary edition
£47.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews