Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this
I really enjoyed this book especially the earlier chapters about Cricklewood and West Hampstead. I Started my footplate carreer at Cricklewood in 1975 although i had spent a couple of years on the pway prior to that. The names that were mentioned brought back so many memories especially just the mention of Paul Hudson who is a great friend of mine. Other names that...
Published on 13 Jun 2012 by phil cherry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an exciting read
Presumes a fairly good knowledge of railway operation and terminology, very mundane but a realistic description of BR operations prior to privatisation. Interesting if you know any of the characters mentioned. Very little human interest away from the work-place. I found it a bit of a chore to wade through until it's conclusion.
Published 13 months ago by CavanM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
A good read if you can cope with an author who has strong opinions, put bluntly, and criticises others frequently. He gives names freely and I can't help wondering how many enemies he has made along the way. It would be nice to think the appalling state of affairs that existed in the latter days of British Railways with weak management, poor labour relations, alcohol abuse, theft and fiddles had been swept away with privatisation, but some how I doubt if all is now transformed.
Although he appears to be honest about his own misdemeanors, low self esteem was never Mr Borshik's problem, and he doesn't lack for ambition either.
Entertaining and sometimes shocking, but rarely dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the "real" railway, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
Dave tells the tale of the railway in Britain as it is, warts and all. It is little wonder that too often the running of the railways in this country has been seen as nothing short of shambolic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
Great book outlining some of the stories of working life for British Railways , we'll worth reading if you like railways
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of Control by Dave Borshik, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting book for the enthusiast, about a subject that is not normally covered and a good insight to the workings of the railway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A railwaymans memories., 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
This is a good read because he says it as it was when I joined the railway, I also know this has ruffled a few feathers of the "goody two shoes" who obviously did not know the railways in the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BR to Privatisation, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much. A journey from the good old days of BR when we all worked together to get the job done to Privatisation when it was all against all and shareholders making as much money as possible.

Its a great story of life on the railways from someone in the front line. If you enjoy railways especially the real behind the scenes railways then this is a great book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wry interesting book, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
It is a chatty and informative offing showing everything that went on in the background. An unusual view on the daily life of the railway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One on, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read would fully recommend to anyone who worked onto the railway prior to privatisation .when is the next volume out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars out of control, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
A book based on the career under British Railways starting as a relief signaller expanding across other grades .Telling the reader how it was on the "Shop Floor" with many anecdotes .A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kindle download, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. E. Bray (North-west United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Kindle Edition)
This is the diary of a signalman, from his first post, to the end of an era. It is interesting reading, well written, and has it's moments of amusement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of Control
Out of Control by Dave Borshik
1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews