Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars114
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2012
I haven't read this either, but I'm dropping a star because it doesn't have a spider on the cover. Plus, the cover's yellow, which isn't nearly as cool as black.

UPDATE - having now read the book, further comments follow...

David Thorne is probably most famous for his series of real-life letters where he attempted to pay for a utility bill by offering a picture of a spider he drew. Much of his best subsequent material is in a similar vein - based in reality, documenting correspondence between David and some hapless victim.

As pointed out by other reviewers a lot of the book is indeed familiar to people who zealously follow David Thorne's site, but there is still a good proportion of new material that I don't believe has been on the website. There are also some surreal, Monty-Pythonesque jokes... a book-mark on the first page, a table of contents that includes absolute zero (-273) and the Fibonacci sequence, and a centrefold in the middle of the book.

The book is genuinely laugh-out-loud funny in many parts, has some surprising pathos on other parts. It's also an uncomfortable book, as David's humour is mischievous and works best when he has dupes or victims.

If you're a follower of David Thorne, the book, even with the recycled material, is worth getting. If you're not familiar with David's work you may want to search for him on line and check out his website, and I'd guess you would become a convert.
77 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
It's better than the first book. Honestly, it's *that* good. Whatever you thought of the first, this is more of the same. If you hated the first book, you'll hate this more.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
David is a funny guy, but if you follow Davids site 27bslash6 (which is probably why most people have bought this book) its just 90% email content from the site with some added content pieces. Appreciated they are funny BUT and to quote

"It's Warm and Has Chairs is an absolute goldmine of previously unpublished material by author David Thorne" no its not, unless the average expectation of a goldmine is to produce content widely available and no surprise to anyone. For anyone that has no access to Davids site it is indeed a goldmine of humour, for everyone else prepare to feel cheated
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Absolutely hilarious, a complete must read! I literally had tears in my eyes reading this you must check out David Thorne's website to see for yourself.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
David Thorne seems to have a lot of time on his hands. Maybe it's because he's Australian. Who can tell? So, while he appears to be generally gainfully employed for at least several days in the year, he finds plenty of opportunities to amuse himself by engaging unsuspecting people in long or pointless or long AND pointless email exchanges. The general gist of these is that the unsuspecting dupe contacts him on a more or less innocuous subject, at which point he pounces and takes the conversation into some ridiculous, circular and/or deeply surreal universe where only he knows what he's talking about (and even then...). Sometimes this involves drawings of spiders.

It's a bit like laughing at Belgians or gingers. We all do it. It's wrong. It's deeply unfair. You'll surely go to hell for doing it. But it feels so good.

Possibly the best advice I can give you is "don't buy this book". You can look at most of the content by visiting the 27b/6 website, with the added advantage that you will appear to your office mates to be doing something useful (except for frequent guffaws, when you will appear to your office mates to be looking at internet pictures of Belgians. Or gingers. Or ginger Belgians).

Alternatively, buy the book and kill a tree - there are probably too many of them anyway.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I understand most of the negative reviews are not because of quality but because the book is full of material that you can see on his website. Whilst this is true, it doesn't make up the whole book, in fact I'd say about 40-50% is material from the website, which I don't even mind. You get it for free on his website but his stuff is so good I don't mind paying for it plus I'm sure some of the money will go to maintaining his website (or more likely expensive watches ;D)... That said, I think the description should say everything is new...

Despite this, his unpublished stuff is just as funny as the stuff you see on his website. A consistently funny book with nice little bits of humour i.e. the page numbering, contents, random things in the margins. He also has callbacks to his first book and emails within the book and little references that fans will giggle at.

(Side note: ordered this on the 26th and recieved this morning (28th), extremely speedy service so 5/5 stars for the delivery time!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
This is excellence in humor and lyric. I do not care how real the stories and correspondences are, its to funny. My girlfriend has vetoed me the right to read this in bed since I keep her up with the screams of laughter. The ironic tone and the obvious comical talents of Mr. Thorne gives one a feeling that you are reading the words of a genius (even though he does all he can to disprove that he is one).
Many of the emailing battles are already published on his website, but what is not is still worth it times ten. And the little stories (true or false) about him almost killing his girlfriend while purposing, and almost killing himself in more ways than ten drunk teenage boys alone in a armydepot can come up with, are written and illustrated better than than any copywriter I have worked with can (ok copywriters dont illustrate anything, but still)...and he is a designer, the most spoiled and lazy kind of creature on the planet, it makes no sense. I love it, keep it coming Mr. Thorne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
I'll Go Home Then, it's Warm and Has Chairs is the new collection of David Thorne's stories, e-mails and correspondence with unwitting members of the public in which he drives them to the brink of despair. If you've read his previous book or been on his website you'll know what to expect as it is all in the same vein of dark humour.

The entries don't take long to read but the stories are all cringe inducing or laugh out loud funny (or both) and have a real page-turning quality to them as you wan't to see what happens next.

I knocked a star off the score as I'd seen a fair ammount of the content before on his website and I felt it was somewhat padded out.

Overall, a great collection of sardonic humour from David Thorne and a must for fans of his 'work'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Having visited David Thorne's website many times I knew what to expect but this book went beyond my expectations. True, some of the articles are on the website but I could read them time and time again and never get bored. The story about replacing the picture of the dog with a photo of Liam Neeson still makes me chuckle. David Thorne's use of language and analogies in his email exchanges is the true star of the show though. He never resorts to threats or intimidation, just a clever use of words, as he tries to coax his adversaries to see his point of view. By the way the title is explained in the foreword but you will have to buy it to find out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I know this contains stuff already in the blog but this man is so funny I can stand to read it again. I think this may be one of the funniest things I have ever read (and his other book) seriously seriously hysterical. Love the complaints against him and also the near death experiences. If you are a comedy fan you won't care that some of this you can get from the blog. The ones you can't are undiscovered treasure and worth every penny.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)