Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point
Don't be put off by the lurid cover and dodgy title; this is an enjoyable collection of stories on the Cthulhu mythos theme. Pleasingly, it includes some of the best stories by the masters themselves - Lovecraft and Ashton Smith - to provide a reference point for those unfamiliar with the Cthulhu cult. And the modern stories do not disappoint. In this collection we see...
Published on 22 May 2012 by Mrs. C. A. Mikolj

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promises more than it delivers
There are a few good new stories in this collection, but most are pretty average, and none are up to the standard of the best of HPL himself. There are too many tales by HPL, though - the clue is in the word 'classic' - and any well-read Lovecraftian will have come across them all before. Hence there's a lot of what amounts to mere padding, especially with...
Published 22 months ago by BobM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point, 22 May 2012
By 
Mrs. C. A. Mikolj "Carol M" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
Don't be put off by the lurid cover and dodgy title; this is an enjoyable collection of stories on the Cthulhu mythos theme. Pleasingly, it includes some of the best stories by the masters themselves - Lovecraft and Ashton Smith - to provide a reference point for those unfamiliar with the Cthulhu cult. And the modern stories do not disappoint. In this collection we see modern Innsmouth, its inhabitants struggling to understand and deal with their ghastly genetic legacy; the Dunwich Horror, being visited by his brother in the attic; the archaeologist/grave robber who finds an artefact and is destroyed by it. The one criticism I have of this collection is that there are lots of typos - and I would have expected them to be weeded out, especially in stories which surely must have been in print before. But at this price it's a minor cavil; and at this price, for fans of Lovecraft and the worlds he created, it's an absolute steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of HP Lovecraft then it's money well spent., 6 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
This e-book represents excellent value for money for anyone who enjoys HP Lovecraft or just a good horror yarn.
Weighing in at nearly 1000 pages this book should keep even the most rabid horror fan quiet for sometime at very little cost.
All the heavyweights in the Cthulhu Mythos are represented; Lovecraft, Clark Ashton Smith, Robert E. Howard, Henry Kuttner and many more.
It's the perfect book to download and read around the camp fire as those nights draw in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
Excellent value. Based on the price, I assumed this would all be rehashed public domain material. I was very pleasantly surprised to find plenty of modern Cthulhu Mythos stories interspersed with classic stories by H. P. Lovecraft and his contempories. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When there's just not enough Lovecraft in the world..., 16 Aug 2014
By 
RazorGrrl (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
Excellent collection. Once you've read everything Lovecraft ever wrote, & almost know it by heart, & you still want more !

Using Lovecraft's Cthulhu mythos as a starting point, this compilation does exactly what it promises, & delivers a great page-turning collection of Lovecraftian tales which complement the master without slavishly copying him either stylistically or in subject matter.

There were so many highlights, I couldn't possible list all the standouts here, suffice to say, there is enough variety in the many, many, stories here to keep any fan - of Lovecraft in particular, or just of weird & macabre fiction in general - happy for hours !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Value, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
There are stories in here that are 4.99 elsewhere in the store - get this first. Only a few stories are HP Lovecraft - but the others seem to do his style justice - very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
I had never read any HP Lovecraft before buying this anthology and wasn't really sure what to expect. The first story (by lovecraft) was initially interesting but went on far too long and went into an insane level of detail which I didn't really enjoy. I was left slightly disappointed by the end of this first story. However, this descriptive narrative seems to be a trademark of Lovecraft (a guess from what little I know if his work now) and I would surmise that the other authors' works were chosen because they tend to use the same descriptive style. The detail is what makes these stories for me - I easily visualised the characters, locations and events, and as with all good horror the first person narrative is rarely deviated from. The stories are often clearly inspired, or directly based, on Lovecraft's work and some of them are simply fantastic. It took me a good 60+ hours of reading to get through the whole book, but I would strongly recommend it to any horror fans - virtually every story is really good. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Events at Poroth farm, 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
For 49p this is worth it just for Ted klein's excellent Poroth Farm which doubles as a reading list of weird writers! Am eagerly looking forward to the rest of the collection but the bars been set high with that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent selection of Lovecraftian stories, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
A great range of stories from well-known and not so well known authors, covering all aspects of the mythos and ranging from scifi, fantasy, horror and even comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read if you like scifi or horror or just weird stuff, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
Kicks off with Lovecraft's magnificently atmospheric tale At the Mountains of Madness, and follows up with some of the better stories by the many authors who have played with Lovecraft's vision. Best 49p I'v
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for lovers of classic horror, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack: 40 Modern and Classic Lovecraftian Stories (Kindle Edition)
You can't argue with nearly 1000 pages worth of classic tales from the 1920s to the present for the price of bar of chocolate. Formatting is a bit odd in that the table of contents is at the end, but otherwise fine. Best read one or two stories at a time, when lights are low and all is silent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews