Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest show in years! "Classic!"
Before I begin, I should point out that I do not buy DVDs for repeat viewing hence the very fact that I am reviewing this brilliantly funny series after buying the boxset is exceptional in itself. I stumbled on one episode of "Twenty Twelve" during a very long transatlantic flight and what a find! How has it flown so far under the radar?!!

I...
Published on 22 Mar. 2013 by Mrs. A. Mellor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good acting, some good lines, fair plot
Good, and one believes rather helplessly that this maybe how "vacant" and Facebook oriented generations in corporate Britain function....even though Hugh Bonneville acts very well as someone battling the system with honest intentions and real problems (and Jessica Haynes too as 'like' a fluffy PR executive [no disrespect intended to PR execs]...). The acting is...
Published 7 months ago by D.N.Wijewardane


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty twelve, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant series the humour is underrated and very topical. I had enjoyed the TV series but had missed a few so was really pleased to see this double DVD at such a reasonable price. Worth every penny in entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bungle meets Cringe :-), 27 Mar. 2014
By 
W. I. Taylor "quality humorist" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Goods arrived within the delivery parameters. Like some other viewers, I had only previously seen a couple of episodes. I bought this to catch up with the whole story. Having now watched a few more episodes, I am very pleased so far. One thought that occurred; wasn't it fortuitous that the staged committee was not the same for the real games. Cringing in (many) places and while I don't suffer idiots gladly and based on my experiences of gross incompetence and total bull' , I found it very hard to stifle my own guffaws of laughter. Do I recommend it? Yes of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Acting Masterclass, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
This two-series (13-episode) spoof (or mockumentary) on the preparations for the London 2012 Olympics is, for me, the funniest comedy series since The Thick Of It. Written and directed by John Morton (the creator of the similarly hilarious People Like Us), Twenty Twelve does not quite match the quality of the caustic satire of Armando Iannucci's creation, nor the vast array of comic actors that The Thick Of It was able to marshal over its 24 episodes, however, with its take on organisational incompetence, unlikely coincidence and 'office-speak', it is not far short.

Certainly, its core cast of six characters is (for me) right up there with the lead players in series such as The Thick Of It and The office. Hugh Bonneville's is probably the pivotal (and funniest) performance here as Head of Delivery, Ian ('It's all good') Fletcher - his dead-pan delivery and reluctance to be flustered no matter whether he has Seb Coe or Boris Johnson shouting down the mobile at him is a joy to behold. Not far behind Bonneville is Jessica Hynes' 'PR disaster' Siobhan Sharpe ('from PR firm Perfect Curve', the dulcet voice of narrator David Tennant repeatedly reminds us) - Sharpe's dumb, rambling incoherence and unwillingness to make any positive contribution must have been a living nightmare for all watching fellow PR consultants. Thereafter, each of Vincent Franklin's dour Yorkshireman (is there any other type, I hear you ask?) and Head of Contracts, Nick Jowett, Amelia Bullmore's nervy Head of Sustainability, Kay Hope, and Karl Theobald's incompetent geek and Head of Infrastructure, Graham('What? This Friday?') Hitchins, are all excellent. And then to round off this sterling assemblage we have one of the UK's great acting talents, Olivia Coleman, as Ian's (very) personal assistant, Sally Owen, whose 'serious' turn here hints at undercurrents of real romantic tragedy.

In addition, the series also featured 'guest appearances' (some more successful than others, admittedly) by Tim McInnerny as a 'manic eco-warrier', Tony Ward, plus the likes of Darren Boyd, Nitin Ganatra, Vicki Pepperdine and Ingrid Oliver. In addition, Seb Coe also appears as himself - for which I think the man should be congratulated on being a 'good sport'.

I was quite surprised to learn just how many people managed not to catch Twenty Twelve on its original BBC2 transmission - but certainly, if you are a fan of The Thick Of It or just cutting-edge comedy, it is essential viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't watch TV but I'd heard great things about this series. It took me a couple of episodes to get into it, but after that I was hooked. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maple syrup on your waffles from the get go!, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Simply brilliant. Fantastic acting from a cast that complement each other so well and crazy enough to be believable but not crazy enough to be nonsensical. IMHO the best sitcom since Yes Minister as both have their feet based firmly in reality. Can't wait for W1A to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olympic fun, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the Team at the Top, the 2012 Olympics were a big success! Hugh Bonneville and a first rate team of actors give delightful performances as everything that might go wrong DOES go wrong at the planning stages. A laugh out loud mood enhancing comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
David Butler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
We watched both series when they were broadcast and found them hilarious. I could identify some of the characters - talking rubbish and doing nothing - from the many meetings I attended during my professional career. Got the box-set for repeat viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good acting, some good lines, fair plot, 19 Sept. 2014
By 
D.N.Wijewardane (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good, and one believes rather helplessly that this maybe how "vacant" and Facebook oriented generations in corporate Britain function....even though Hugh Bonneville acts very well as someone battling the system with honest intentions and real problems (and Jessica Haynes too as 'like' a fluffy PR executive [no disrespect intended to PR execs]...). The acting is good; the script is quite good...in places quite predictable, but alas in no way as sharp as the old classic English comedies like Yes PM or the new Ambassadors. Still better than alot of aimless, unfunny, rather dumb "escapist" comedies that are forever floating around [sigh]... 3.5 star or maybe just a 4 at best IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny - there were times when I laughed out loud, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
very funny - there were times when I laughed out loud. It came across as probably very near the mark, incompetent bureaucrats in charge of the preparation of an extravagant event,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous mockumentary as described elsewhere, 22 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful satire which has proved itself way beyond prescience; think I'll buy series 1 & 2 together though and spend the saving on some Brazillos, LoL! Love the fact that Seb took part as well; great sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD]
Twenty Twelve - Series 1-2 [DVD] by Hugh Bonneville (DVD - 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews