Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value read
A great, light-hearted, fun read. If you enjoy Agatha Christie, Midsommer Murders and others of that ilk, then these could well be for you.
Not the most demanding of literature, but good characters, evocative descriptions and well-crafted whodunnit plots.
I can't really afford to buy them individually, as I read them too fast, but this set is great value and I...
Published 22 months ago by Jean Mac

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Hamish
I have to say that the very first book of the series - Death of a Gossip - is pretty bad. It is set in the 1980's and every character is a cringeworthy stereotype of the time. Things do improve as the series continues although all the books follow much the same format: someone unpleasant is murdered, the crack team of inspectors are called in but fail to solve the crime,...
Published 12 months ago by Mrs CFC


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good, lighthearted read, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable read. Hamish is a well drawn and highly likeable character. Village life seems full of gossip. Highly recommend this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hamish Macbeth, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
A good read to the usual M.C. Beaton Formula. Well written, easily read stories with good satisfying endings. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab quick read, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed every minute. begin to understand the world according to Hamish Macbeth and how really stupid some people in Authority can be, when they can not see the grey shadows!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like Hamish MacBeth even more than Agatha Raisin, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
Great stories if you like Poirot and Miss Marple type cosy crime. Read them in order as there is an underlying story as well as the crime. Hamish is funny, laid back but sharp witted. Also try the Agatha Raisin stories by the same author. My favourite author by far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
Good short dective stories when you want a bit of mystery in your life. Would highly recommend this series of books will be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like Hamish, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
I discovered this character at a bargain price. The book is good as a thriller with a very good dose of humour. Hamish books remember me of Exbrayat's series Imogene for the humoristic style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Somehow compelling, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
An easy and relaxing read but somehow I found myself strangely drawn to these books and the quirky world they are set in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
M C Beaton is a great writer of cosy murder mysteries -the four books included were easy reading and good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hamish Land, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
The adventures of Hamish -
are the very best bed time reading

A fine cast of village caracters that trasport you to a mythical landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great books, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish Macbeth Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
I used to watch the TV show, and wish they would repeat it. The books are a nice enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80b2fb4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews