Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest show in years! "Classic!"
Before I begin, I should point out that I do not buy DVDs for repeat viewing hence the very fact that I am reviewing this brilliantly funny series after buying the boxset is exceptional in itself. I stumbled on one episode of "Twenty Twelve" during a very long transatlantic flight and what a find! How has it flown so far under the radar?!!

I...
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. A. Mellor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once is enough
Having heard rave reviews, I'm glad I've seen it, but once is enough. Perhaps it was funnier when it was actually on TV.
Published 8 months ago by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest show in years! "Classic!", 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Before I begin, I should point out that I do not buy DVDs for repeat viewing hence the very fact that I am reviewing this brilliantly funny series after buying the boxset is exceptional in itself. I stumbled on one episode of "Twenty Twelve" during a very long transatlantic flight and what a find! How has it flown so far under the radar?!!

I desperately searched online and read the reviews which tended to be mainly in the broadsheets and on the strength of just one episode I did the unthinkable and bought the boxset!

I could write all day about the characters, the quality of the acting on show here, etc, etc, etc but it is the writing which is just sheer satirical genius. I really cannot single any one actor out as the whole ensemble is just fantastic, each with their own catchphrases which never seem corny or forced.

Jessica "totally" Hynes, Olivia "not a problem" Coleman & the wonderful, wonderful Karl "Classic!" Theobold are just three of the superb actors who deserve a special mention. If you are looking for a witty, hilariously brilliant, laugh out loud, clever comedy, then PLEASE watch this!

Beware of the ending though as you will be left begging for more which although frustrating for the viewer is exactly how a comedy series like this should end. Many comedy series have troughs and peaks but one of the main things I love so much about Twenty twelve is that every episode is as good if not better than the last.

In my top 3 of all time now and as Graham Hitchens would say a "Classic!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on TV and thought it was very funny. It seemed underrated by audience and critics at the time. It surprised me that more people weren't watching it. I wonder how many other countries would produce something like this which appears to make fun of something which so much national prestige is attached to! And good for Seb Coe that he agreed to take part. Another triumph for the Olympic spirit in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely pre-Games bonus in Olympic year, 25 Aug 2012
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw - and enjoyed - a couple of episodes of 'Twenty Twelve' on TV, then read several very enthusiastic reviews, so I bought this set. It absolutely lives up to expectations. The idea of a reality TV documentary following the fortunes of a well-meaning but incompetent (and frequently unlucky) Olympic organising committee was a clever one, and the sharp script, excellent acting and production generally do it proud. Ian Fletcher, Head of the Committee, played by Hugh Bonneville, is a man constantly on the verge of panic and constantly having to hide the fact, and his team do almost nothing to reduce his blood pressure and a lot to increase it - that is with the exception of Sally, his P.A., who is his unassuming saving grace on many occasions. The growing chemistry between Fletcher and Sally adds a welcome connecting strand throughout the series. All the players are excellent, but in addition to Bonneville, whose every facial expression tells us almost as much as the script he delivers, there has to be a special word for Jessica Hynes as Siobhan, Head of Brand, whose stream of management-marketing-babble is a tour de force from both the writers and the actress. The whole thing is bound together by a pitch-perfect voice-over from David Tennant. There are so many funny situations - I'll mention only the planting of the tree beside the Thames, bedevilled by planning restrictions and finally the realisation that no-one has brought the seed, so a chocolate has to be used instead. handed solemnly as the media watch and record from a puzzled Tanni Grey-Thompson to a female footballer, Corrie Taylor, who duly plants it, equally bewildered. It's bizarre, surreal and very, very amusing. I enjoyed the real Games thoroughly and am very glad that they were the success that this unfortunate group could never have brought about, but this affectionate parody has its small place as one of the highlights of Olympic year - cleverly conceived, beautifully executed and very, very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant characterisation and hilarious situations., 17 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Gillian Fisher (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Had seen most of the second series and some of the first when first shown on T.V., both of which I loved. The characters and situations were often uncomfortably near the truth in the pre-Olympics days, and at the time a lot of people were pretty cynical about what the Games would turn out like and the potential for disaster. So it is good to have fun and look back nostalgically to what might have happened, safe in the knowledge that the the 2012 Olympics were such a great success.

It's also nice to have something to fill a half hour slot if the T.V. programmes are uninteresting at times during the evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally OK, Sure., 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Cleverly concieved plot (Whoever came up with it!) and brilliantly performed by all involved. There's so much going on and so much fast talking (including the occasional jibberish) that I had to get my own set to get the details right. One could describe the whole package as 'a highly entertaining load of old bollocks' to quote Nick Jowett. And that's meant as a compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious mockumentary, 29 July 2012
By 
C. Nielsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Organising the Olympics is not an easy job and Ian Fletcher has his hands full trying to solve one hopeless situation after another. Fortunately for him he is an ideal leader in a crisis. Cool headed and cautiously optimistic. The problems usually get solved either by accident, luck or by simply accepting the fact its to late to do anything about it and its best, by unofficial mutual agreement, not to say or do anything more about it. His staff are, with the exception of his assistant, not really helpful though they try to be in their own more or less useless fashion. Graham, head of infrastructure, couldn't run a toy train if his life depended on it, Kay, head of sustainability is well meaning but can't really make herself heard or get respect. Nick, head of contracts, is a down to earth Yorkshire man. He won't have any of it and though he is the common sense man nobody really listens to him. And last but not by any means least : Siobhan, head of brand. She's in charge of all PR work relating to the olympics. Never short of ideas,buzz words, slang or new projects to launch. Unfortunately she can't really finish anything or contribute other than chaos to an often bad situation.
The stories are well written, humerous and typical not just of the Olympics but of any major event anywhere. We have all been in one of these situations or worked with one of the characters at one time or another. The actors are well cast and have their characters down to perfection. Hugh bonneville is perfect as Ian Fletcher and Jessica Hynes is brilliant as Sioban Sharpe. Her performance is outstanding and is equal to that of Nigel Hawthornes portrayal of sir Humphrey Appleby in Yes minister. The only sad thing about this series is that only two series have been made. The BBC should have made a lot more episodes since both the writers and actors do such a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jubilympics - Totally Cool, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best mockumentary comedies I've ever seen.

Well written and whilst a tad cruel to the Olympic Delivery Committee - hilariously funny.

Worth buying as a souvenir of this summer (2012) and all the London fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty twelve, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant series the humour is underrated and very topical. I had enjoyed the TV series but had missed a few so was really pleased to see this double DVD at such a reasonable price. Worth every penny in entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bungle meets Cringe :-), 27 Mar 2014
By 
W. I. Taylor "quality humorist" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Goods arrived within the delivery parameters. Like some other viewers, I had only previously seen a couple of episodes. I bought this to catch up with the whole story. Having now watched a few more episodes, I am very pleased so far. One thought that occurred; wasn't it fortuitous that the staged committee was not the same for the real games. Cringing in (many) places and while I don't suffer idiots gladly and based on my experiences of gross incompetence and total bull' , I found it very hard to stifle my own guffaws of laughter. Do I recommend it? Yes of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once is enough, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having heard rave reviews, I'm glad I've seen it, but once is enough. Perhaps it was funnier when it was actually on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD]
Twenty Twelve - Series 1 and 2 [DVD] by Hugh Bonneville (DVD - 2012)
£8.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews