Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice product
Looks unobtrusive, performs very well, and is wonderfully easy to setup and manage if you have more than one - especially so if you need to create a wifi network with a significant number of nodes as you can install and manage from any one of them. Well designed, well executed and reasonably priced. Excellent.
Published 21 months ago by Cactus

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For me, it beats the Unifi hands down
Bought this after trying the Ubiquiti Unifi AP at a similar price point. They both have "OK" wireless performance. This though is a major problem as I live amongst large blocks of flats, where I can see at least 30 something WiFi points around me at any one time. I suspect someone living on a street of houses wont suffer this.

The selling point for the Cisco...
Published 8 months ago by Transmitlikeadataman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For me, it beats the Unifi hands down, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
Bought this after trying the Ubiquiti Unifi AP at a similar price point. They both have "OK" wireless performance. This though is a major problem as I live amongst large blocks of flats, where I can see at least 30 something WiFi points around me at any one time. I suspect someone living on a street of houses wont suffer this.

The selling point for the Cisco for me over the Unifi are that:
- The Cisco allows you to control the unit via a webpage (as you would hope) while the unifi needs software on your local PC to start up the management interface.
The Guest Network feature in the Unifi is rubbish as you cant change any of its settings, (eg name, vlan etc). At least with the Cisco you can do all that and have the firewall or a captive portal do the rest.
- The PoE on this operates at standard 48v meaning it can go into your PoE switch as you expect. The Unifi actually operates at 24v PoE so if you plug it into a PoE switch you can probably kiss it goodbye.

Plus points to the Unifi it probably looks nicer if on show on the ceiling. This Cisco one though is no larger than a DVD and so far as robust as the Unifi in terms of realiability - no need to reboot it a million times other than some other brands.

Edit October 2014
Two weeks later I decided to purchase another one of these Cisco units. The cluster function works amazingly. Simply define a cluster name on your original AP. Then fire up the new AP and join the cluster. All the settings get synced over easy! The only items that dont change are hostname, IP address and location (though you wouldnt want them to). The 2nd AP automatically gets another channel not the same as the previous AP. If you are using a managed switch remember to tag VLANs on the new ports you are using for the new APs. (If you're a home user plugging into your router this probably wont be relevant to you).

Speed and coverage is now 100% all over. But the coverage issue as mentioned above is due to my location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice product, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
Looks unobtrusive, performs very well, and is wonderfully easy to setup and manage if you have more than one - especially so if you need to create a wifi network with a significant number of nodes as you can install and manage from any one of them. Well designed, well executed and reasonably priced. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nine access point but the user interface could be improved., 21 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
I bought these to help me setup a small wireless network around my home. Cisco isn't renowned for it's usability but these routers aren't too bad to setup. One nice feature is that you can give a group name to the first access point that you setup and when you put another one onto the network, you tell it the same group name and it will automatically get all of the settings from the first router. From that point on they are managed as a single entity.

I did have a few niggles configuring them but they weren't horrible to sort. It's worth remembering that this is an access point only - not a router so it can't connect to your ADSL or Cable modem directly - you will need a router for that.

I was also a little surprised that they don't seem to support 5Ghz but I needed range rather than speed so that doesn't matter overly to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good product that does the job well., 17 July 2014
By 
James Worley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
I bought this unit to install at a client - it was a cinch to set up, worked first time and has provided my client with a reliable hot spot for their customers when they are in their offices. Exactly what you would expect from a well known and dependable brand like Cisco. I should also add that the range is good too. Setup could easily be done by a non-IT person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the extra money, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
I installed this to replace a couple of other units. This proved very easy to set up and I bought a second one. They are both wired into the network and together work brilliantly, producing an integrated wifi system. This did everything I expected and very easily. This was more expensive, but definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent access point, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
Instantly solved a problem I had with another brand beginning with T. Excellent access point. No conflict problems of any type. Better than my old Belkin Pre-N which was so far ahead of the curve when I bought it 5 years ago. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
Excellent access point and a dream to setup, particularly when using multiple devices under a single SSID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
Easy to set up, rock solid, no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
simply great AP from Cisco as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 April 2015
By 
P. Melinn "Mellinio" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cisco WAP121-E-K9-G5 Small Business Wireless-N Access Point with Power over Ethernet (Personal Computers)
Superb reach and very relaible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews