Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent investigation and summary of the facts.
Having been written some 20 years after the events surrounding the most infamous and outrageous strike against the Italian state by the Sicilian mafia, Mr Follain has been able to use the opportunity to clear the speculation and replace it with what are now known to be facts.
An excellently researched piece, probably the definitive account.
Would certainly...
Published 20 months ago by MR Michael Knowles

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight into the Mafia and the state's response to it
Provides an interesting insight with a gripping first third outlining the work of Jud Falcone and his assassination. The book loses pace after this but it maintains an interesting narrative about this covert world.
Published on 6 Jan. 2013 by M. Roe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent investigation and summary of the facts., 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been written some 20 years after the events surrounding the most infamous and outrageous strike against the Italian state by the Sicilian mafia, Mr Follain has been able to use the opportunity to clear the speculation and replace it with what are now known to be facts.
An excellently researched piece, probably the definitive account.
Would certainly reccommend it to students of the genre; not so sure that it would make a thrilling read to others that may not have a prior knowledge of the basic background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vendetta: The Mafia, Judge Falcone and the Quest for Justice (Kindle Edition)
This book gives not only the dark side of Sicily that is well known even if not the historic truth is not, it gives another side the bravery of Sicilians who fought the mafia while facing immense danger.
Read this book and if you don't feel for the people whose Government seems to have ignored them, leaving a few brave men to fight on facing almost certain death.
Cannot recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 3 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Vendetta: The Mafia, Judge Falcone and the Quest for Justice (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written book with the narrative delivery like a fictional story. It is exciting and gives a great insight into the events. It deals with the violence of the Mafia but without making it graphic an unnecessary. I would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-fiction reading like a thriller., 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vendetta: The Mafia, Judge Falcone and the Quest for Justice (Kindle Edition)
This brilliantly researched account of the fight against the Mafia which cost the two main prosevutors their lives is written with pace and style. It takes you into the murky world of the Sicilan Mafia and how it was interwoven with Italian politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well received present, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my Dad as a christmas present. He read it straight away and said it was brilliant. If this subject interests you I understand it is a great book...may now need to borrow it back to read for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
T. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can not fully describe quite how brilliant this book is. I am a massive fan of non-fiction and this is by far one of the best I have ever read. I do not normally read many books on crime but this just stood out to me whilst at a service station. The manner in which it is written is spellbinding even though you know what is going to happen you are on the edge of your seat for the whole journey. The actual subject matter is also fascinating as I had no idea as to the power of the mafia families in Italy. This book is a worthy tale of the amazing courage and bravery of the men and women who fought against monsters when few others were brave or willing enough too! An essential read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
D. Katsirea (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vendetta: The Mafia, Judge Falcone and the Quest for Justice (Kindle Edition)
This is a quiet good book with excellent research on the subject, for those that would be interested to read how a judge fought his way trough in delivering justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Wadge of Bristol, 6 Aug. 2012
By 
Michael Wadge (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vendetta: The Mafia, Judge Falcone and the Quest for Justice (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading most of this book and especially the detailed account of Judge Falcone's incredibly brave efforts to clamp down on the Cosa Nostra in Sicily. The steps taken to try to eliminate him were also vividly described and especially the plot which resulted in the tragic early deaths of himself and his Wife. The twisted values of the Organisation and its malign impact on Sicilian Society in general were well illustrated. However, I felt that the book lost some of its momentum after the death of Falcone, which prevented me from awarding it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This excellent book - an account of the courage and tenacity of a lawyer's determination to bring an end to Mafia activity in Sicily - is one of scholarly research while reading like a fast moving thriller. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must-have!, 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is about one of the most important events ever in the fight against cosa nostra in Sicily. This is a must- have for anyone studying the mafia or building a library on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews