Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest show in years! "Classic!"
Before I begin, I should point out that I do not buy DVDs for repeat viewing hence the very fact that I am reviewing this brilliantly funny series after buying the boxset is exceptional in itself. I stumbled on one episode of "Twenty Twelve" during a very long transatlantic flight and what a find! How has it flown so far under the radar?!!

I...
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. A. Mellor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once is enough
Having heard rave reviews, I'm glad I've seen it, but once is enough. Perhaps it was funnier when it was actually on TV.
Published 4 months ago by Jay


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very believable and extremely cynical. One can believe that a committee would have all these problems. Totally enjoyed it. Good casting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment., 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this series was very clever & witty when I saw it on TV. Now I have had a chance to view it again on the DVD set post Olympics, it seems even more entertaining and relevant to the real events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO FUNNY!, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Me and my mum are addicted to this program! we've lent it to Granddad and now he loves it too! All the characters have their own little catch phrases and it's so funny as its made like a documentary with the serious voiceover (david tennant) and documentaries are normally serious and informative but this is just silly and relatable. Theres lots of silly business speak in it noone actually understands and they're constantly going on about legacy and sustainability and they don't really know what the difference is! The actors are really funny and convincing and all the characters are unique and you get to know their personalities quickly. Its all about organising the olympics and the stories are based on real events and issues around the olympics in real life which everyone had heard about on the news but they put a funny spin on all the situations. This is the kind of program pretty much everyone could enjoy and if you haven't seen it or haven't seen them all get the box set! and lend it out to everyone like we did! You can talk about it for ages with people who've seen it! Some series' start to get worse as the makers run out of ideas but this just gets better and better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy as good as it gets, 19 Sep 2012
By 
T. D. Lenton (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This brilliant BBC2 joke-documentary series about a well-meaning but bungling organisation preparing for the Olympics loses nothing in the discovery that in fact the Olympics turned out really rather well. Hugh Bonneville is outstanding as Head of Deliverance, but he is backed up by superb performances all-round, and a witty and intelligent script. The narration by David Tennant is particularly effective and there are many understated visual strokes of comic genius. We must have watched every episode at least three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a new classic, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A series that someone knew when to stop making while it was still good. Like the Office and Fawlty Towers, the writers knew that 2 series would be enough (maybe stopped by the fact it wouldn't work after the olympics had finished). Fly on the wall style shows off some incidents that could (and in some cases did) happen during the prep for the olympics in an amusing way. Likeable characters and a good voice over by David Tennent, make this a future classic to contine the Legacy of the Olympics even if you hated every moment of the games themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excruciatingly funny!, 19 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The lampooning of PC-speak, management-speak and vacuous PR/media-speak is spot on. This is one of the funniest comedy series I've seen in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse and sustainable, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Stamp "Granma" (Bury St Edmunds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have the nous to laugh at everything unnecessarily verbose and politically correct and the way that life is complicated by non-productive jobsworthys using the latest "in" words, you will love this. It was even funnier, when watching the original TV series to see the muddles and mistakes made by a team who couldn't organise a booze-up in a brewery and then, a few days later, learn through the media that the actual organisers of the Olympics were in an identical mess of their own making. I did wonder if Lord Seb Coe ever regretted taking part in this--but he was exonerated when the Olympics turned out to be such a triumph! The cast were a great choice of some of our best actors and the characters represented a mix of personalities and (few) talents.
Such a shame that further series are unlikely due to the subject as this was one of the funniest things ever screened!
Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 18 July 2014
By 
J. Hallam "jhallam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was bored by this attempt at formula humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best BBC Comedy for Years, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved TwentyTwelve. Unlike most BBC comedies it was actually funny - hilarious in fact - with spot-on jargonese dialogue: 'all good' 'going forward' 'here's the thing' 'totally' 'Not a problem' 'enjoy' 'sustainability/legacy' 'celebrate the diversity of legacy in the lower Lea valley...' etc etc etc. Really well-defined characters with believable set-ups.

I particularly enjoyed episode 5 of series 1, which involved the 'positive action' job interviews - which reminded me so much of other piss-takes of political correctness, like the novel Crump.

All in all, an excellent 2 series of pure joy that I could rewatch endlessly.

I only wonder just how much the BBC are aware that this series massively takes the mickey out of their insane managerialism, diversity obsession and political correctness.

Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
By 
L. Sims Robinson (North of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant and very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD]
Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] by Hugh Bonneville (DVD - 2012)
7.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews