Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this
I really enjoyed this book especially the earlier chapters about Cricklewood and West Hampstead. I Started my footplate carreer at Cricklewood in 1975 although i had spent a couple of years on the pway prior to that. The names that were mentioned brought back so many memories especially just the mention of Paul Hudson who is a great friend of mine. Other names that...
Published on 13 Jun 2012 by phil cherry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an exciting read
Presumes a fairly good knowledge of railway operation and terminology, very mundane but a realistic description of BR operations prior to privatisation. Interesting if you know any of the characters mentioned. Very little human interest away from the work-place. I found it a bit of a chore to wade through until it's conclusion.
Published 18 months ago by CavanM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Control freak., 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
Good book on the life and times of a railway employee. RThe only down part is when he was made redundnat, what happenned next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and would dearly love to catch up with him, 28 Nov 2014
By 
D. G. Skingle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
I read this book and it reminded of so many railway terms and people I have known over the years. I know Dave from our days when he worked at Northampton and also Crewe control, and would dearly love to catch up with him. Great book that is well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, as an ex railwayman 1979 - 1997 and working in the Northampton area from 1992 - 1996 I new many of the people in this book.
I also share some of the sentiments and dissolutions with the Decision to priviatise BR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great life., 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting read for any retired person, especially a railwayman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why our railway is through the floor...., 31 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Newcastle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
If you want to read the musings of an embittered trade-union type who, for some unknown reason, seems to despise education, then this is certainly the book for you!

I can only assume that it is pure irony that the author's surname rhymes with a more adequate description of his work....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Title, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
I've never met the chap but would just hated working with him and certainly wouldn't have wanted to manage him; all strike me as being exceptionall difficult tasks.

Its a very good reminder of just why the railway had to change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems like a lifetime on the fiddle, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
From getting wages for work not done to admitted theft its more like a confession than a book. No wonder they had to change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He Should Have Been Prosecuted and Jailed!, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
This guy paints a picture of all that was bad practice on british Railways - and admits to his part in the wrongdoing! Drinking on duty - illegally driving engines - the drivers who allowed an unqualified man on the footplate or in the cab, should also be hunted down and prosecuted!! Disgusting behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of Control
Out of Control by Dave Borshik
£1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews