Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2012
Had the first 3 GUN albums for many years but they hadn't entered my conscience for a very long time. Saw the review in Classic Rock and decided to give this album a try. GUN have really updated their sound to being very contemporary in appeal without losing the anthemic choruses. Despite the original singer no longer being on board, which made me doubt the quality of this album, the vocals are in fact excellent and really suited to the varied collection of songs. On 'Innocent Thieves'' he sounds like Axl Rose! An unexpected delight!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Got this for Christmas and after a few plays whilst cooking the xmas dinner have really gotten into to it. Its very easy to preview an album on your laptop or tablet nowadays and be underwhelmed by a records sound but this is great loud with smart production. If you are expecting something exactly like Gallus or Swagger be warned. Whilst it still has the hooks and melodies that were present in those albums it has a much lighter touch. This doesn't bother me at all having followed Dante and Jules Gizzi since the big split . I saw El Presidente twice live with their glamourous young players and and thought they were destined for great things with some lovely material, but ultimately they never quite found their market and the album was let down by some DIY production.
So now Dante is fronting Gun and whilst he is not your typical rock vocalist this album is brimming with catchy tunes influenced by the best of pop and rock history over the last quarter century. I love the guitar work which is often unfussy but really drives many of the tracks along, reminding me sometimes of Rick Neilson of Cheaptrick.
Gun's records were terrific 20 years ago but it would be wrong to try and recreate that sound now. This is great album and I look forward to seeing the guys kick the arse out of these tracks live sometime soon.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
As with many other old skool Gunners I approached this album with some trepidation, certainly with Mark Rankin gone and Dante on vocals, would it be a pale imitation of past glories, a tired rehash? Neither, it's fresh, contemporary and catchy. A real album to be proud of and a proper grower. Stand out tracks for me are Butcher Man, Break the Silence, No Substitute and Last Train but as a whole the album is a real pleaser. Dante sounds almost Axel like on certain tracks, which for me is no bad thing! Away from the music the videos and artwork are really slick which all adds up to a great comeback, well done guys, looking forward to the follow up already and seeing you guys live again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
I'm a huge fan of the "old" Gun with Mark Rankin on vocals, and yes, I was slightly disappointed not to see him in the current line up. That said - this is "new" Gun! It is not the same as "old" Gun, but it is a fantastic listen. Good solid, melodic rock, sing-a-long choruses...this doesn't half get stuck in your brain.

I struggled to listen through the whole album to start with - I kept wanting to skip back and listen to each song again....I'd advise you to sit back and listen to this all the way through and then go back and listen to it all again

If you love the Gun of the 80s/90s I'd recommend giving this album a listen - Dante Gizzi doesn't have the depth or richness of Mark Rankin's vocals but he has his own style and this album shows his voice off to great effect; the gutsy, bluesy nature of "Money" is not in evidence, but the solid rock and melody of "Vicious Heart" is pulsing along nicely.

Welcome to the Gun of 2012 - here's to many more albums like this!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
I've been a Gun fan for many years and whilst mourning the exit of Mark Rankin as vocalist,I've kept the faith through the Toby Jepsom years. However when Dante stepped up to the Mike,I was sceptical. I should not have worried. He does a fine job with pretty much everything on here. There's plenty of good songs too. Lots of great hooks,and Gizzys guitar still sounds as good as the old days. Admittedly, it's not Swagger but then not much will compare with that. It's a good addition to any Gun fans collection.Why this band never made it big,back in the day,I'll never know.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
Being a dyed-in-the-wool GUN fan of their first incarnation with Mark Rankin on vocals, I put this CD in the player with no little trepidation and anticipation. How would they sound after all this time? I needn't have worried; from the blistering drum intro on 'Butcher Man' the feet were tapping and in no time my head was nodding to the beat. GUN are back and firing on all cylinders!

I was surprised to find Dante on vocals, expecting Toby Jepson, but he does a fine job throughout and has quite a vocal range which he uses well to emote the various tempos on this CD. The band has the characteristic driving rhythm of Jools' guitar (bass is handled by Derek Brown with Paul McManus on drums and Johnny McGlynn on guitar), but on a number of tracks they supplement this with strings and piano to create an even bigger sound. The use of a backing vocalist adds a nice counterpoint to Dante's voice and really contributes to the depth of the sound.

So, what about the music? It's wonderful, it's anthemic and it's 100% GUN. The songs are all in the 3-4 minute range and range from the full-on rock rhythm of the title track, to the slower paced 'Innocent Thieves'. I had a smile on my face all through the first playing; this is the GUN I remember brought through to the 21st Century and what an album - every track a winner. Well done guys; I can't wait to see these songs played live.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
Known Gun since their very first album and always wondered why they weren't so much bigger?

After a long absence, the boys return with an album that is well worth the wait. Just enough in there for fans of old but a great introduction for those newbies!

A few poppy tunes with a hard edge and singalong choruses are what we have come to expect and are fully delivered - from the opening rifs of Butcher Man to the closing tune of Last Train - as Tom Russell would say 'rockin'

Don't levae this out of your collection.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
The first Gun album was full of catchy tunes which needed a much better production.

Gallus with its truly outstanding 'Steal your Fire' and accompanying world class guitar solo should really have set the rock world on fire.

Talented musicians came and went;Alex Dickson played guitar for Bruce Dickinson and Robbie Williams and taught at Brighton Institute of Music while Baby Stafford seems to have largely disappeared.

Don't say it over and Word Up from the next album were also good but the 2nd and 3rd records didn't have the amount of killer songs the debut had.

This new album is chock full of good songs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Largely overlooked, Gun's mix of hard rock blues and pop rock deserves more attention than it gets. These Scottish rockers return after a long abscence from making albums with a very good offering indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
arrived in good time the best gun album ive ever heard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)