Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting read
Sora's Quest (Cat's Eye #1) by T.L Shreffler.

5*

After being kidnapped by the assassin that killed her father, Sora finds herself dragged into the forgotten world of mage's, wolfies and magic. She yearns for freedom but once the assassin discovers the cat's eye hanging around her neck he can't let her go. The `cat's Eye' is a rare and magical stone...
Published on 4 May 2012 by MJ

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sora's Quest
Sora is not happy that her father is marrying her to a stranger, so she plans to run away. However before she can, her father is murdered and she is kidnaped by the assassin and a thief of a thought long extinct magical race called wolfies. However Sora is wearing a Cat's Eye, a necklace that can protect her, which might help her complete her quest.

This is a...
Published 19 months ago by Amethyst Bookwyrm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sora's Quest, 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Sora is not happy that her father is marrying her to a stranger, so she plans to run away. However before she can, her father is murdered and she is kidnaped by the assassin and a thief of a thought long extinct magical race called wolfies. However Sora is wearing a Cat's Eye, a necklace that can protect her, which might help her complete her quest.

This is a YA fantasy book which is usually my favourite type of book but Sora's Quest was just ok, because of the plot holes you just could not connect to much in this story.

Sora is a very sheltered character who does know much about the outside world, but my main problem with her is that her thoughts make no sense, one second she hates Crash and next she is worrying about his safety. Also after a few days she seems to act like part of the group not a prisoner, which must be one of the quickest cases of Stockholm syndrome, which did not seem realistic.

SPOILER
The main problem with this book is there are no motives for some of their actions. Firstly why does Sora want to go find her mother when she abandoned her, and yet did not care that her father was murdered just because he was distant even though he still looked after her. Secondly she never asks Crash why he killed her father and we never find out, also we don't know why Crash killed Etienne, Volcrian's brother. Also there was no reason why they kidnaped Sora as they did not know she had the Cat's Eye.
SPOILER END

The one positive thing about this book is that it is very vivid and imaginative. Also it was nice to see some different races in fantasy books apart from elves, dwarfs etc. Overall Sora's Quest is an average story that is let down by motives which do not make sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting read, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Sora's Quest (Cat's Eye #1) by T.L Shreffler.

5*

After being kidnapped by the assassin that killed her father, Sora finds herself dragged into the forgotten world of mage's, wolfies and magic. She yearns for freedom but once the assassin discovers the cat's eye hanging around her neck he can't let her go. The `cat's Eye' is a rare and magical stone with ancient powers, but once worn it cannot be removed from the owners throat without dire consequences. Wanting the protection of the stone to help him evade Volcrain, a powerful mage seeking revenge for the death of his brother, Crash needs to keep Sora close and with the help of his wolfie friend Dorian they vow to keep her and the stone safe. The question is, will Sora learn to control the stone before it begins to control her?

This is the first book in a trilogy and is an exciting start to the series. We are introduced to a variety of interesting characters and species. Our MC, Sora has lived a very sheltered life not experiencing anything outside the walls of her fathers estate, but she is curious and eager to see the world. Being held captive by a wolfie and an assassin isn't exactly the way she envisioned her adventures to begin, but as the days and weeks pass she finds herself becoming attached to the pair. Crash is an enigma, he is brooding and dark with a lack of humanity that makes him difficult to like, but when Sora's life is at risk we see a softer side to him that had my heart melting.

I became a fan this author after reading `Mark of the wolf' a few months ago and I have not been disappointed in any of the books I've read by her since. T.L Shreffler has the skill to paint a very visual setting, creating a believable and exhilarating world to escape to. Her characters have depth and feel real with natural flowing dialogue and interesting personalities. Sora's Quest is a steady paced fantasy moving forward with a good dose of action followed by a comfortable amount of down time. The cliff hanger ending was aaarrrgggghhh....(I hate cliff hangers), and has me itching to read the next instalment.

Copy supplied for review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant tale well told., 16 Sep 2013
By 
Rick Trivett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Whilst this is not a work of epic fantasy, it is a very readable story to escape into. The violence is not too graphic but still has realism. The characters do not have lengthy back stories but are accessible. It is well paced and entices you to turn the page. A book to read for the enjoyment of the story not a weighty tomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oo my god, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
by far the best book i have ever read!

the plot is so easy to follow and the characters are just amazing! sora isent like some of the other girl main characters iv read about who cant defend themselves and crash is just the coolest!!!! the amount of twists and turns in the story are just amazing!!! i was just gobsmacked at the ending i mean WHAT THE HELL a cliff hanger!!! haha im re-reading now and so far it seems every time you read it you pick up on something you missed before! she managed to make a mud ball fight into something more i cant really explain it but its my favorite part (mostly because crash loosens up in it haha) anyhoo cant wait till next week when im getting the next 2!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Captivates the imagination and takes you into a magical realm. You will not want it to finishMany More please Shreffler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soars quest, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was fantastic! Would definitely recommend. Great writing style and characters you fall in love with. Can't wait to read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent! Had a few errors where the writer seemed confused but they can be easily ignored
Am looking forward to reading the rest of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sora's Quest, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
O M G what a gripping story I've hardly put it down since I started reading this book I must get the next book in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AH-MAH-ZING!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book starts off a little strange but STICK WITH IT! The story unfolds and becomes an epic adventure with a quite refreshing love story inside. One of my favourites on my kindle at the mo :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adventure, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
a real find - well written, great story and characters - gone straight into my best reads list
and furthermore i intend to buy the rest of the series right away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews